Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Economy and Finance / Markets: estimates and projections / Articles
The world is experiencing a fuel shock
Material posted: Publication date: 10-04-2020

In March 2020 the price of oil, already has a downward trend, fell by 30% in less than a week, bringing the total decline amounted to almost 50% from highs in early January [1].

Global decline in oil prices may affect not only the global economy but also geopolitics, and the future of transportation and combat the effects of climate change, especially in the case if there is a sustainable long-term cheap oil.

 

Source: https://www.macrotrends.net/2516/wti-crude-oil-prices-10-year-daily-chart

Oil prices were reduced as a result of major changes in supply and demand.

The decline in demand for crude oil and petroleum products as a result of the pandemic coronavirus currently noticeable all over the world, especially in China [2]. Isolation of millions of people have suspended the activity of plants, reduced delivery and transport of goods both within the country and abroad. This is a key opportunity as China is the world's largest oil importer and the main catalyst for global demand. The spread of the epidemic, the tightening of border controls, quarantine, declared in many countries, led to a global decline in demand for transportation, especially for air travel [3] further undermining demand for oil.

In early March, he terminated the partnership between OPEC and Russia. Amid falling demand for oil because of the epidemic of the coronavirus Russia and OPEC failed to agree on reducing oil production and started a price war in the oil market. The consequence was a sharp fall in oil prices and the ruble exchange rate.

OPEC and Russia were United in 2016 year to cut oil production and raise the price level in the market in response to shale drilling in the United States.

At the meeting on 6 March, the Saudis have proposed another reduction to counter the restrained demand resulting from the impact of coronavirus on the economy. Russia has said that instead it will increase production, the Saudis replied that he would go to the same measures. A few days later, the United Arab Emirates has said that they will increase production to record levels and will accelerate plans for capacity building.

Even without these enhancements, the glut of oil already existed. According to a report by the International energy Agency's oil market for March 2020 [4], the demand and growth of production of oil shale would leave the market with oversupply of more than 3 million barrels a day if OPEC did large cuts. This surplus now looks modest compared to what will likely be the year.

A similar situation in the fuel market has already occurred at the junction of XX-XXI centuries. In 1986, the Saudis have increased oil production to competition with increased production in the North sea and, more importantly, in the Soviet Union. The result was the inflow of cheap oil, which lasted until, while, since 2004, China's demand does not set prices much higher [5]. During this era of low oil prices, the United States had a low level of development of alternative energy sources; increases in consumption; the decline in the fuel market; the growth of oil import in the United States. In the same period was the American intervention in the middle East.

Could the same outcome happen again? No. But the era of ultra-low prices, for example, less than $40 a barrel, as they are now, can lead to a number of other consequences.

A number of possible consequences of the current trend in the fuel market:

  • Significant economic damage to oil-producing countries outside OPEC and Russia, such as Argentina, Brazil, côte d'ivoire, Malaysia, Indonesia, Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan
  • Major economic and possibly social upheaval in countries with fragile democracies such as Iraq, Algeria, Nigeria. Separately, the concern is Iraq, residing in a permanent state of conflict.
  • Cheap fuel could undermine consumers ' desire to save and a limited consumption of resources and use of alternative vehicles.
  • Cheaper fuel may become a possible obstacle for the production of electric cars and reduce the demand for them.
  • A significant reduction in recycling plastic as manufacturing new plastic will be cheaper waste treatment costs.
  • Low oil price may be especially attractive to less developed countries (transport, electricity, heating), which is currently undergoing modernization of energy and lack of income.

The current fuel shock, along with the pandemic is not yet over, the world can expect major changes. It can be assumed that the effects from excess excess oil will be varied, but is unlikely to be useful. Yes, there are some benefits for consumers, in that case, if fuel prices remain at the lowest level for longer than a few months. Food and fuel oil for heating, for example, will be much cheaper. However, cheap oil could benefit the world. There are many reasons for serving a sufficient basis to seek to move away from oil dependence.

 

Sources

  1. Brent Crude Oil 1st Front Month (ICE). Mode of access: https://oilprice.com/commodity-price-charts?1&page=chart&sym=CB*1&name=Brent%20Crude
  2. OPEC Tries to Head Off Oil Glut as Demand Saps Coronavirus. Mode of access: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/02/business/oil-price-opec-coronavirus.html
  3. Coronavirus is Spread Becomes a Global Crisis for Airlines. Mode of access: https://www.ainonline.com/aviation-news/air-transport/2020-03-06/coronavirus-spread-becomes-global-crisis-airlines
  4. Oil Market Report - March 2020. Mode of access: https://www.iea.org/reports/oil-market-report-march-2020
  5. Energy in China: Development and Prospects. Mode of access: https://journals.openedition.org/chinaperspectives/2783

RELATED MATERIALS: Economy and Finance
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Экономика и финансы / Рынки: оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Мир переживает топливный шок
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 10-04-2020

В марте 2020 года цены на нефть, уже имеющие тенденцию к снижению, рухнули на 30% менее чем за неделю, в результате чего общий уровень спада составил практически 50% от максимальных отметок в начале января [1].

Глобальное снижение цен на нефть может повлиять не только на мировую экономику, но и геополитику, а также на будущее транспорта и борьбы с последствиями климатических изменений, особенно в том случае, если наступит устойчивый долгосрочный период дешевой нефти.

Источник: https://www.macrotrends.net/2516/wti-crude-oil-prices-10-year-daily-chart

Цены на нефть были снижены в результате колоссальных изменений в спросе и предложении.

Спад спроса на сырую нефть и нефтепродукты как следствие пандемии коронавируса в настоящий момент заметен во всем мире, особенно в Китае [2]. Изоляция миллионов людей приостановила деятельность заводов, сократила поставки и транспортировку товаров как внутри самой страны, так и за её пределы. Это является ключевым моментом, так как Китай - крупнейший мировой импортер нефти и основной катализатор мирового спроса. Распространение эпидемии, ужесточение пограничного контроля, карантин, объявленный во множестве стран, привели к глобальный спаду спроса на перевозки, в особенности на авиаперевозки [3] что еще больше подорвало спрос на нефть.

В начале марта было расторгнуто партнерство между ОПЕК и Россией. На фоне снижения спроса на нефть из-за эпидемии коронавируса Россия и ОПЕК не смогли договориться о сокращении добычи нефти и начали ценовую войну на нефтяном рынке. Последствием этого стал резкий обвал цен на нефть, а также курса рубля.

ОПЕК и Россия впервые объединились в 2016 году, чтобы сократить добычу нефти и поднять уровень цен на рынке в ответ на сланцевое бурение в США.

На встрече 6 марта саудовцы предложили еще одно сокращение, чтобы противостоять сдержанному спросу, явившемуся следствием влияния коронавируса на экономику. Россия заявила , что вместо этого она увеличит производство, и саудовцы ответили, что пойдут на те же меры. Несколько дней спустя Объединенные Арабские Эмираты заявили, что они также увеличат объем производства до рекордных уровней и ускорят планы по наращиванию потенциала.

Даже без этих повышений, избыток нефти уже существовал. Согласно отчету Международного энергетического агентства по рынку нефти за март 2020 года [4], падение спроса и рост добычи сланца оставили бы мировой рынок с избыточным предложением более чем на 3 млн баррелей в день, если бы ОПЕК не сделала больших сокращений. Этот профицит сейчас выглядит скромным по сравнению с тем, что, вероятно, принесет год.

Аналогичная ситуация на топливном рынке уже происходила на стыке XX-XXI веков. В 1986 году саудовцы повысили уровень добычи нефти для конкуренции с усиленной добычей в Северном море и, что еще более важно, в Советском Союзе. Результатом стал приток дешевой нефти, продолжавшийся до тех пор, пока, начиная с 2004 года, спрос Китая не установил цены на порядок выше [5]. В течение этой эпохи низких цен на нефть, США имели низкий уровень развития альтернативных источников энергии; увеличение потребления; спад на топливном рынке; рост импорта нефти в США. В тот же период происходила американская интервенция на Ближнем Востоке.

Может ли подобный исход повториться? Нет. Но эпоха сверхнизких цен, например, менее $40 за баррель, какими они являются сейчас, способна повлечь целый ряд других последствий.

Ряд предполагаемых последствий текущей тенденции на топливном рынке:

  • Значительный экономический ущерб для нефтедобывающих стран помимо ОПЕК и России, таких как Аргентина, Бразилия, Кот-д'Ивуару, Малайзия, Индонезия, Азербайджан и Казахстану
  • Крупные экономические и, возможно, социальные потрясения в странах с хрупкой демократией, таких как Ирак, Алжир, Нигерия. В отдельности тревогу вызывает Ирак, пребывающий в перманентном состоянии конфликта.
  • Дешевое топливо способно подорвать стремление потребителей к экономии и ограниченному потреблению ресурсов, а также к использованию альтернативных транспортных средств.
  • Дешевое топливо может стать возможным препятствием для производства электроавтомобилей и способствовать снижению спроса на них.
  • Значительное снижение переработки пластика по мере того, как производство новых пластмасс станет дешевле затрат на переработку.
  • Низкая цена на нефть может стать особенно привлекательной для менее развитых стран (транспорт, производство электроэнергии, отопление), которые в настоящее время проходят модернизацию энергетики и испытывают нехватку доходов.

Нынешний топливный шок, наравне с пандемией еще не закончился, весь мир могут ожидать крупные изменения. Можно предположить, что последствия от избытка сверхдешевой нефти будут разнообразным, но едва ли окажутся полезными. Да, будут некоторые преимущества для потребителей, в том случае, если цены на топливо будут оставаться на низшем уровне дольше, чем несколько месяцев. Продовольствие и мазут для отопления, например, станут значительно дешевле. Тем не менее, сверхдешевая нефть не может послужить на благо мира. Существует множество причин, служащих достаточным основанием, чтобы стремиться уйти от нефтяной зависимости.

Данила Макаровский

Источники

  1. Crude Oil Brent 1st Front Month (ICE). Режим доступа: https://oilprice.com/commodity-price-charts?1&page=chart&sym=CB*1&name=Brent%20Crude
  2. OPEC Tries to Head Off Oil Glut as Coronavirus Saps Demand. Режим доступа: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/02/business/oil-price-opec-coronavirus.html
  3. Coronavirus Spread Becomes a Global Crisis for Airlines. Режим доступа: https://www.ainonline.com/aviation-news/air-transport/2020-03-06/coronavirus-spread-becomes-global-crisis-airlines
  4. Oil Market Report - March 2020. Режим доступа: https://www.iea.org/reports/oil-market-report-march-2020
  5. Energy in China: Development and Prospects. Режим доступа: https://journals.openedition.org/chinaperspectives/2783

МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Экономика и финансы
Возрастное ограничение