Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / New in Science / Articles
The Japanese have unveiled a prototype processor for exaflops supercomputer: what's inside the chip
Material posted: Publication date: 30-08-2018
Earlier we talked about the most powerful Japanese supercomputer for research in nuclear physics. Now in Japan exaflops create a supercomputer Post-K — the Japanese will be one of the first to start up the machine with a computational capacity.

Commissioning is scheduled for 2021.

Last week, Fujitsu said about the technical characteristics of the A64FX chip, which will form the basis of a new "machine". Tell me more about the chip and its capabilities.

Specifications A64FX

It is expected that computing power Post-K is almost ten times exceeds indicators of the most powerful existing supercomputers , the IBM Summit (as of June 2018).

Similar performance supercomputer must A64FX chip on the Arm architecture. This chip consists of 48 cores for carrying out computing operations and four cores to manage them. All of them are equally divided into four groups — Core Memory Groups (CMG).

Each group has 8 MB of L2 cache. It is associated with the memory controller and interface NoC ("network on chip"). NoC connects different CMG c controllers, PCIe and Tofu. The latter is responsible for communication of the processor with the rest of the system. The controller Tofu has ten ports with a bandwidth of 12.5 GB/s.

Scheme of the chip as follows:


The total amount of memory HBM2 the processor is 32 GB, and its capacity is equal to 1024 GB/s. At Fujitsu say that the processor performance on floating point operations amounts to 2.7 teraflops for 64-bit operations 5.4 teraflops for 32 bit and 10.8 teraflops — to 16-bit.

The creation of the Post-K was being watched by the resource editors of the Top500, which make up the list of the most powerful computing systems. In their estimation, to achieve performance in one exaflops in the supercomputer used by more than 370 thousand processors A64FX.

In the device for the first time applies the technology of vector extensions, called Scalable Vector Extension (SVE). It differs from other SIMD-architectures that do not limit the length of the vector registers, and sets them to valid range. SVE supports vectors with length from 128 to 2048 bits. So any program can be run on other processors that support SVE, without the need for recompilation.

With SVE (as it is a SIMD-function), the processor can simultaneously carry out calculations with multiple data arrays. Here is an example of one of these instructions for function NEON that was used for the vector calculations for other architectures, Arm processors:

vadd.i32 q1, q2, q3

It adds four 32-bit integers from 128-bit register q2 with corresponding numbers of 128-bit register q3 and writes the resulting array in q1. The equivalent of this operation in C looks like this:

for(i = 0; i < 4; i++) a[i] = b[i] + c[i];

Additionally, SVE supports the function of automatic vectorizing. Automatic vectorizer analyzes loops in your code and, if possible, he uses vector registers to perform them. This increases the performance of your code.

For example, a function in C:

void vectorize_this(unsigned int *a, unsigned int *b, unsigned int *c)
{ 
 unsigned int i; 
 for(i = 0; i < SIZE; i++) 
 { 
 a[i] = b[i] + c[i]; 
 } 
} 

It will be compiled as follows (for a 32-bit Arm processor):

104cc: ldr.w r3, [r4, #4]!
104d0: ldr.w r1, [r2, #4]!
104d4: cmp r4, r5 
104d6: add r3, r1 
104d8: str.w r3, [r0, #4]!
104dc: bne.n 104cc <vectorize_this+0xc> 

If you use the automatic tracing, it will look like this:

10780: vld1.64 {d18-d19}, [r5,:64] 10784: adds r6, #1 10786: cmp r6, r7 10788: add.w r5, r5, #16 1078c: vld1.32 {d16-d17}, [r4] 10790: vadd.i32 q8, q8, q9 10794: add.w r4, r4, #16 10798: vst1.32 {d16-d17}, [r3] 1079c: add.w r3, r3, #16 107a0: bcc.n 10780 <vectorize_this+0x70>

There is a download of the SIMD registers q8 and q9 to the data from the arrays referenced by r5 and r4. After that, the vadd instruction adds four 32-bit integers at a time. This increases the amount of code, but it is processed much more data for each iteration of the loop.

Who else creates exaflops supercomputers

Creating exaflops supercomputers are engaged not only in Japan. For example, work is also underway in China and the United States.

In China has created Tianhe-3 (Tianhe-3). Its prototype already tested at the National supercomputer center in Tianjin. The final version of the computer is planned to finish in 2020.


/ photo O01326 CC / Supercomputer Tianhe-2's predecessor, Tianhe-3

Based on Tianhe-3 are Chinese processors Phytium. The device contains 64 cores, has a capacity of 512 gigaflops and memory bandwidth in of 204.8 GB/s.

Working prototype created for the machine from the Sunway. He tested at the National supercomputer center in Jinan. According to the developers, the computer now has about 35 applications — is a biomedical simulation applications for processing big data, and programs to study climate change. It is expected that work on the computer will be completed in the first half of 2021.

As for the United States, the Americans are planning to create your exaflops computer by 2021. The project is called Aurora A21, and working on Argonne national laboratory U.S. Department of energy, as well as Intel and Cray.

This year researchers have selected ten projects for the Aurora program Early Science Program, which will be the first to benefit from new high performance system. Among them was the program to create a map of brain neurons, the study of dark matter and the development of a simulator of a particle accelerator.

Exaflops computers will make it possible to build complex models for research, so the establishment of such cars expect many research projects. One of the most ambitious Human Brain Project (HBP), the purpose of which is to create a full model of human brain research, and neuromorphic computing. How say scientists from the HBP, the use of new exaflops systems are from the very first days of their existence.


Source: https://habr.com/company/it-grad/blog/421439/


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Новое в науке / Статьи
Японцы представили прототип процессора для эксафлопсного суперкомпьютера: как устроен чип
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 30-08-2018
Ранее мы рассказывали о самом мощном японском суперкомпьютере для исследований в области ядерной физики. Сейчас в Японии создают эксафлопсный суперкомпьютер Post-K — японцы станут одними из первых, кто запустит в работу машину с такой вычислительной мощностью.

Ввод в эксплуатацию намечен на 2021 год.

На прошлой неделе компания Fujitsu рассказала о технических характеристиках чипа A64FX, который ляжет в основу новой «машины». Расскажем подробнее о чипе и его возможностях.

Технические характеристики A64FX

Ожидается, что вычислительные возможности Post-K почти в десять раз превысят показатели самого мощного из существующих суперкомпьютеров IBM Summit (по данным за июнь 2018).

Подобной производительностью суперкомпьютер обязан чипу A64FX на архитектуре Arm. Этот чип состоит из 48 ядер для проведения вычислительных операций и четырех ядер для управления ими. Все они равномерно разделены на четыре группы — Core Memory Groups (CMG).

Каждая группа имеет 8 МБ L2-кеша. Он связан с контроллером памяти и интерфейсом NoC («сеть на кристалле»). NoC соединяет между собой различные CMG c контроллерами PCIe и Tofu. Последний отвечает за связь процессора с остальной системой. У контроллера Tofu имеется десять портов с пропускной способностью в 12,5 ГБ/с.

Схема чипа выглядит следующим образом:


Суммарный объём памяти HBM2 у процессора составляет 32 гигабайта, а её пропускная способность равняется 1024 ГБ/с. В компании Fujitsu говорят, что производительность процессора на операциях с плавающей точкой достигает 2,7 терафлопс для 64-битных операций, 5,4 терафлопс — для 32-битных и 10,8 терафлопс — для 16-битных.

За созданием Post-K следят редакторы ресурса Top500, которые составляют список самых мощных вычислительных систем. По их оценке, для достижения производительности в один эксафлопс в суперкомпьютере используют более 370 тыс. процессоров A64FX.

В устройстве впервые применят технологию векторного расширения под названием Scalable Vector Extension (SVE). Она отличается от других SIMD-архитектур тем, что не ограничивает длину векторных регистров, а задает для них допустимый диапазон. SVE поддерживает векторы длиной от 128 до 2048 бит. Так любую программу можно запустить на других процессорах, поддерживающих SVE, без необходимости перекомпиляции.

При помощи SVE (так как это SIMD-функция) процессор может одновременно проводить вычисления с несколькими массивами данных. Вот пример одной из таких инструкций для функции NEON, которая использовалась для векторных вычислений в других архитектурах процессоров Arm:

vadd.i32 q1, q2, q3

Она складывает четыре 32-битных целых числа из 128-битного регистра q2 с соответствующими числами в 128-битном регистре q3 и пишет результирующий массив в q1. Эквивалент этой операции на языке C выглядит так:

for(i = 0; i < 4; i++) a[i] = b[i] + c[i];

Дополнительно SVE поддерживает функцию автовекторизации. Автоматический векторизатор анализирует циклы в коде и, если возможно, сам использует векторные регистры для их выполнения. Это повышает производительность кода.

Например, функция на C:

void vectorize_this(unsigned int *a, unsigned int *b, unsigned int *c)
{
  unsigned int i;
  for(i = 0; i < SIZE; i++)
  {
    a[i] = b[i] + c[i];
  }
}

Она будет скомпилирована следующим образом (для 32-битного процессора Arm):

104cc: ldr.w   r3, [r4, #4]!
104d0: ldr.w   r1, [r2, #4]!
104d4: cmp     r4, r5
104d6: add     r3, r1
104d8: str.w   r3, [r0, #4]!
104dc: bne.n   104cc <vectorize_this+0xc>

Если же задействовать автовекторизацию, то выглядеть это будет так:

10780: vld1.64 {d18-d19}, [r5 :64] 10784: adds r6, #1 10786: cmp r6, r7 10788: add.w r5, r5, #16 1078c: vld1.32 {d16-d17}, [r4] 10790: vadd.i32 q8, q8, q9 10794: add.w r4, r4, #16 10798: vst1.32 {d16-d17}, [r3] 1079c: add.w r3, r3, #16 107a0: bcc.n 10780 <vectorize_this+0x70>

Здесь происходит загрузка SIMD-регистров q8 и q9 с данными из массивов, на которые указывают r5 и r4. После чего инструкция vadd складывает по четыре 32-битных целых значения за раз. Это увеличивает объем кода, но так обрабатывается гораздо больше данных за каждую итерацию цикла.

Кто еще создает эксафлопсные суперкомпьютеры

Созданием эксафлопсных суперкомпьютеров занимаются не только в Японии. Например, работы также ведутся в Китае и США.

В Китае создают Тяньхэ-3 (Tianhe-3). Его прототип уже тестируется в Национальном суперкомпьютерном центр в Тяньцзине. Финальную версию компьютера планируется закончить в 2020 году.


/ фото O01326 CC / Суперкомпьютер Тяньхэ-2 — предшественник Тяньхэ-3

В основе Тяньхэ-3 лежат китайские процессоры Phytium. Устройство содержит 64 ядра, имеет производительность в 512 гигафлопс и пропускную способность памяти в 204,8 ГБ/с.

Работающий прототип создан и для машины из серии Sunway. Он тестируется в Национальном суперкомпьютерном центре в Цзинане. По словам разработчиков, на компьютере сейчас функционирует около 35 приложений — это биомедицинские симуляторы, приложения для обработки больших данных, и программы для изучения климатических изменений. Ожидается, что работа над компьютером будет завершена в первой половине 2021.

Что касается Соединённых штатов, то американцы планируют создать свой эксафлопсный компьютер к 2021 году. Проект называется Aurora A21, и над ним работают Аргоннская национальная лаборатория Министерства энергетики США, а также компании Intel и Cray.

В этом году исследователи уже отобрали десять проектов для программы Aurora Early Science Program, участники которой смогут первыми воспользоваться новой высокопроизводительной системой. Среди них оказались программы по созданию карты нейронов мозга, изучению темной материи и разработке симулятора ускорителя частиц.

Эксафлопсные компьютеры сделают возможным построение сложных моделей для исследований, поэтому создания таких машин ожидают многие научные проекты. Один из самых амбициозных — Human Brain Project (HBP), цель которого заключается в создании полной модели человеческого мозга и исследовании нейроморфных вычислений. Как говорят ученые из HBP, применение новым эксафлопсным системам найдется с первых же дней их существования.


Источник: https://habr.com/company/it-grad/blog/421439/ 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение