Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Economy and Finance / Direction materials
The decline of tablets and the revival of vinyl. Deloitte has published the forecast of development of technology and telecommunications in 2017.
Material posted : Administrator Publication date: 13-01-2017

According to estimates by consulting firm Deloitte, this year the tablet market will continue to decline amid growing popularity of smartphones and laptops, the number of devices equipped with a fingerprint reader, will be over 1 billion, a DDoS attack will be bigger, but sales of vinyl records continue to rise and for the first time will approach $1 billion. These and other forecasts the company presented in its annual predictions in technology and telecommunications.

Consulting company Deloitte already in the 16th time, has published its annual predictions in technology and telecommunications. After analyzing the opinion of the representatives of the technology industry, experts and tens of thousands of consumers around the world, Deloitte specialists have identified ten most significant events and trends that occur and are planned in the current year.

Deloitte has reported that in early 2017 the number of devices equipped with fingerprint reader, for the first time exceeds 1 billion Each reader will use on average about 30 times a day, and this means that in total for the year of such uses will be more than 10 trillion. More than 90% of devices with fingerprint readers is smartphones and tablets. By the end of the year such readers, says Deloitte, will be on 40% of smartphones in developed countries (in the middle of 2016 — 30%), and by the end of the decade they will be distributed worldwide, as it is now built-in cameras in smartphones. And according to Deloitte, already, many government agencies and private organizations should think about how to most effectively use this growing database of fingerprint readers.

In their predictions Deloitte cites, which may indicate the approaching sunset recently began the era of tablets. If in 2013, 2014 and 2015, sales of these devices are constantly exceeded 200 million units, in 2016, they had sold only 182 million And in 2017, according to estimates by Deloitte, sales should fall another 10%, to 165 million Drop in demand for recently popular devices the company's specialists explain the fact that they actively replaced by smartphones, which are becoming more versatile and increase in size, and laptops, which are becoming easier and easier. Surveys in the U.S. and other countries show that the tablets gradually lose their attractiveness in the eyes of consumers in comparison with other gadgets. Most popular gadgets in the USA are smartphones (76%), followed by laptops (69%) and PC (57%). Favorite electronic device the tablets are in only 29% of American consumers. A survey of consumers in 15 countries about what the next gadget they intend to purchase, only 16% said a tablet, while 28% plan to purchase new smartphone, and 25% of a new PC or laptop.

Very different from Deloitte predictions — optimistic, the market for vinyl records, which is steadily growing. Market, which reached its peak at the end of the 70-ies of the last century, is experiencing a rebirth, and this year the sales of vinyl records around the world for the first time, to approach $1 billion. According to experts Deloitte, 90% of sales have on new and used records, and the remaining 10% on vinyl turntables and related accessories. In 2017 it will be sold about 40 million records. However, as experts note, in fact a love of music is not the main reason for the purchase of records by today's consumers. The main reason is nostalgia, the desire to have a memento or add to his collection.

Walked in Deloitte and urgent problem of DDoS-attacks, which, according to experts, the company will become bigger, more regular and harder to prevent. The company predicts that in the year will be over 10 million cyber-attacks during at least one DDoS attack per month will be forwarded to spam at 1 Tbit/s, and the average size of a conventional attack will be close to 1.5 GB/s. For comparison, the largest DDoS attack in 2013-2015 reached 300-500 Gbps in 2016 already had two DDoS attacks in the 1 Tbit/s.

Alena Miklashevskaya


Source: http://kommersant.ru/doc/3188440


RELATED MATERIALS:Economy and Finance
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Экономика и финансы / Материалы направления
Закат планшетов и возрождение винила. Deloitte опубликовала прогноз развития технологий и телекоммуникаций в 2017 году.
Материал разместил : Администратор Дата публикации: 13-01-2017

По оценкам консалтинговой компании Deloitte, в нынешнем году рынок планшетов продолжит сокращаться на фоне растущей популярности смартфонов и ноутбуков, число устройств, оборудованных дактилоскопическим считывателем, перевалит за 1 млрд, DDoS-атаки станут масштабнее, а продажи виниловых пластинок продолжат расти и впервые приблизятся к $1 млрд. Эти и другие прогнозы компания представила в своих ежегодных предсказаниях в области технологий и телекоммуникаций.

Консалтинговая компания Deloitte уже в 16-й раз опубликовала ежегодные предсказания в сфере технологий и телекоммуникаций. Проанализировав мнение представителей технологической индустрии, экспертов и десятков тысяч потребителей по всему миру, специалисты Deloitte выделили десять наиболее значительных событий и тенденций, которые произойдут и наметятся в текущем году.

По оценкам Deloitte, уже в начале 2017 года число устройств, оборудованных считывателем отпечатков пальцев, впервые превысит 1 млрд. Каждый считыватель будет использоваться в среднем около 30 раз в день, а это означает, что в общей сложности за год таких использований будет более 10 трлн. При этом более 90% устройств со считывателями отпечатков — это смартфоны и планшеты. К концу года такие считыватели, считает Deloitte, будут на 40% смартфонов в развитых странах (в середине 2016 года — 30%), а к концу десятилетия они будут распространены по всему миру, как сейчас встроенные камеры в смартфонах. И по мнению Deloitte, уже сейчас многим государственным структурам и частным организациям стоило бы задуматься о том, как наиболее эффективно использовать эту активно растущую базу дактилоскопических считывателей.

В своих предсказаниях Deloitte приводит данные, которые могут свидетельствовать о приближающемся закате совсем недавно начавшейся эпохи планшетов. Если в 2013, 2014 и 2015 годах продажи этих устройств постоянно превышали 200 млн штук, то уже в 2016 году их было продано только 182 млн. А в 2017 году, по оценкам Deloitte, продажи должны упасть еще на 10%, до 165 млн. Падение спроса на еще совсем недавно популярные устройства специалисты компании объясняют тем, что они активно вытесняются смартфонами, которые становятся все более универсальными и увеличиваются в размерах, и ноутбуками, которые становятся легче и удобнее. Опросы в США и других странах мира показывают, что планшеты постепенно теряют привлекательность в глазах потребителей по сравнению с другими гаджетами. Самые популярные гаджеты у американцев — это смартфоны (76%), за ними идут ноутбуки (69%) и ПК (57%). Любимым электронным устройством планшеты являются лишь у 29% американских потребителей. А по опросу потребителей в 15 странах мира о том, какой следующий гаджет они намерены приобрести, лишь 16% назвали планшет, в то время как 28% планируют покупку нового смартфона, а 25% — нового ПК или ноутбука.

Совсем другие у Deloitte предсказания — оптимистичные — для рынка виниловых пластинок, который уверенно растет. Рынок, расцвет которого пришелся на конец 70-х годов прошлого века, переживает второе рождение, и в текущем году продажи виниловых пластинок по всему миру могут впервые приблизиться к $1 млрд. По оценкам специалистов Deloitte, 90% продаж придется на новые и подержанные пластинки, а остальные 10% на виниловые проигрыватели и аксессуары к ним. В 2017 году будет продано около 40 млн пластинок. При этом, как отмечают специалисты, собственно любовь к музыке не является главной причиной для приобретения пластинок современными потребителями. Главная причина — это ностальгия, желание иметь памятную вещь или пополнить коллекцию.

Не обошли в Deloitte и актуальную проблему DDoS-атак, которые, по оценке специалистов компании, станут масштабнее, регулярнее и их будет сложнее предотвратить. Компания предсказывает, что в год в мире будет совершаться свыше 10 млн таких кибератак, при этом в ходе как минимум одной DDoS-атаки в месяц будет пересылаться спама на 1 Тбит/с, а средний размер обычной атаки приблизится к 1,5 Гбит/с. Для сравнения: крупнейшие по объему DDoS-атаки в 2013–2015 годах достигали 300–500 Гбит/с, в 2016 году уже было две DDoS-атаки по 1 Тбит/с.

Алена Миклашевская


Источник: http://kommersant.ru/doc/3188440 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ:Экономика и финансы
Возрастное ограничение