Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Economy and Finance / Markets: estimates and projections / Articles
The size of global debt has reached a record 327% of GDP
Material posted: Publication date: 29-06-2017

The size of the total debt in the world, has updated the historical maximum and amounted to 327% of global GDP in the first.

The size of global debt has reached in the first quarter of 2017, a record $217 trillion, an increase of $600 billion per year on the background of active borrowing of emerging markets. A new record is equivalent to 327% of global GDP, it follows from the overview of the global debt market, prepared by the Institute of international Finance (Institute of International Finance, IIF). The document is at RBC. The IIF is an international Association representing more than 500 financial market participants.

In the total debt included all debt of governments, banks, corporations and households.

The global debt burden is not evenly distributed, the authors of the review: in some countries or industries it is decreased in others, on the contrary, increases. The latest surge in debt can create obstacles to long-term growth and, as a consequence, risks to financial stability, warns IIF.


The steady growth of debts on the background of deterioration in credit quality in the nonfinancial sector (especially in emerging markets) continues to contribute to the volume increase of potential state obligations, which will be forced, as in the previous crisis, to take the clearing balances of the private sector. In some countries, particularly in China, a sharp increase in debt has become a negative impact on sovereign creditworthiness.

The sharp increase in debt over the year showed the world's largest economy, the US and China: both countries had risen to $2 trillion. In China it reached $32,7 trillion, and the United States exceeded $63 trillion. The growth of the us economy in nominal terms has overtaken the growth of debt, causing the ratio of recent to the us, GDP fell by 2.5 p. p.

Despite the significant increase in debt in China, the growth rate has slowed, especially in the non-financial corporate sector — a consequence of the tightening of monetary policy. However, Chinese households, on the contrary, increased their borrowing. In the first quarter of 2017, the ratio of household debt to GDP reached a historical high of 45%, significantly surpassing the average for emerging markets — 35%. As of may the total debt of China has surpassed 304% of GDP, the IIF estimated.

Total emerging markets debt increased $3 trillion, exceeding the $56 trillion, and accounted for 218% of GDP. Fastest its relation to GDP grew in China, Chile, Colombia and Turkey. In Thailand, Brazil, Russia and Hungary on the contrary, it decreased.

In late may, Moody's Investors Service for the first time since 1989, downgraded the sovereign credit rating of China from Aa3 ("very low credit risk") to A1 ("low credit risk"), installing on it a stable Outlook. The Agency explained the slow pace of reforms, the large debts of the country. Although Moody's lowered the rating of the Chinese for almost 30 years, other agencies do this more often. The latter was Fitch, which downgraded the sovereign rating of China in 2013.

In September 2016, Moody's downgraded Turkey's sovereign rating to "junk" level of Ba1 with a stable Outlook, also citing the increased risks associated with the need to increase external borrowing. and the weakening of indicators such as economic growth and stability of institutions.


Of the four components of debt, which measures the IIF, Russia for the last four quarters grew by only debt — from 15.9% of GDP at the end of March 2016 to 16.3% of GDP at the end of March this year. The ratio of household debt to GDP decreased to 14.7% (15.6%), debt of the financial sector, to 11.8% (from 14.4%), non-financial sector — to 48.6% (from 56.1%). Until the end of 2017, Russian borrowers have larger debt repayment, notes the IIF. According to the Bank of Russia, in the second half will have to pay $43 billion in principal and $8.3 billion in interest.

Oleg Makarov


Source: http://www.rbc.ru/economics/29/06/2017/5953e4719a79475564c22e9b?from=main


RELATED MATERIALS: Economy and Finance
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Экономика и финансы / Рынки: оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Размер мирового долга достиг рекордных 327% ВВП
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 29-06-2017

Размер совокупной задолженности в мире обновил исторический максимум и составил 327% глобального ВВП по итогам первого.

Размер общемирового долга достиг в первом квартале 2017 года рекордных $217 трлн, увеличившись на $600 млрд за год на фоне активных заимствований развивающихся рынков. Новый рекорд эквивалентен 327% глобального ВВП, следует из обзора мирового долгового рынка, подготовленного Институтом международных финансов (Institute of International Finance, IIF). Документ есть у РБК. IIF представляет собой международную ассоциацию, объединяющую более 500 участников финансового рынка.

В совокупный долг включается все — долги правительств, банков, корпораций и домохозяйств.

Глобальное долговое бремя распределено неравномерно, отмечают авторы обзора: в одних странах/отраслях оно уменьшается, в других, напротив, увеличивается. В последних увеличение долга может создать препятствия для долгосрочного роста и, как следствие, риски для финансовой стабильности, предупреждает IIF.


Устойчивый рост долгов на фоне ухудшения качества кредитов в нефинансовом секторе (особенно на развивающихся рынках) продолжает способствовать увеличению объема потенциальных обязательств государств, которые будут вынуждены, как и в предыдущий кризис, взять расчистку балансов частного сектора на себя. В ряде стран, в частности в Китае, резкое увеличение долгов уже стало отрицательно сказываться на суверенной кредитоспособности.

Самый резкий прирост долга за год продемонстрировали крупнейшие мировые экономики — США и Китай: в обеих странах показатель вырос на $2 трлн. В Китае он достиг $32,7 трлн, а в США превысил $63 трлн. При этом рост американской экономики в номинальном выражении обогнал рост долга, в результате чего отношение последнего к американскому ВВП снизилось на 2,5 п.п.

Несмотря на значительное увеличение долга в Китае, темпы его прироста замедлились, особенно в нефинансовом корпоративном секторе, — следствие ужесточения денежно-кредитной политики. Однако китайские домохозяйства, напротив, увеличили свои заимствования. В первом квартале 2017 года отношение задолженности домохозяйств к ВВП достигло исторического максимума — 45%, значительно превзойдя средний показатель для развивающихся рынков — 35%. По состоянию на май совокупный долг КНР превзошел 304% ВВП, оценил IIF.

Совокупный долг развивающихся рынков увеличился на $3 трлн, превысив $56 трлн, и составил 218% ВВП. Быстрее всего его отношение к ВВП росло в Китае, Чили, Колумбии и Турции. В Таиланде же, Бразилии, России и Венгрии оно, напротив, снижалось.

В конце мая Moody’s Investors Service впервые с 1989 года понизило суверенный кредитный рейтинг Китая с Аа3 («очень низкий кредитный риск») до A1 («низкий кредитный риск»), установив по нему стабильный прогноз. Свое решение агентство объяснило медленными темпами реформ, а также большими долгами страны. Хотя Moody's не понижало китайский рейтинг почти 30 лет, другие агентства делают это чаще. Последним было Fitch, которое понизило суверенный рейтинг Китая в 2013 году.

В сентябре 20​​​16 года Moody’s понизило суверенный рейтинг Турции до «мусорного» уровня Ba1 со стабильным прогнозом, также сославшись на повышение рисков, связанных с необходимостью увеличения внешних заимствований. и ослабление таких показателей, как экономический рост и устойчивость институтов.


Из четырех компонентов долга, которые измеряет IIF, у России за последние четыре квартала вырос лишь госдолг — с 15,9% ВВП в конце марта 2016 года до 16,3% ВВП в конце марта текущего года. Отношение долга домохозяйств к ВВП уменьшилось до 14,7% (с 15,6%), долга финансового сектора — до 11,8% (с 14,4%), нефинансового сектора — до 48,6% (с 56,1%). До конца 2017 года российским заемщикам предстоят крупные погашения долгов, отмечает IIF. По данным Банка России, во втором полугодии предстоит выплатить $43 млрд в качестве основного долга и $8,3 млрд в виде процентов.

Олег Макаров


Источник: http://www.rbc.ru/economics/29/06/2017/5953e4719a79475564c22e9b?from=main


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Экономика и финансы
Возрастное ограничение