Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Weekdays
About the new head of RAND
Material posted: Publication date: 29-06-2022
According to Michael Leiter, Chairman of the RAND Board of Trustees, Jason Matheny will be President and CEO of RAND Corporation effective July 5.

The RAND board reviewed almost 200 potential leaders from a wide variety of professional and personal circles. «Jason's vision, intellectual leadership, research experience and innovative mindset really set him apart," Leiter said.

Matheny changedMichael Rich, who has led RAND since 2011, co-authored the book Truth Decay ("The Disintegration of Truth"), the first study in an ongoing series of studies that examines how the diminishing role of facts and analysis in American public life, among other problems, has led to the erosion of civil discourse and political paralysis. Matheny was named one of the "50 Global Thinkers of 2017" by Foreign Policy.

The journal noted:Mateni's field of activity covers complex research topics, including quantum computing, biological weapons, nuclear proliferation, and neuroscience. Matheny's tortuous career path in the US government began in 2002, when he conducted Academic Public Health project on the epidemiology of malaria, Tuberculosis and HIV in India. In the middle of the trip, it became known that scientists in New York had developed the very first polio virus from scratch- "mainly to demonstrate that it could be done," explains Matheny, a biology specialist— by preparing it from raw chemicals (including mail—ordered DNA) in the laboratory. The consequences of this breakthrough alarmed Matheny, because they proved that now people can create deadly biological weapons, intentionally or accidentally, from materials that can usually be found in a laboratory.

Therefore, Matheny began advising the Pentagon on biological threats, working in various positions until he was appointed director in 2015 Agencies of Advanced Research Projects in the Field of Intelligence (IARPA).

IARPA has been created since 2006 on the initiative of the first director of National Intelligence, John Negroponte, and was launched in 2007 under the next director, Michael McConnell. The reform of the intelligence community, which resulted in the creation of the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI), was the area of conflict between US Vice President Richard Cheney and Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld with the CIA elite.

Prior to the creation of the post of Director of National Intelligence, the head of the US intelligence community was the director of the CIA – the Director of Central Intelligence. The Cheney-Rumsfeld team sought to shift the main intelligence powers from the CIA to military structures, including the NSA, RUMO, etc. IARPA united the NSA's Bureau of Destructive Technologies, the National Technology Alliance of the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency and the CIA's Intelligence Technology Innovation Center, i.e. John Negroponte, immediately took control of two military structures, taking them from Cheney-Rumsfeld.

The chairman of the RAND Board of Trustees, Michael Leiter, who elected Matheny, served as Deputy Chief of Staff at ODNI under Negropont and McConnell.

In this role, Leiter assisted in the creation of ODNI and coordinated all internal and external operations of ODNI, including relations with the White House, the Ministry of Defense, the State Department, the CIA, etc. Then (from 10.11.2007 to 08.07.2011) Leiter was the director of the US National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC).

He took a position in the administration of George W. Bush, retained it in the administration of Barack Obama when John Brennan, acting director of the NCTC (2004-2005) became an adviser to the President on combating terrorism.

After his departure from NCTC in 2011, Leiter joined Palantir Technologies as a senior advisor to the CEO Alex Karp. In this capacity, he was elected to the RAND Board of Trustees in 2012. A month ago Karp visited Ukraine.


Source: https://t.me/shadow_policy 


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Рабочие будни
О новом руководителе RAND
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 29-06-2022
По словам Майкла Лейтера, председателя попечительского совета RAND, с 5 июля президентом и гендиректором корпорации RAND будет Джейсон Мэтени.

Правление RAND рассмотрело почти 200 потенциальных лидеров из самых разных профессиональных и личных кругов. «Видение Джейсона, интеллектуальное лидерство, исследовательский опыт и инновационный склад ума действительно выделяют его», – сказал Лейтер.

Мэтени сменил Майкла Рича, который возглавлял RAND с 2011 года, став соавтором книги Truth Decay («Распад Истины»), первого исследования в продолжающейся серии исследований, в которых рассматривается, как уменьшение роли фактов и анализа в американской общественной жизни, среди прочих проблем, привело к эрозии гражданского дискурса и политическому параличу. Мэтени был назван одним из «50 глобальных мыслителей 2017 года» по версии Foreign Policy.

В журнале отмечалось: Сфера деятельности Мэтени охватывает сложные исследовательские темы, включая квантовые вычисления, биологическое оружие, распространение ядерного оружия и нейробиологию. Извилистый карьерный путь Мэтени в правительстве США начался в 2002 году, когда он проводил академический проект общественного здравоохранения по эпидемиологии малярии, туберкулеза и ВИЧ в Индии. В середине поездки стало известно, что ученые в Нью-Йорке разработали самый первый вирус полиомиелита с нуля — «главным образом для того, чтобы продемонстрировать, что это можно сделать», — объясняет Матени, специалист по биологии, — приготовив его из сырых химических веществ (включая ДНК, заказанную по почте) в лаборатории. Последствия этого прорыва встревожили Мэтени, поскольку доказали, что теперь люди могут создавать смертоносное биологическое оружие, намеренно или случайно, из материалов, которые обычно можно найти в лаборатории.

Поэтому Мэтени начал консультировать Пентагон по вопросам биологических угроз, работая на разных должностях, пока в 2015 году не был назначен директором Агентства передовых исследовательских проектов в сфере разведки (IARPA).

IARPA создавалось с 2006 года по инициативе первого директора Нацразведки Джона Негропонте и заработало в 2007 году при следующем директоре – Майкле Макконнелле. Реформа разведывательного сообщества, в результате которой было создано Управление директора национальной разведки (ODNI), была сферой конфликта вице- президента США Ричарда Чейни и министра обороны Дональда Рамсфельда с элитой ЦРУ.

До создания должности директора национальной разведки руководителем разведсообщества США был директор ЦРУ – директор Центральной разведки. Команда Чейни-Рамсфельда стремилась перетянуть основные разведывательные полномочия от ЦРУ к военным структурам, включая АНБ, РУМО и т.д. IARPA объединило Бюро разрушительных технологий АНБ, Национальный технологический альянс Национального агентства геопространственной разведки и Инновационный центр разведывательных технологий ЦРУ. Т.е. Джон Негропонте, сразу взял под контроль две военные структуры, забрав их у Чейни-Рамсфельда.

Председатель попечительского совета RAND Майкл Лейтер, выбравший Мэтени, занимал должность заместителя начальника штаба в ODNI при Негропонте и Макконнелле.

В этой роли Лейтер помогал в создании ODNI и координировал все внутренние и внешние операции ODNI, включая отношения с Белым домом, Минобороны, Госдепартаментом, ЦРУ и др. Далее (с 10.11.2007 по 08.07.2011) Лейтер был директором Национального контртеррористического центра США (NCTC).

Занял должность в администрации Джорджа Буша-младшего, сохранил в администрации Барака Обамы, когда Джон Бреннан, и.о. директора NCTC (2004-2005) стал советником президента по борьбе с терроризмом.

После своего ухода из NCTC в 2011 году Лейтер присоединился к Palantir Technologies в качестве старшего советника гендиректора Алекса Карпа. В этом качестве был избран в попечительский совет RAND в 2012 году. Месяц назад Карп посетил Украину.


Источник: https://t.me/shadow_policy 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество