Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Economy and Finance / Markets: estimates and projections / Articles
The hunt for Satoshi Nakamoto: 5 theories about the mysterious Creator of Bitcoin
Material posted: Publication date: 20-12-2013

A talented Japanese mathematician, who dropped out of University a businessman or an Alliance of technology companies. Who is the architect of cryptocurrency?

In mid-2010 appeared out of nowhere, the mysterious Creator of Bitcoin Satoshi Nakamoto has made the latest contribution to the software code of your cryptocurrency. After that his activity in specialized forums began to subside, he became less likely to respond to emails from other developers, and soon completely disappeared. Since bitcoins from passion pile Shirobokov and libertarians turned into a sensation, jumped in price by thousands of percent, and is starting to drive crazy the whole world.

But the secret identity of Satoshi Nakamoto makes the picture incomplete a new reality. We know about him only a few things. First, it or behind it a group of individuals well versed in mathematics and cryptography. Secondly, he is devilishly rich. According to some estimates, the state of Nakamoto may exceed a billion dollars.

Trying to figure out who is hiding behind a Japanese pseudonym, eventually took the shape of a real gold rush. Numerous researchers carried out linguistic analysis of articles and letters Nakamoto, study its code and looking for the minimum hints of a connection with real people. App Heroes selected five most interesting theories that attempt to answer the question: "Who is Satoshi Nakamoto?"

Nick Szabo

Who is it. A former Professor of George Washington University with a very extensive, according to his personal website, interests – from law to Economics. At the end of last century Nick Szabo began to develop a theory of decentralized virtual currency called Bit Gold, which, as is commonly believed, was inspired by Satoshi Nakamoto.

Proof. In early December, an unknown researcher named Skye grey (another alias?) has published in his blog entry, where is explained in detail why clogs lurks the mysterious figure of Nakamoto. The hypothesis is based on linguistic analysis of the original article architect Bitcoin and its comparison with other texts of similar topics. In result, gray found similarities between the language Nakamoto and Szabo language – specific syntax to use rare speed.

In his article, Nakamoto never refers to fundamental research it clogs, although readily cites other scholars involved in the development of the theory of cryptocurrency. "If Nakamoto wrote the article regardless of the clogs, except he referred to it, following the rules of scientific etiquette?" asks grey. There is another suspicious detail: Sabo first mentioned Bitcoin in his regularly updated blog, almost two years after the system started to work and drew the attention of millions of people. It's strange for a man who devoted much of his life thinking about cryptocurrencies.

Probability. Although the arguments of gray at first glance, and sound quite convincing, no direct evidence of a link between Szabo and Nakamoto it does not, and all the circumstantial evidence easily explained or can be random coincidences. While gray suggests that Sabo had to get to work on Bitcoin of other people. In particular, a few months before the "birth" of Bitcoin, Szabo was looking for a programmer for experimental start Bit Gold.

Shinichi Mochizuki

Who is it. A talented Japanese mathematician specializing in number theory. In 2012 Mochizuki silently posted on the Internet a multi-page proof of the celebrated hypothesis of Esterle – Masser, on which his colleagues fought for several decades. However, the mathematical apparatus Mochizuki was so strange and unusual that the scientific community still are unable to understand it: now the work is still checked, and no end to this process have not yet seen.

Proof. The version about participation Shinichi Mochizuki to the creation of a virtual currency is more of a romantic nature. It was put forward by American scientist Ted Nelson is a pioneer of information technology and, among other things, the author of the wonderful words of teledildonics, which means "sex". Except for Japanese name and love of numbers, Mochizuki and associates Nakamoto is that the way to tell the world about their achievements, and then mysteriously disappear. It is known that Mochizuki's refusal to offer any explanations about his scientific breakthrough, than pretty infuriating to his fellow mathematicians. According to Nelson, it shows a deep understanding that his work will be fully appreciated only by future generations.

Probability. Mochizuki is fluent in English, but there is no information about his programming skills or interest in cryptography. According to some reports, Mochizuki himself said that has no relation to Bitcoin.

Jed McCaleb

Who is it. The Creator of iconic file-sharing network eDonkey, which in the beginning of the century you downloaded their first album of pirate music. In the middle of zero jed McCaleb was eliminated as a result of a lawsuit from the American Association of record companies. In 2010 he launched Mt.Gox – the largest bitcoin exchange in the world.

Proof. Actually no, except the obvious. First, McCaleb obviously one of the first to appreciate the potential of Bitcoin. Second, Mt. Gox is registered in Japan. However, a year later, McCaleb sold already profitable by the time Mt. New Gox owners Tibanne Ltd. According to him, the exchange ceased to be interesting for him from "a technological point of view."

Later McCaleb also state that mining new bitcoins requires too much resources, and will create its own cryptocurrency, Ripple. His deliverance from the stake in Mt. Gox coincides with the departure of Satoshi Nakamoto from public space when the last goodbye said that it was time to "move on".

Probability. Demeanor Satoshi Nakamoto hints at academic and not entrepreneurial mindset. Only a scientist before starting the project will publish a detailed scientific article about it. The more that you can write not so simple. McCaleb have dropped out of the University of California, survival rates are not up to the end of the first year.

Gavin Andresen

Who is it. A graduate of Princeton University and head of the Bitcoin Foundation. After the departure of Satoshi Nakamoto in the shadow of one of his first associates Gavin Andresen is actually a main developer and promoter of cryptocurrency. Kind of like Andrisen was the last person whose letter has stopped responding Nakamoto.

Proof. No. Gavin Andresen himself never tires of repeating that he is not the Creator of Bitcoin. To verify this, he said, it is enough to compare his code with code written Nakamoto.

Probability. Actually Satoshi Nakamoto does not exist, and the true Creator of Bitcoin hiding and continues to live a normal life? Can ask this question personally to Gavin Angrisano: Inbox can be viewed here.

The Government X

Who is it. USA, China, Russia, the European Union, the national security Agency, "al-Qaeda" or Yakuza – choose any Challenger to your taste. According to this version, the cryptocurrency has been specially created by the organization for their personal goals: the establishment of a total surveillance of all transactions on the planet or the financing of terrorist organizations. Behind the identity of Satoshi Nakamoto in this coordinate system hides a whole group of people. Or even technological companies such as SAmsung, TOSHIba, NAKAmichi and MOTOrola.

Proof. Confirmation of this hypothesis should be sought in ephemeral matters, where the other conspiracy theories. However, indirect evidence that Satoshi Nakamoto is a few people still exist. Two years ago a journalist of The New Yorker Joshua Davis drew worldwide attention, that if in his first public posts Nakamoto uses American spelling, then suddenly switched to British. In particular, uses the expression "bloody hard".

Probability. Decide for yourself. But it is better – leave Satoshi alone!


 

Source: http://slon.ru/appheroes/okhota-na-satosi-nakamoto-5-teoriy-o-tainstvennom-sozdatele-bitcoin-1031728.xhtml


RELATED MATERIALS: Economy and Finance
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Экономика и финансы / Рынки: оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Охота на Сатоси Накамото: 5 теорий о таинственном создателе Bitcoin
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 20-12-2013

Талантливый японский математик, бросивший университет бизнесмен или альянс технологических компаний. Кто из них является архитектором криптовалюты?

В середине 2010 года появившийся из ниоткуда загадочный создатель Bitcoin Сатоси Накамото сделал последний вклад в программный код своей криптовалюты. После этого его активность на специализированных форумах начала спадать, он стал реже отвечать на письма других разработчиков, а вскоре полностью исчез. С тех пор биткойны из увлечения кучки шифропанков и либертарианцев превратились в сенсацию, подскочили в цене на тысячи процентов и постепенно начинают сводить с ума весь мир.

Но тайна личности Сатоси Накамото делает картину новой реальности неполной. Мы знаем о нем только несколько вещей. Во-первых, он или стоящая за ним группа лиц очень хорошо разбираются в математике и криптографии. Во-вторых, он дьявольски богат. По некоторым подсчетам, состояние Накамото может превышать миллиард долларов.

Попытки выяснить, кто скрывается за японским псевдонимом, со временем обрели форму настоящей золотой лихорадки. Многочисленные исследователи проводят лингвистический анализ статей и писем Накамото, изучают его программный код и ищут минимальные намеки на связь с реальными людьми. App Heroes отобрал пять самых интересных теорий, которые пытаются ответить на вопрос: «Кто такой Сатоси Накамото?»

Ник Сабо

Кто это. Бывший профессор Университета Джорджа Вашингтона с крайне обширными, если верить его персональному сайту, интересами – от права до экономики. Еще в конце прошлого века Ник Сабо начал разрабатывать теорию децентрализованной виртуальной валюты под названием Bit Gold, которая, как принято считать, вдохновила Сатоси Накамото.

Доказательства. В начале декабря неизвестный исследователь по имени Скай Грей (очередной псевдоним?) опубликовал у себя в блоге запись, где подробно объясняется почему именно Сабо скрывается за мистической фигурой Накамото. Гипотеза основывается на лингвистическом анализе оригинальной статьи архитектора Bitcoin и ее сравнении с другими текстами аналогичной тематики. В результате Грей обнаружил сходства между языком Накамото и языком Сабо – от специфического синтаксиса до использования редких оборотов.

В своей статье Накамото ни разу не ссылается на основополагающие для него исследования Сабо, хотя охотно цитирует других ученых, занимавшихся разработкой теории криптовалюты. «Если бы Накамото писал статью независимо от Сабо, разве бы он не сослался на него, следуя правилам научного этикета?» – задается вопросом Грей. Есть и другая подозрительная деталь: сам Сабо впервые упоминает о Bitcoin в своем регулярно обновляемом блоге лишь спустя два года после того, как система начала работать и обратила на себя внимание миллионов человек. Это странно для человека, который посвятил значительную часть своей жизни размышлениям о криптовалютах.

Вероятность. Хотя доводы Грея на первый взгляд и звучат достаточно убедительно, ни одного прямого доказательства связи межу Сабо и Накамото он не приводит, а все косвенные улики легко объясняются или могут быть случайными совпадениями. При этом Грей предполагает, что Сабо должен был привлечь к работе над Bitcoin других людей. В частности, за несколько месяцев до «рождения» Bitcoin Сабо искал программиста для экспериментального запуска Bit Gold.

Синъити Мотидзуки

Кто это. Талантливый японский математик, специализирующийся на теории чисел. В 2012 году Мотидзуки безмолвно выложил в интернет многостраничное доказательство знаменитой гипотезы Эстерле – Массера, над которой его коллеги бились несколько десятилетий. Однако математический аппарат Мотидзуки оказался настолько непонятным и необычным, что научное сообщество до сих пор не смогло в нем разобраться: сейчас работа до сих пор проверяется, и конца этому процессу пока не видно.

Доказательства. Версия о причастности Синъити Мотидзуки к созданию виртуальной валюты носит скорее романтический характер. Ее выдвинул американский ученый Тед Нельсон – пионер информационных технологий и, ко всему прочему, автор замечательного слова теледильдоника, которое означает «секс на расстоянии». Кроме японского имени и любви к числам, Мотидзуки и Накамото связывает разве что манера сообщать миру о своих достижениях, а потом таинственно исчезать. Известно, что Мотидзуки отказывается выступать с какими-либо пояснениями о своем научном прорыве, чем изрядно бесит остальных математиков. По мнению Нельсона, это свидетельствует о глубоком понимании, что его работа будет полностью оценена лишь следующими поколениями.

Вероятность. Мотидзуки свободно говорит по-английски, но не существует никаких сведений о его программистских навыках или интересе к криптографии. По некоторым данным, Мотидзуки лично заявлял, что не имеет никакого отношения к Bitcoin.

Джед МакКалеб

Кто это. Создатель культовой файлообменной сети eDonkey, через которую в начале века вы скачивали свои первые альбомы пиратской музыки. В середине нулевых Джед Маккалеб выбыл из игры в результате иска от Американской ассоциации звукозаписывающих компаний. В 2010 году он запустил Mt.Gox – в данный момент крупнейшую биржу биткойнов в мире.

Доказательства. Фактически никаких, за исключением самых очевидных. Во-первых, Маккалеб явно одним из первых оценил потенциал Bitcoin. Во-вторых, Mt. Gox зарегистрирована в Японии. Однако спустя год Маккалеб продал уже прибыльную к тому моменту Mt. Gox новым владельцам – компании Tibanne Ltd. По его словам, биржа перестала быть интересной для него с «технологической точки зрения». 

Позднее Маккалеб также заявит, что добыча новых биткойнов требует слишком больших ресурсов, и создаст свою собственную криптовалюту – Ripple. Его избавление от доли в Mt. Gox совпадает по времени с уходом Сатоси Накамото из публичного пространства, когда последний на прощание заявил, что настала пора «двигаться дальше».

Вероятность. Манера поведения Сатоси Накамото намекает на научный, а не предпринимательский склад ума. Только ученый перед запуском проекта будет публиковать подробную научную статью с его описанием. Тем более что написать ее не так просто. Маккалеб же бросил Калифорнийский университет, не доучившись до конца первого курса.

Гэвин Андрисен

Кто это. Выпускник Принстонского университета и руководитель Bitcoin Foundation. После ухода Сатоси Накамото в тень один из его первых соратников Гэвин Андрисен фактически является главным разработчиком и одновременно идеологом криптовалюты. Вроде как Андрисен был последним человеком, на чьи письма перестал отвечать Накамото.

Доказательства. Никаких. Сам Гэвин Андрисен не устает повторять, что не является создателем Bitcoin. Чтобы убедиться в этом, по его словам, достаточно сравнить его программный код с кодом, написанным Накамото.

Вероятность. На самом деле Сатоси Накамото не существует, а истинный создатель Bitcoin не прячется и продолжает жить нормальной жизнью? Можете задать этот вопрос лично Гэвину Андрисену: его почтовый ящик можно посмотреть вот здесь.

Правительство X

Кто это. США, Китай, Россия, Евросоюз, Агентство национальной безопасности, «Аль-Каида» или якудза – выбирайте любого претендента на свой вкус. Согласно этой версии, криптовалюта была специально создана некоей организацией для своих личных целей: установление тотальной слежки за всеми транзакциями на планете или финансирования террористических организаций. За личностью Сатоси Накамото в такой системе координат скрывается целая группа людей. Или даже технологических компаний: например – SAmsung, TOSHIba, NAKAmichi и MOTOrola.

Доказательства. Подтверждение этой гипотезы следует искать в эфемерных материях, где рождаются остальные конспирологические теории. Впрочем, косвенные свидетельства, что Сатоси Накамото – это несколько человек, все-таки существуют. Два года назад журналист The New Yorker Джошуа Дэвис обратил всеобщее внимание, что если в своих первых публичных постах Накамото использует американское правописание, то затем неожиданно переключается на британское. В частности, использует выражение «bloody hard».

Вероятность. Решайте сами. Но лучше – оставьте Сатоси в покое!


 

Источник: http://slon.ru/appheroes/okhota-na-satosi-nakamoto-5-teoriy-o-tainstvennom-sozdatele-bitcoin-1031728.xhtml


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Экономика и финансы
Возрастное ограничение