Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Articles
New algorithms help you assess and organize scientific literature in automatic mode
Material posted: Publication date: 27-04-2013

To remain at the cutting edge of modern science, to be aware of all the last of its achievements is today an extremely complex task even in any specialized area. Daily media outlets publish thousands of scientific articles, research results and papers to read, much less assimilate the information contained in them, not a single person in the world how clever he is.

To address the problem of huge amount of information, researchers from North Carolina state University have developed a computer program that automatically can evaluate, organize and sort all the scientific literature and publications, giving them links only to the most relevant and reliable sources of information.

Using algorithms of deep text analysis program lays out the priorities for further reference all research work that falls within its field of view. Selected works are placed in a specialized thematic database, such as database Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD), a database with open access, which contains information on the influence of various chemical agents on the genome of the human body that affects the health of present and will affect the health of future generations.

"One topic of the health effects of toxic heavy metals from 1926 was published more than 33 thousand scientific papers" explains Dr. Allan Peter Davis (Dr. Allan Peter Davis), one of the leaders of the CTD project, "Even if we maximize our efforts we will not be able to read the entire volume of these works and to choose from them only the most important information. Fortunately, now, it successfully can make our new algorithms".

As mentioned above, to select the most important publications used algorithms in-depth analysis of the text. The program compares the texts of many thousands of articles, determines the coincidences and facts that is expressed in a digital measure of scientific "weight" of each document on the basis of which the decision on inclusion in a common database. "The algorithm does not work with this particular article, he can work effectively with large sets of articles, but in this case it is very reliably separates the wheat from the chaff, so to speak," says Thomas Vigers (Thomas Wiegers), one of the researchers in the field of bioinformatics.

To check the operability of the developed algorithms the researchers selected 15 thousand articles and sent out the team of qualified reviewers, who after finding they had to choose the most important documents. "The results were impressive," says Dr. Davis, "the Reviewers made a choice that matched 85% with a selection made by the computer. Only the computer made my choice much faster people."

The use of estimation algorithms of scientific articles will allow scientists to save time and raise your work efficiency by at least 30 percent. "This technology will allow you to save huge amount of precious time," explains Dr. Davis, - "Thanks to our technology we can more effectively use the resources of entire research teams, enabling the scientists to work only with documents containing the maximum possible amount of relevant information".

Naturally, as in any algorithm, the algorithms evaluating the scientific literature there are anomalies, when a high rate is assigned to the article that person is the reviewer dismisses as not important. The researchers conducted a thorough analysis of the texts of "abnormal" articles and identified the reasons why the program took a wrong decision. "Now we can make corrections in our algorithms, after which the system will work as accurately as possible".

"We are still far from the stage where the computer will be able to read literature, publications, and work independently only extracting all the important data and presents it in readable form," says Davis, "But we have realized a deep analysis of the text is a big step forward in this direction."


Source: http://www.dailytechinfo.org/infotech/4747-novye-algoritmy-pomogayut-ocenit-i-uporyadochit-nauchnuyu-literaturu-v-avtomaticheskom-rezhime.html


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Статьи
Новые алгоритмы помогают оценить и упорядочить научную литературу в автоматическом режиме
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 27-04-2013

Оставаться на "острие" современной науки, быть в курсе всех последних ее достижений является на сегодняшний день очень сложной задачей даже в какой-либо узкоспециализированной области. Ежедневно в различных изданиях публикуются сотни тысяч научных статей, результатов исследований и трудов, прочесть которые, а тем более усвоить содержащуюся в них информацию, не может ни один человек на свете, насколько бы умным он не был.

Для решения вышеупомянутой проблемы, связанной с огромным количеством информации, исследователи из Университета Северной Каролины разработали компьютерную программу, которая в автоматическом режиме может оценить, упорядочить и отсортировать всю научную литературу и публикации, предоставив людям ссылки только на наиболее значимые и достоверные источники информации.

Используя алгоритмы глубокого анализа текста программа раскладывает по приоритетам для дальнейшего ознакомления все научно-исследовательские работы, попадающие в ее поле зрения. Отобранные работы помещаются в специализированные тематические базы данных, такие как база Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD), база данных с открытым доступом, в которой содержится информация о влиянии различных химических препаратов на геном человеческого организма, что отражается на здоровье нынешнего и отразится на здоровье будущих поколений людей.

"По одной тематике воздействия на здоровье токсичных тяжелых металлов с 1926 года было опубликовано более 33 тысяч научных работ" - объясняет доктор Аллан Питер Дэвис (Dr. Allan Peter Davis), один из руководителей проекта CTD, - "Даже приложив максимум усилий мы не сможем прочесть весь объем этих работ и выбрать из них только самую важную информацию. К счастью, теперь с этим успешно могут справиться наши новые алгоритмы".

Как уже говорилось выше, для выбора самых значимых публикаций используются алгоритмы глубокого анализа текста. Программа сравнивает тексты сразу многих тысяч статей, определяет совпадения и факты, что выражается в цифровом показателе научного "веса" каждого документа на основании которого принимается решение о включении его в общую базу. "Алгоритм не работает с одной отдельно взятой статьей, он эффективно может работать с большими наборами статей, но в этом случае он очень надежно отделяет зерна от плевел, если можно так выразиться" - рассказывает Томас Виджерс (Thomas Wiegers), один из исследователей в области биоинформатики.

Для проверки работоспособности созданных алгоритмов исследователи отобрали 15 тысяч статей и оправили из команде квалифицированных рецензентов, которые вычитав их должны были выбрать самые важные документы. "Результаты оказались внушительны" - рассказывает доктор Дэвис, - "Рецензенты сделали выбор, совпавший на 85 процентов с выбором, сделанным компьютером. Только компьютер сделал свой выбор гораздо быстрее людей".

Использование алгоритмов оценки научных статей позволит ученым сэкономить время и поднять эффективность своего труда минимум на 30 процентов. "Это технология позволит сэкономить огромное количество драгоценного времени" - объясняет доктор Дэвис, - "Благодаря нашей технологии мы можем гораздо эффективнее использовать ресурсы целых научных команд, предоставив ученым возможность работать только с документами, содержащими максимально возможное количество релевантной информации".

Естественно, как и в работе любого алгоритма, в работе алгоритмов оценки научной литературы бывают аномалии, когда высокий показатель назначается статье, которую человек-рецензент отклоняет как не важную. Исследователи провели тщательный анализ текстов "аномальных" статей и определили причины, по которым программа принимала ошибочные решения. "Теперь мы можем внести коррекции в наши алгоритмы, после чего система начнет работать максимально точно".

"Нам еще далеко до той стадии, когда компьютер сам сможет прочесть литературу, публикации и работы, самостоятельно извлекая только все важные данные и предоставляя их в удобном для восприятия виде" - рассказывает Дэвис, - "Но реализованный нами глубокий анализ текста является большим шагом вперед в этом направлении".


Источник: http://www.dailytechinfo.org/infotech/4747-novye-algoritmy-pomogayut-ocenit-i-uporyadochit-nauchnuyu-literaturu-v-avtomaticheskom-rezhime.html


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество