Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / New in Science / Articles
Computer arms race: China bypasses the United States
Material posted: Publication date: 02-05-2018
Bloomberg told about another competition of two largest world economies — the USA and China. Win it may be even more important than winning in the trade war. This confrontation will determine who will be the leader of the new wave of technology development. Talking about quantum computers.

Quantum computers yet exist more as a concept than in a full devices. In short the concept is this: the phenomena of quantum mechanics, a quantum computer can perform certain types of calculations much faster than usual. This, in particular, should help manufacturers of drugs and vehicles to develop new compounds and materials. (Read more about quantum computers can be read in the cards "Medusa").

Bloomberg notes that the total amount of funds that invest in Chinese government work in the field of quantum computing is unknown, but it is clear that we are talking about tens of billions of dollars. So, by 2020, in Hefei in Eastern China should open the national laboratory of quantum information technology, the construction of which the government has allocated 10 billion dollars.

For comparison, the U.S. allocated for research in this area about 200 million dollars a year. The contribution of the government "in this critical technology," it is not enough that the country remained competitive, warned the US House of representatives, technical Director, IBM Scott Crowder.

Beijing is actively helping their companies to obtain patents and trademarks worldwide. Because of this, says Bloomberg, China became known as second only to the U.S. "research engine" of the planet. According to the company, Patinformatics, in 2017 the total number of received patents and filed patent applications in the field of quantum computing, China has bypassed the United States.

This graph shows the total number of patents and patent applications related to Chinese and American organizations
Data: Patinformatics / Bloomberg

Executive Director of Patinformatics Tony Trippi told Bloomberg that the US and China focus on different aspects of quantum computing: are Americans likely to lead to the production of quantum computers, while China (and Japan) are focusing efforts on creating programs for them.

One of the areas in which useful quantum computation, encryption. The emergence of quantum computers should, on the one hand, to give rise to create "uncrackable" ciphers, and on the other to accelerate the break-in "normal". And based on the obtained patents, Chinese researchers actively working in this field.

In August 2016, China launched into orbit the world's first quantum satellite. A year later he was sent to Earth "uncrackable" cipher — it self-destructs at interception.


Source: https://meduza.io/feature/2018/04/09/kitay-obhodit-ssha-v-sfere-kvantovyh-kompyuterov-i-mozhet-stat-liderom-novoy-tehnologicheskoy-ery-bloomberg


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Новое в науке / Статьи
Гонка компьютерных вооружений: Китай обходит США
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 02-05-2018
Издание Bloomberg рассказало про еще одно соревнование двух крупнейших экономик мира — США и Китая. Победа в нем может оказаться даже важнее, чем победа в торговой войне. Это противостояние определит, кто будет лидером новой волны развития технологий. Речь о квантовых компьютерах.

Квантовые компьютеры пока существуют скорее в виде концепции, чем в виде полноценных устройств. Вкратце концепция такова: благодаря феноменам квантовой механики, квантовый компьютер может производить некоторые виды вычислений намного быстрее, чем обычный. Это, в частности, должно помочь производителям лекарств и автомобилей разрабатывать новые смеси и материалы. (Подробнее про квантовые компьютеры можно почитать в карточках «Медузы»).

Bloomberg отмечает, что общее количество средств, которые вкладывают китайские власти в работы в области квантовых вычислений, неизвестно, но понятно, что речь идет о десятках миллиардов долларов. Так, к 2020 году в городском округе Хэфэй на востоке Китая должна открыться Национальная лаборатория квантовых информационных технологий, на строительство которой правительство выделило 10 миллиардов долларов.

Данные: Patinformatics / Bloomberg
На этом графике приведено суммарное количество патентов и патентных заявок, связанных с китайскими и американскими организациями

Для сравнения: США выделяют на исследования в этой сфере около 200 миллионов долларов в год. Вклада правительства «в эту критически важную технологию» недостаточно, чтобы страна оставалась конкурентоспособной, предупреждал Палату представителей США технический директор IBM Скотт Краудер.

Пекин активно помогает своим компаниям получать патенты и торговые марки по всему миру. Благодаря этому, отмечает Bloomberg, Китай стали называть вторым после США «научным локомотивом» планеты. По данным компании Patinformatics, в 2017 году по суммарному количеству полученных патентов и поданных патентных заявок в сфере квантовых вычислений Китай обошел США.

Исполнительный директор Patinformatics Тони Триппи рассказал Bloomberg, что США и Китай делают упор на разные аспекты квантовых вычислений: американцы, скорее всего, будут лидировать в производстве квантовых компьютеров, тогда как Китай (и Япония) фокусируют усилия на создании программ под них.

Одно из направлений, в котором будут полезны квантовые вычисления, — шифрование. Появление квантовых компьютеров должно, с одной стороны, породить создание «невзламываемых» шифров, а с другой — ускорить взлом «обычных». И, судя по полученным патентам, китайские исследователи активно работают в этой сфере.

В августе 2016 года Китай запустил на орбиту Земли первый в мире квантовый спутник. Год спустя он отправил на Землю «невзламываемый» шифр — информация в нем самоуничтожается при перехвате.


Источник: https://meduza.io/feature/2018/04/09/kitay-obhodit-ssha-v-sfere-kvantovyh-kompyuterov-i-mozhet-stat-liderom-novoy-tehnologicheskoy-ery-bloomberg 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение