Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Future of the Information Society / Articles
Digital diplomacy of the United Arab Emirates
Material posted: Publication date: 09-12-2019
The UAE is a pioneer among Arab countries in implementing the "soft power". To implement this concept, various tools are used, including public diplomacy (Public Diplomacy). The basic idea of public diplomacy as such can be summarized as follows: it is “the process of communication of the government with foreign audiences, the purpose of which is to foreign public understands the ideals and ideas of the nation, had the idea of... the culture of the country... on national objectives”. For the implementation of public diplomacy Emirates actively uses Internet resources, thereby making public diplomacy in the digital.

UAE today – a country of active Internet users (explainable by the youth of the population). Based on data from Global Media Insight[1], from 9.61 million people use social networks to 9.52 million - that is almost the entire country. Interestingly, every year about 140 persons are joining social networks. According to statistics, WhatsApp messenger is the most common and the most popular social networks - Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. It is not surprising that the authorities of the Emirates make every effort to promote a positive international image and its agenda on these grounds, using methods SMM (Social Media Marketing), branding and PR and. The development of digital technologies and digital diplomacy dedicated and official documents in the UAE. So, in the Strategy of soft power of the UAE media diplomacy refers to the 6 major areas of soft power.

Digital diplomacy UAE can be divided into two components: actions in the country on the digitalization of the government with the aim of consolidation of an image of the most advanced countries in the middle East in digital-respect and soft power of the UAE in the international online space.

  1. Digitalization. All state agencies have their own websites and any services that may be online. In the future, the UAE government is committed to full paperless government – smart (paperless) government. Due to such state initiatives, such as Smart mobility, citizens receive a ready set of applications on a smartphone for all services. Achievements Emirates in the field of application of modern technologies in public administration received praised by international experts in 2018 the Swiss international Institute for management development IMD Institute has published a Ranking of Digital competitiveness, which the UAE won the first place in the BW and 17th in the world (surpassing Germany) in the field of the digital economy[2].
  2. UAE in the international online space. The UAE is gaining special popularity so-called diplomacy, social networks (social media diplomacy), through which the promotion of the image of the UAE, in particular through the representatives of power. For example, Twitter, the Prime Minister of the UAE has 9.8 million subscribers[3] (11-e a place among world leaders); Instagram crown Prince of Abu Dhabi – 2 million subscribers, Twitter, Minister of foreign Affairs - 4.5 million. of Course, all the foreign companies also have their own social media pages, and created special institutions for the coordination of such activities – for example, the UAE Office of Public Diplomacy under the foreign Ministry of the UAE. The popularity on online platforms, of course, is a winning resource, allowing you to cultivate an attractive image of the UAE and, consequently, to develop effective national branding. The success of the national branding of the Emirates, and, consequently, soft power, confirms the report of a reputable advertising Agency of The Future Brand, annually publishes a world ranking of national brands, for 2019, in which UAE was ranked 16th in the world and 1st among Arab countries (leaving behind powerful States such as KSA and Qatar)[4].

One of the latest trends in digital diplomacy Emirates - carried out at the paradiplomatic level (at the level of individual state actors). In this respect, stands the Emirate of Dubai is the most populated Emirate with the highest number of foreign residents, the most recognizable and publicized Emirate of the country. An important activity of the leadership of Dubai is also the creation of “smart” government (smart/digital government) as examples of “government of the future” for other countries. For this purpose, in 2001 a project was launched electronic government (e-government). In 2013 this trend continued with the launch of the Dubai Smart Government Initiative and programs of Smart Government Applications and the transfer channels of communication between government and residents in social networks – Youtube and Twitter, that translates the model of city management, in fact, in a virtual environment. Dubai-level of the Emirate publish its strategy for the development of digital-sector – unique to the Middle East Dubai the concept of the Internet of Things about the development of digital technology in the field of administration, management, management, international relations of the Emirate. The expanded conception of these goals gives a different document – the Smart Dubai 2021, which establishes the goal to make Dubai the leader in the ranking of smart cities in the world.

However, despite the peaceful nature of UAE digital diplomacy, sometimes controversial cases. In 2017, the Gulf region shook the Qatari crisis, which were drawn and the UAE, having established a blockade against Qatar. In 2017-18 he Arabic edition was published by numerous news, according to which the UAE along with Saudi Arabia and Bahrain used to create fake web bot pages on Twitter shortly before the crisis to escalate anticachectic sentiments, and after the crisis to maintain this rhetoric[5]. Antimaterie mood in UAE came in the beginning of the crisis to such an extent that the UAE authorities threatened with imprisonment anyone who expressed sympathy to Qatar in social networks. UAE was implicated in the spread of fake news to harm the image of Qatar - so on Twitter were circulated false information about the fire planes Qatar Airways at Doha airport[6]. Later account and the news was removed as violating the Twitter terms of use. It is reported that, in coordination with the KSA, the UAE also develop the theme of the creation of the Internet trolls (troll farms) to warm up the public (the latter an experiment in African countries)[7].

Digital security UAE. Safe interaction in the online space has become so hot topic in the UAE that would affect its rulers in their official messages to the nation. So, in the fall of 2019, Prime Minister of the UAE published a "Message to the nation for the new season", where he emphasized that the chaos and anarchy in social networks can destroy any achievement of the state. He stressed that the image of the UAE does not need to increase the number of "followers". In addition, the Prime Minister has noticed that to coordinate online activities and maintaining the image of the UAE, there is actually Mead, which clearly conveys information about the vectors emigrant diplomacy to the public. His message, the Prime Minister made the following striking phrase: "We will not allow to destroy the 48-year-old heritage of the country on the platforms of type Twitter."

In this regard, it is important to specify that the UAE has its own strategy for Cyber security from 2019. It affects such as the regulation of cybercrime, protection of critical infrastructure from hacker attacks, increase of awareness of people, create teams of cyberprotection.

Thus, we can conclude that the UAE today, from all States in the Middle East the most actively joined the digital sphere and actively use media as a tool for the formation of a positive image of the country abroad and to promote their national interests. Emirates take these steps along with the internal digitalization of structures and systems development of protective mechanisms in the online environment, making digital diplomacy an integral part of foreign policy activities of the UAE.

Anastasia Ilyukhina

 

Literature

  1. Dubai Cybersecurity Strategy. URL: http://www.dubai.ae/en/Pages/DCSS.aspx
  2. Smart Dubai 2021. URL: https://2021.smartdubai.ae/
  3. Dubai Smart Government. URL: https://www.smartdubai.ae/
  4. استراتيجية إنترنت الأشياء في دبي [Dubai's Internet of Things Strategy] URL: https://www.government.ae/ar-ae/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/local-governments-strategies-and-plans/dubai-internet-of-things-strategy
  5. استراتيجية القوة الناعمة لدولة الإمارات [The UAE Soft Power Strategy] https://government.ae/ar-ae/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/federal-governments-strategies-and-plans/the-uae-soft-power-strategy
  6. الاستراتيجية الوطنية للأمن السيبراني-2019 [National Cybersecurity Strategy 2019] URL: https://www.government.ae/en/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/federal-governments-strategies-and-plans/national-cybersecurity-strategy-2019
  7. محمد بن راشد في رسالة الموسم الجديد [Mohammed bin Rashid''s Letter of the New Season] URL: https://www.albayan.ae/across-the-uae/news-and-reports/2019-08-31-1.3638375

 

[1] UAE Social Media Usage Statistics 2019. URL: https://www.globalmediainsight.com/blog/uae-social-media-statistics/

[2] IMD World Competitiveness Rankings 2019 Results. URL: https://www.imd.org/wcc/world-competitiveness-center-rankings/world-competitiveness-ranking-2019/

[3] the Official Twitter Account of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum, UAE Prime Minister: https://twitter.com/hhshkmohd

[4] Future Brand Country Index 2019. URL: https://www.futurebrand.com/futurebrand-country-index

[5] The fake Twitter accounts influencing the Gulf crisis. URL: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/07/fake-twitter-accounts-influencing-gulf-crisis-190717052607770.html

[6] UAE fake news about HIA draws global condemnation. URL: https://www.gulf-times.com/story/634143/UAE-fake-news-about-HIA-draws-global-condemnation

[7] Saudi, UAE and Eritrean Trolling Cooperation. URL: http://awate.com/saudi-uae-eritrea-internet-trolling-cooperation/


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Будущее информационного общества / Статьи
Цифровая дипломатия Объединенных Арабских Эмиратов
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 09-12-2019
ОАЭ являются пионером среди арабских стран в области имплементации «мягкой силы». Для осуществления этой концепции используются различные средства, в том числе публичная дипломатия (Public Diplomacy). Основная идея публичной дипломатии как таковой может быть сведена к следующему: это “процесс общения правительства с зарубежной аудиторией, цель которого заключается в том, чтобы иностранная общественность понимала идеалы и идеи нации, имела представление о… культуре данной страны… о национальных целях”. Для реализации публичной дипломатии Эмираты активно задействуют Интернет-ресурсы, превращая таким образом публичную дипломатию в цифровую.

ОАЭ на сегодняшний день – страна активных-интернет пользователей (объяснимо молодостью населения). Исходя из данных Global Media Insight[1], из 9,61 млн человек населения социальными сетями пользуются 9,52 млн - то есть почти вся страна. Интересно, что ежегодно около 140 тыс. чел присоединяются к соцсетям. По статистике, WhatsApp - самый распространенный мессенджер, а самые популярные социальные сети - Facebook, Instagram и Twitter. Неудивительно, что власти Эмиратов прикладывают все усилия для того, чтобы продвигать свой позитивный международный образ и свою повестку дня на данных площадках, используя для этого методы SMM (Social Media Marketing), брендинга и PR’а. Развитию digital-технологий и цифровой дипломатии посвящены и официальные документы ОАЭ. Так, в Стратегии мягкой силы ОАЭ медиа-дипломатия относится к 6 важнейшим направлениям реализации мягкой силы.

Цифровую дипломатию ОАЭ можно условно разделить на две составляющих: действия внутри страны по цифровизации правительства с целью закрепления за собой имиджа наиболее продвинутой страны на Ближнем Востоке в digital-отношении и мягкая сила ОАЭ в международном онлайн-пространстве.

  1. Цифровизация. Все государственные учреждения имеют собственные сайты и любые госуслуги могут оказываться онлайн. В перспективе правительство ОАЭ стремится к полноценному paperless government – умному («безбумажному») правительству. Благодаря таким государственным инициативам, как, например, Smart mobility, граждане получают готовый набор приложений на смартфон для оказания любых услуг. Достижения Эмиратов в области применения современных технологий в государственном управлении получили оценку международных специалистов – в 2018 г. швейцарский Международный институт управленческого развития IMD Institute опубликовал Рейтинг Цифровой конкурентоспособности, в котором ОАЭ заняли первое место на БВ и 17-е в мире (потеснив Германию) в области цифровой экономики[2].
  2. ОАЭ в международном онлайн-пространстве. В ОАЭ набирает особую популярность так называемая дипломатия социальных сетей (social media diplomacy), благодаря которой успешно осуществляется продвижение имиджа ОАЭ, в частности через представителей власти. Например, Твиттер премьер-министра ОАЭ насчитывает 9,8 млн подписчиков[3] (11-е место среди мировых лидеров); Инстаграм крон-принца Абу-Даби – 2 млн подписчиков, Твиттер министра иностранных дел- 4,5 млн. Естественно, все внешнеполитические учреждения также имеют свои страницы в социальных сетях, создаются и специальные учреждения для координации такой деятельности – например, UAE Office of Public Diplomacy при МИД ОАЭ. Такая популярность на онлайн-платформах, несомненно, является выигрышным ресурсом, позволяя культивировать привлекательный образ ОАЭ и, следовательно, эффективно развивать национальный брендинг.  Успехи национального брендинга Эмиратов, а, следовательно, и мягкой силы, подтверждает доклад авторитетного рекламного агентства The Future Brand, ежегодно публикующего рейтинг мировых национальных брендов, за 2019 г., в котором ОАЭ заняли 16-е место в мире и 1-е среди арабских стран (оставив позади такие влиятельные государства, как КСА и Катар)[4].

Одной из последних тенденций цифровой дипломатии Эмиратов - проведение ее на парадипломатическом уровне (на уровне отдельных государственных субъектов). В этом отношении выделяется эмират Дубай - наиболее населенный эмират с наибольшим количеством иностранных жителей, самый узнаваемый и разрекламированный эмират страны. Важное направление деятельности руководства Дубая – также создание “умного” правительства (smart/digital government) в качестве примера “правительства будущего” для других стран. Для осуществления этой цели еще в 2001 г. был запущен проект электронного правительства (e-government). В 2013 г. данная тенденция продолжилась  запуском инициативы Dubai Smart Government Initiative и программы Smart Government Applications, а также переносом каналов связи правительства с резидентами в соцсети – Youtube и Twitter, что переводит модель управления городом, по сути, в виртуальную среду. Дубай на уровне эмирата издает свои стратегии по развитию digital-сферы – уникальную для Ближнего Востока концепцию Dubai Internet of Things о развитии цифровых технологий в области администрирования, менеджмента, управления международными связями эмирата. Расширенное понятие об этих целях дает другой документ – Smart Dubai 2021, в котором закреплена цель сделать Дубай лидером в рейтинге умных городов мира.

Однако при всей мирной направленности эмиратской цифровой дипломатии, случаются и скандальные случаи. В 2017 г. регион залива потряс катарский кризис, в который оказались втянуты и ОАЭ, установив блокаду против Катара. В 2017-18 гг. арабские издания публиковали многочисленные новости, согласно которым ОАЭ наравне с КСА и Бахрейном использовали создание фейковых бот-страниц в твиттере незадолго до кризиса для обострения антикатарских настроений, и после начала кризиса для поддержания такой риторики[5]. Антикатарские настроения в ОАЭ дошли в начале кризиса до такой степени, что власти ОАЭ угрожали тюремным сроком всем, кто выразил сочувствие Катару в соцсетях. ОАЭ были уличены и в распространении фейковых новостей для нанесения ущерба имиджу Катара -  так, в твиттере были распространены ложные сведения о возгорании самолетов катарских авиалиний в аэропорту Дохи[6]. Позже аккаунт и новость были удалены Твиттером как нарушающие правила пользования. Сообщается, что в координации с КСА ОАЭ также развивают тему создания интернет-троллей (troll farms) для разогрева общественности (последний эксперимент- в странах Африки)[7].

Цифровая безопасность ОАЭ. Безопасное взаимодействие в онлайн-пространстве стало настолько актуальной темой для ОАЭ, что правители затрагивают ее в своих официальных посланиях нации. Так, осенью 2019 г. премьер-министром ОАЭ было опубликовано «Послание нации к новому сезону», где он подчеркнул, что хаос и анархия в социальных сетях могут разрушить любые достижения государства. Он подчеркнул, что имидж ОАЭ не нуждается в увеличении количества «фолловеров». Кроме того, премьер-министр обратил внимание, что для координации онлайн-действий и поддержании образа ОАЭ существует собственно МИД, который четко доносит информацию о векторах эмигрантской дипломатии до публики. Свое послание премьер завершил следующей яркой фразой: «Мы не позволим разрушить 48-летнее наследие страны на платформах типа Твиттера».

В этой связи важно указать, что у ОАЭ есть собственная стратегия Кибербезопасности от 2019 г. Она затрагивает такие цели, как регулирование киберпреступности, защиту критической инфраструктуры от хакерских атак, повышение осведомленности народа, создание команд киберпрофессионалов.

Таким образом, можно сделать вывод, что ОАЭ на сегодняшний день из всех государств Ближнего Востока наиболее активно влились в digital-сферу и активно используют медиа-инструмента как для формирования позитивного образа страны за рубежом, так и для продвижения своих национальных интересов. Эмираты предпринимают данные шаги наряду с внутренней цифровизацией госструктур и разработкой систем защитных механизмов в онлайн-среде, что делает цифровую дипломатию неотъемлемой частью внешнеполитической деятельности ОАЭ.

Анастасия Илюхина

 

Литература

  1. Dubai Cybersecurity Strategy. URL: http://www.dubai.ae/en/Pages/DCSS.aspx
  2. Smart Dubai 2021. URL: https://2021.smartdubai.ae/
  3. Smart Dubai Government. URL: https://www.smartdubai.ae/
  4. استراتيجية إنترنت الأشياء في دبي [Dubai Internet of Things Strategy] URL: https://www.government.ae/ar-ae/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/local-governments-strategies-and-plans/dubai-internet-of-things-strategy
  5. استراتيجية القوة الناعمة لدولة الإمارات [The UAE Soft Power Strategy] https://government.ae/ar-ae/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/federal-governments-strategies-and-plans/the-uae-soft-power-strategy
  6. الاستراتيجية الوطنية للأمن السيبراني-2019 [National Cybersecurity Strategy 2019] URL: https://www.government.ae/en/about-the-uae/strategies-initiatives-and-awards/federal-governments-strategies-and-plans/national-cybersecurity-strategy-2019
  7. محمد بن راشد في رسالة الموسم الجديد [Mohammed bin Rashid’s Letter of the New Season] URL: https://www.albayan.ae/across-the-uae/news-and-reports/2019-08-31-1.3638375

 

[1] UAE Social Media Usage Statistics 2019. URL: https://www.globalmediainsight.com/blog/uae-social-media-statistics/

[2] IMD World Competitiveness Rankings 2019 Results. URL: https://www.imd.org/wcc/world-competitiveness-center-rankings/world-competitiveness-ranking-2019/

[3] Official Twitter Account of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum, UAE Prime Minister: https://twitter.com/hhshkmohd

[4] Future Brand Country Index 2019. URL: https://www.futurebrand.com/futurebrand-country-index

[5] The fake Twitter accounts influencing the Gulf crisis. URL: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/07/fake-twitter-accounts-influencing-gulf-crisis-190717052607770.html

[6] UAE fake news about HIA draws global condemnation. URL: https://www.gulf-times.com/story/634143/UAE-fake-news-about-HIA-draws-global-condemnation

[7] Saudi, UAE and Eritrean Trolling Cooperation. URL: http://awate.com/saudi-uae-eritrea-internet-trolling-cooperation/


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение