Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / New in Science / Articles
DARPA: "We are on the verge of merging of people and machines"
Material posted: Publication date: 15-02-2017
The time of cyborgs may not have occurred, but the prosthetic-driven impulses of the brain, and exoskeletons that increase the ability of the soldiers is already a reality. Edition Computerworld has an interview with Justin Sanchez, Director of DARPA biotechnology, a developer of defense technologies for the U.S. army.

"Something very interesting is happening on the border of human and machines in very different fields," says Sanchez. Smart exoskeletons helping the paralyzed to walk, increase the strength and endurance of soldiers, implanted microchips help to see or to feel the touch. Implanted microelectronics, helps to communicate on the battlefield is no longer science fiction and the near future.

"I believe that recent developments in science and technology we have at DARPA and the progress in psychology and AI allows us to develop conditions for a major change in the way of interaction of people and vehicles, says Sanchez, a bio-engineer with a degree in philosophy. — We allow human psychology to work with cars in new ways".

For several years scientists are working to create hybrids of machine and living, organic tissue. In 2008, they have learned to control the robot using the brain signals of monkeys. 4 years later, another group has developed a device that directs the signals to a paralyzed arm, bypassing the usual route through the spinal cord.

In 2009, Andrew Chen, then Director of advanced technologies at Intel Labs, said that by 2020, Internet users will be able to do without a keyboard and mouse and control the computers brain waves. Sanchez is confident that these predictions now don't sound so crazy a few years ago.

"Advances in AI make the machine more powerful in the sense that they can understand everything from scientific articles to their interpretations, and help us to solve big problems. Another aspect is that our society is taking wearable technology that allow algorithms to analyze our physiology," continues Sanchez. He believes that we are now at the point where wearable devices can start to communicate with smart thermostats and to adjust the temperature in the room.

In the next 3-5 years the doctors can get their hands on a device that helps people with injuries of the brain to form memories. "Our technicians are working on it — confirms Sanchez. — Developed direct neural interfaces."

He added that there are studies of the implants with the processing power of today's PCs or laptops that could process the neural signals and to control them using devices. So paralyzed people could start to walk and feel his legs. And the soldiers — after all, DARPA — defense company — can use the interface to quickly learn a new language.

The neurointerface can change the way we interact with mobile devices. For example, smartphones may not be necessary, or rather may be replaced with implantable chips. And to call my mom or call a taxi, we'll just have to think about it.

Sanchez is well aware that the society cautiously accept the implantation of microchips in the brain or contact lenses that will allow soldiers to see what he sees from the sky drone. He is convinced that we should be responsible and consider all aspects of the use of new technologies as soon as they appear on the horizon, writes ITNews.

The idea to connect the human to the computer cherishes, and the head of Tesla Ilon Musk. According to him, the interface needs to provide us a "symbiosis with machines", so we can communicate with them directly. To elaborate on his plan he promised in February this year.


Source: https://hightech.fm/2017/02/14/darpa-sanchez

Tags: USA , DARPA


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Новое в науке / Статьи
DARPA: «Мы на пороге слияния людей и машин»
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 15-02-2017
Время киборгов, возможно, еще не наступило, но протезы, управляемые импульсами мозга, и экзоскелеты, повышающие способности солдат — уже реальность. Издание Computerworld побеседовало с Джастином Санчесом, директором биотехнологий DARPA, разработчика оборонных технологий для армии США.

«Нечто очень интересное происходит на границе возможностей людей и машин в очень разных сферах», — говорит Санчес. Умные экзоскелеты помогают парализованным ходить, увеличивают силу и выносливость солдат, вживленные микрочипы помогают видеть или ощущать прикосновения. Имплантированная микроэлектроника, помогающая поддерживать связь на поле боя, уже не научная фантастика, а ближайшее будущее.

«Я считаю, что недавние разработки в науке и технике у нас в DARPA, а также прогресс в психологии и ИИ позволяет нам разработать условия для серьезных изменений в способе взаимодействия людей и машин, — говорит Санчес, биоинженер со степенью по философии. — Мы позволяем человеческой психологии работать с машинами по-новому».

В течение нескольких лет ученые трудятся над созданием гибрида машины и живой, органической ткани. В 2008 они научились управлять роботами с помощью сигналов мозга обезьян. Спустя 4 года другая группа разработала устройство, направляющее эти сигналы в парализованную руку, в обход обычного маршрута через спинной мозг.

В 2009 Эндрю Чен, тогдашний директор новейших технологий в Intel Labs, заявил, что к 2020 пользователи интернета смогут обходиться без мыши и клавиатуры и управлять компьютерами мозговыми волнами. Санчес уверен, что эти предсказания сейчас уже не звучат так безумно, как несколько лет назад.

«Достижения в ИИ делают машины более мощными в том смысле, что они могут понять все, от научных статей до их интерпретаций, и помогают нам решать большие проблемы. Другой аспект заключается в том, что наше общество принимает носимые технологии, которые позволяют алгоритмам анализировать нашу физиологию», — продолжает Санчес. Он считает, что мы сейчас находимся в той точке, когда носимые устройства легко могут начать общаться с умными термостатами и сами регулировать температуру в помещении.

В ближайшие 3-5 лет медики могут получить в свое распоряжение устройство, которое помогает людям с повреждениями мозга формировать воспоминания. «Наши специалисты работают над этим, — подтверждает Санчес. — Разрабатываются прямые нейронные интерфейсы».

Он добавил, что в DARPA идут исследования имплантов с вычислительными мощностями современных ПК или ноутбуков, которые могли бы обрабатывать нейронные сигналы и управлять с их помощью устройствами. Таким образом парализованные люди могли бы начать ходить и чувствовать свои ноги. А солдаты — все-таки DARPA — оборонное предприятие — смогут с помощью нейроинтерфейса быстро изучить новый язык.

Нейроинтерфейс может изменить и то, как мы взаимодействуем с мобильными устройствами. Например, смартфоны могут стать не нужны, точнее, их могут заменить вживляемые чипы. И для того, чтобы позвонить маме или вызвать такси, надо будет просто об этом подумать.

Санчес хорошо понимает, что общество с опаской воспринимает имплантацию микрочипов в мозг или контактные линзы, которые позволят солдатам видеть то, что видит с неба дрон. Он убежден, что следует проявлять ответственность и рассматривать все аспекты применения новых технологий сразу, как только они появляются на горизонте, пишет ITNews.

Идею подключить человека к компьютеру лелеет и глава Tesla Илон Маск. По его словам, нейроинтерфейс должен обеспечить нам «симбиоз с машинами», чтобы мы могли общаться с ними напрямую. Подробнее рассказать о своем замысле он обещал в феврале этого года.

Георгий Голованов


Источник: https://hightech.fm/2017/02/14/darpa-sanchez 

Теги: США , DARPA


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение