Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Future of the Information Society / Articles
Fundamental limitations of machine learning
Material posted: Publication date: 10-09-2017
Recently my aunt sent to my colleagues email with the subject "math problem! What's the right answer?" The letter was a deceptively simple puzzle:

1 + 4 = 5
2 + 5 = 12
3 + 6 = 21
8 + 11 =?

For her the decision was obvious. But her colleagues decided that the right was their decision – not coinciding with her decision. The problem was with one of their answers or the puzzle?

My aunt and her colleagues have stumbled upon a fundamental problem of machine learning, a discipline that studies learning computers. Almost all of the training that we expect from computers – and yourself – is to reduce information to the main patterns on the basis of which to draw conclusions about something unknown. And her mystery was the same.

For humans the task is to find any patterns. Of course, our intuition limits the range of our guesses. But computers have no intuition. From the computer's perspective, the difficulty in recognizing the patterns in their abundance: if there are an infinite number of equally valid patterns, which some are correct and some don't?

And this problem just recently moved to the practical level. Before the 1990s, AI systems rarely engaged in machine learning. For example, the chess computer Deep Thought, predecessor of Deep Blue, did not learn chess by trial and error. Instead, chess grandmasters and wizards of programming have carefully created the rules by which it was possible to understand how good or bad it turns out a chess position. This rigorous manual adjustment was typical of "expert systems" of that time.

To address the mystery of my aunt using the approach of expert systems, it is necessary that man squinted, looked at the first three rows of the examples and noticed the following pattern:

1 * (4 + 1) = 5

2 * (5 + 1) = 12

3 * (6 + 1) = 21

Then the man would give the computer the command to follow laws x * (y + 1) = z. Applying this rule to the last result, we have the solution – 96.

Despite the early success of expert systems, manual labor was required for their development, tuning and upgrades, has become prohibitive. Instead, the researchers drew attention to the development of machines that can recognize patterns on their own. The program could, for example, studying thousands of photos or market transactions, and deduce the statistical signals corresponding to the face or the surge of prices in the market. This approach quickly became dominant, and since then, is the basis of everything, from automatic mail sorting and filtering of spam to detect credit card fraud.

But despite all the successes, these systems MO require a programmer somewhere in the process. Take as an example the mystery of my aunt. We assumed that in each row there are three important components (three numbers per line). But there is a potential fourth element is the result from the previous line. If the string property is valid, then appears another plausible pattern:

0 + 1 + 4 = 5

5 + 2 + 5 = 12

12 + 3 + 6 = 21

By this logic, the final answer should be equal to 40.

What is true? Of course, both and neither. It all depends on what patterns are valid. You can, for example, to build the pattern by taking the first number, multiplying by the second, adding one-fifth of the amount of the previous answer and three, and to round all this up to the nearest whole (very strange, but it works). But if we are allowed to use the properties associated with the appearance of digits are the sequence associated with tick and lines. Search patterns depends on assumptions of the observer.

The same is true for MO. Even when machines teach themselves, preferred patterns are selected by the people: whether for face recognition contain explicit rules for if/then, or it must regard each feature as additional evidence in favor of or against each possible person who owns the face? What features of the image processing. Whether to work with individual pixels? And maybe, with edges between light and dark areas? Selecting this options limits what patterns the system is deemed likely or even possible. Search for this perfect combination and has become a new work of specialists in MO.

image

But the automation did not stop there. Similarly, as programmers tired of writing rules, and now they were reluctant to develop new opportunities. "Wouldn't it be nice if the computer could figure out what features he needs?" So they developed a neural network with deep learning – the technology of MO, able to draw conclusions about the properties on the basis of more than simple information. We'll feed the neural network a set of pixels, and she will learn to take into account edges, curves, textures – all without direct instructions.

Well, the programmers have lost their jobs because of the One Algorithm to Rule them All?

Yet. Neural networks were not yet ideally suited to every task. Even in the best cases, they have to adjust. The neural network consists of layers of "neurons", each of which performs calculations based on input data and outputs the result of the next layer. But the number of required neurons and how many layers? Should every neuron to accept input from each neuron of the previous layer, or some neurons need to be more selective? What conversion needs to be done every neuron on the input to issue the result? And so on.

These issues constrain attempts to use neural networks to new problems; neural network perfectly discriminating person, quite incapable of automatic translation. And again selected a man design elements clearly are pushing the network to certain laws, diverting it from others. A knowledgeable person understands that not all laws are created equal. While programmers will not remain without work.

Of course, the next logical step would be neural networks, can guess yourself about how much you want to include neurons which connections to use, etc. Research projects on this topic have been underway for many years.

How far can it go? Learn whether the machine to work independently so good that external adjustment will turn into an old-fashioned relic? In theory, you could imagine the perfect universal disciple – so that he can decide everything for themselves, and always chooses the best scheme for the selected task.

But in 1996 as an it specialist David Walpert proved the impossibility of the existence of such student. In his famous "theorems about the absence of a free lunch," he showed that for any patterns that the student is well trained, there is a pattern, which he will learn terrible. This returns us to the mystery of my aunt to an infinite number of patterns that can arise from finite data. The choice of the learning algorithm means selecting patterns that the car will handle poorly. Perhaps all tasks, for example, pattern recognition, will eventually fall into one comprehensive algorithm. But no one learning algorithm can equally well learn.

This makes machine learning an unexpectedly similar to the human brain. Although we like to consider themselves smart, but our brain also learns not perfect. Each part of the brain is carefully tuned by evolution to recognize certain patterns – be it what we see, the language that we hear or the behavior of physical objects. But finding patterns in the stock market we do not so well; there are cars we beat.

History of machine learning has many patterns. But the most probable is the following: we will train the machine to learn many more years.


Source: https://geektimes.ru/post/292737/


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Будущее информационного общества / Статьи
Фундаментальные ограничения машинного обучения
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 10-09-2017
Недавно моя тётя разослала своим коллегам емейлы с темой «задачка по математике! Какой правильный ответ?» В письме была обманчиво простая головоломка:

1 + 4 = 5
2 + 5 = 12
3 + 6 = 21
8 + 11 =?

Для неё решение был очевидным. Но её коллеги решили, что правильным было их решение – не совпавшее с её решением. Проблема была с одним из их ответов, или с самой головоломкой?

Моя тётя и её коллеги наткнулись на фундаментальную проблему машинного обучения, дисциплины, изучающей обучающиеся компьютеры. Практически всё обучение, которое мы ждём от компьютеров – и которым занимаемся сами – состоит в сокращении информации до основных закономерностей, на основании которых можно делать выводы о чём-то неизвестном. И её загадка была такой же.

Для человека задача состоит в поиске какой бы то ни было закономерности. Конечно, наша интуиция ограничивает спектр наших догадок. Но у компьютеров нет интуиции. С точки зрения компьютера сложность в распознавании закономерностей – в их избытке: если существует бесконечное количество одинаково правомерных закономерностей, из-за чего какие-то оказываются правильными, а какие-то – нет?

И эта проблема совсем недавно перешла в практическую плоскость. До 1990-х системы ИИ вообще редко занимались машинным обучением. Допустим, шахматный компьютер Deep Thought, предшественник Deep Blue, не научился шахматам методом проб и ошибок. Вместо этого шахматные гроссмейстеры и волшебники программирования тщательно создавали правила, по которым можно было разбираться в том, хорошая или плохая получается шахматная позиция. Такая скрупулёзная ручная подстройка была типичной для «экспертных систем» того времени.

Чтобы взяться за загадку моей тёти при помощи подхода экспертных систем, необходимо, чтобы человек, прищурившись, взглянул на первые три ряда примеров и заметил в них следующую закономерность:

1 * (4 + 1) = 5

2 * (5 + 1) = 12

3 * (6 + 1) = 21

Затем человек дал бы компьютеру команду следовать закономерности x * (y + 1) = z. Применив это правило к последнему результату, мы получим решение – 96.

Несмотря на ранние успехи экспертных систем, ручной труд, требовавшийся для их разработки, подстройки и обновления, стал неподъёмным. Вместо этого исследователи обратили внимание на разработку машин, способных распознавать закономерности самостоятельно. Программа могла, к примеру, изучить тысячу фотографий или рыночных транзакций и вывести из них статистические сигналы, соответствующие лицу на фото или всплеску цен на рынке. Такой подход быстро стал доминирующим, и с тех пор лежит в основе всего, от автоматической сортировки почты и фильтрования спама до обнаружения мошенничества с кредитными картами.

Но, несмотря на все успехи, эти системы МО требуют наличия программиста где-то в процессе. Возьмём в качестве примера загадку моей тёти. Мы предположили, что в каждой строке есть три значимых компонента (три числа в строке). Но в ней существует потенциальный четвёртый элемент – результат с предыдущей строки. Если это свойство строки допустимо, тогда проявляется другая правдоподобная закономерность:

0 + 1 + 4 = 5

5 + 2 + 5 = 12

12 + 3 + 6 = 21

По этой логике итоговый ответ должен быть равен 40.

Какая же закономерность верна? Естественно, обе – и ни одна из них. Всё зависит от того, какие закономерности допустимы. Можно, например, построить закономерность, взяв первое число, умножив на второй, добавив одну пятую от суммы предыдущего ответа и тройки, и округлить всё это до ближайшего целого (очень странно, но работает). А если мы разрешим использовать свойства, связанные с внешним видом цифр, возможно, найдётся последовательность, связанная с засечками и линиями. Поиск закономерностей зависит от предположений наблюдателя.

То же верно и для МО. Даже когда машины обучают сами себя, предпочтительные закономерности выбираются людьми: должно ли ПО для распознавания лиц содержать явные правила если/то, или оно должно расценивать каждую особенность как дополнительное доказательство в пользу или против каждого возможного человека, которому принадлежит лицо? Какие особенности изображения должно обрабатывать ПО? Нужно ли ей работать с отдельными пикселями? А может, с гранями между светлыми и тёмными участками? Выбор подобных вариантов ограничивает то, какие закономерности система сочтёт вероятными или даже возможными. Поиск этой идеальной комбинации и стал новой работой специалистов по МО.

image

Но процесс автоматизации на этом не остановился. Точно так же, как когда-то программисты замучались писать правила работы, теперь они с неохотой отнеслись к разработке новых возможностей. «Разве не было бы здорово, если бы компьютер сам смог разобраться, какие особенности ему нужны?» Так что они разработали нейросети с глубинным обучением – технологию МО, способную самостоятельно делать выводы о свойствах высокого уровня на основе более простой информации. Скормите нейросети набор пикселей, и она научится учитывать края, кривые, текстуры – и всё это без прямых инструкций.

И что же, программисты лишились работы из-за Одного Алгоритма, Чтоб Править Всеми?

Пока нет. Нейросети пока ещё не могут идеально подойти к любым задачам. Даже в лучших случаях их приходится подстраивать. Нейросеть состоит из слоёв «нейронов», каждый из которых выполняет подсчёты на основе входных данных и выдаёт результат следующему слою. Но сколько понадобится нейронов и сколько слоёв? Должен ли каждый нейрон принимать входные данные с каждого нейрона предыдущего уровня, или некоторые нейроны должны быть более избирательными? Какое преобразование должен проводить каждый нейрон над входными данными для выдачи результата? И так далее.

Эти вопросы ограничивают попытки применения нейросетей к новым задачам; нейросеть, прекрасно распознающая лица, совершенно неспособна на автоматический перевод. И снова выбранные человеком элементы конструкции явно подталкивают сеть к определённым закономерностям, уводя её от других. Знающий человек понимает, что не все закономерности созданы равными. Программисты пока не останутся без работы.

Конечно, следующим логичным шагом будут нейросети, самостоятельно догадывающиеся о том, сколько нужно включать нейронов, какие связи использовать, и т.д. Исследовательские проекты на эту тему ведутся уже много лет.

Как далеко это может зайти? Научатся ли машины работать самостоятельно настолько хорошо, что внешняя подстройка превратится в старомодную реликвию? В теории, можно представить себе идеального универсального ученика – такого, который сам может решать всё для себя, и всегда выбирает наилучшую схему для выбранной задачи.

Но в 1996-м специалист по информатике Дэвид Уолперт доказал невозможность существования такого ученика. В его знаменитых «теоремах об отсутствии бесплатных обедов» он показал, что для любой закономерности, которой ученик хорошо обучается, существует закономерность, которой он будет обучаться ужасно. Это возвращает нас к загадке моей тёти – к бесконечному количеству закономерностей, которое может возникать из конечных данных. Выбор обучающего алгоритма означает выбор закономерностей, с которыми машина будет справляться плохо. Возможно, все задачи, к примеру, распознавания образов, в итоге попадут в один всеобъемлющий алгоритм. Но ни один обучающийся алгоритм не может одинаково хорошо обучаться всему.

Это делает машинное обучение неожиданно похожим на человеческий мозг. Хотя мы любим считать себя умными, но наш мозг тоже не учится идеально. Каждая часть мозга тщательно настроена эволюцией на распознавание определённых закономерностей – будь это то, что мы видим, язык, который мы слышим, или поведение физических объектов. Но с поиском закономерностей на фондовом рынке мы справляемся уже не так хорошо; тут машины нас обыгрывают.

История машинного обучения насчитывает много закономерностей. Но наиболее вероятной будет следующая: мы будем обучать машины обучаться ещё много лет.


Источник: https://geektimes.ru/post/292737/ 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение