Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / New in Science / Articles
Scientists have added two new letters to the genetic code
Material posted: Publication date: 02-12-2017
As is known to encode a huge amount of information in the genetic code, used only 4 nucleic acids: adenine, guanine, thymine and cytosine. In the genetic code, they are indicated by the corresponding letters A, G, T and C. Thus, we can say that the "genetic alphabet" consists of 4 letters, and until recently it was believed that it cannot be changed, but a group of scientists from the SCRIPPS Institute for the first time managed to Supplement it with two new letters and leave it fully functioning.

In all living organisms the above-described nucleic acids are connected to each other, not anyhow, but according to the principle of complementarity. That is, they seem to "look" at each other, and opposite And must always be preceded by T, and opposite the l – TS, and nothing else. But that's half the battle. These letters need to "shape in words", which are called triplets – specific combinations, thanks to which happen all the highlights like the reading of the information encoding proteins and so on. Several years ago, the journal Science published an article which described the experience in which transfer RNA brought to DNA a new amino acid that has been recognized and embedded in the code. While this acid was the only one that had a pair and a new function not performed.

In the new finding, researchers from the company Synthorx used two new nitrogen bases (labeled X and Y). They are in a double-stranded DNA molecule, located opposite each other, as well as the standard 4 bases, but, unlike them, the "new letters" not connected by hydrogen bonds, and hydrophobic. And built two new grounds in the DNA of the bacteria, the latter to be able to play them, but these bacteria initially shared a little slower than usual and sometimes replaced by new DNA "traditional". Now derived bacteria, which easily reproduce the new DNA. You only have to come up with these letters new triplets.

"If you count how many combinations of triplets can be obtained having the four letters, we get 64 combinations, and by adding just two letters, we are expanding the number of possible genetic words to 216, and the result will be the ability to encode 172 amino acids that just opens up endless scope for bioengineering".

Vladimir Kuznetsov


Source: https://hi-news.ru/research-development/uchenye-dobavili-dve-novye-bukvy-v-geneticheskij-kod.html

Tags: science , medicine


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Новое в науке / Статьи
Ученые добавили две новые буквы в генетический код
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 02-12-2017
Как известно, для того чтобы закодировать огромный объем информации в генетическом коде, используется всего 4 нуклеиновых кислоты: аденин, гуанин, тимин и цитозин. В генетическом коде они обозначаются соответствующими буквами — А, Г, Т и Ц. Таким образом, можно сказать, что «генетический алфавит» состоит из 4 букв, и до последнего времени считалось, что изменить его нельзя, однако группа ученых из Института Скриппса впервые сумела дополнить его двумя новыми буквами и при этом оставить его полностью функционирующим.

У всех живых организмов вышеописанные нуклеиновые кислоты соединяются друг с другом не абы как, а по принципу комплиментарности. То есть они как бы «смотрят» друг на друга, причем напротив А всегда должен стоять Т, а напротив Г – Ц, и никак иначе. Но это еще полдела. Эти буквы должны «складываться в слова», которые носят название триплеты – особые комбинации, благодаря которым и происходят все основные моменты вроде считывания информации, кодирования белков и так далее. Несколько лет назад журнал Science опубликовал статью, в которой описывался опыт, в ходе которого транспортные РНК приносили к ДНК новую аминокислоту, которая была распознана и встраивалась в код. При этом эта кислота была лишь одна, не имела пары и новую функцию не выполняла.

В новом же изыскании исследователи из компании Synthorx использовали два новых азотистых основания (обозначенные X и Y). Они в двуцепочечной молекуле ДНК расположены друг напротив друга, как и стандартные 4 основания, но, в отличие от них, «новые буквы» соединяются не водородными связями, а гидрофобными. Причем, встроив два новых основания в ДНК бактерий, последние смогли их воспроизводить, но такие бактерии поначалу делились медленнее обычного и иногда заменяли новую ДНК «традиционной». Сейчас уже выведены бактерии, которые без проблем воспроизводят новую ДНК. Осталось только придумать для этих букв новые триплеты.

«Если посчитать, сколько комбинаций-триплетов можно получить, имея на руках четыре буквы, то мы получим 64 комбинации, причем, добавив всего лишь две буквы, мы расширяем число возможных генетических слов до 216, а в результате появится возможность кодировать еще 172 аминокислоты, что открывает просто бескрайний простор для биоинженерии».

Владимир Кузнецов


Источник: https://hi-news.ru/research-development/uchenye-dobavili-dve-novye-bukvy-v-geneticheskij-kod.html 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение