Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Other
Features of the preparation and use of analytical materials
Material posted: Publication date: 17-07-2013

The threefold task of our virtual discussion is to discuss the differences of analytical materials from journalism, to find out the specifics of production Analytics for the media and eventually to prepare their own analytical materials.

This is discussed below the production preparation process analysts, and customer, genre features and guidelines, as well as technique work. Since the analyst is most likely to exist in text form, I suggest, for simplicity, be considered “analysis” article that addresses a problem.

Analytics and journalism: production differences

Immediately need to mention that we will talk about the ideal differences which are typically masked in reality. Next, we are interested in the modern type of public analysts for media, which combines the features of traditional journalism and information exploration, but preliminary it is necessary to distinguish several essential features of journalistic production and Analytics.

Journalism:

  • The journalist works within the ACC. the law on mass media, which implies the legal responsibility for their content
  • Journalist modern media works publicly and often for a projected audience

First, due to particularities of production, journalist (together with the editors) usually at risk of prosecution. To minimize this risk, the professional journalism has developed a “ritual of objectivity” that allows the journalist to Express their own opinions and are to blame for content material on external sources. For this widely used opinions of experts, officials, encyclopedias, press releases, etc. (Tuchman, 1972)

Analytics:

  • Special legislative framework for the production analysts usually no
  • The analyst often works as a non-public and for specific customer (gosudarstvo, private company, NGO)

As in the case of journalism, these features generate form a certain professional culture. Typically the customer expects from the analyst as a time independent view of a particular issue and presenting different points of view of experts, as often practiced in the media. This is due to the aim of the order: to obtain information on which decisions can be made (in the public administration, politics or business).

As a consequence, the main requirement for the analytical product is the usefulness and not the controversial material, as often happens in journalism. The analytical material should solve the problem and save the customer's time and not to give him any reason to think or a good time. A type of Analytics can be considered an information service of strategic intelligence, which still operates under different names in military and special services of the States (Platt, 1958), as well as in the security services businesses in the form of competitive intelligence (Doronin, 2003).

The principle of publicity and its practical implications

The production of journalism and intelligence have practical implications. So, you should expect that journalists in the mass – will try not to Express their own opinions, and to transfer the responsibility for a more authoritative source: expert, official document etc. furthermore, if the journalist works for a busy schedule and in a particular political situation, then we should expect that the range of topics and sources of information will narrow. A typical example of this rule – the majority of Belarusian governmental and non-governmental publications.

In turn, the analyst's work ethic makes him cautious when speaking in public, because in this case it is automatically subject to both written and unwritten laws (morality). In the case of the speeches in the newspaper, radio or TV program analyst instinctively begins to smooth out the rough edges and use a formalized Aesopian language “modernization”, “reform” and “cost optimization” and other politically correct rpm or hints. Therefore, when working with analytical products or in conversation with the analyst should always be asking, in what area and with what clients it works. The answers to these questions will allow a better understanding of the meaning and decipher the statements of the analyst.

The difference in legal responsibilities of the journalist and analyst is reflected in the work with sources of information. So, in the analyst is allowed and sometimes even encouraged the analysis of rumors, insider or other confidential and sensitive for the reputation of the object of analysis of the sources. Since the final product is likely to be available to a limited circle of persons, the author has analysts appears greater scope for conclusions.

Conversely, if the analytical product, not originally intended for the General public, still gets in the media, the author risks at least their reputation. In such cases the indictment the main argument by the public is (excessive) pragmatism and frankness of the author – just the qualities that appreciates the customer Analytics. The classic example of this moral conflict, the treatise “Sovereign” N. Machiavelli, more modern example is the reaction to the revelation of some diplomatic representatives in the American Embassy dispatches, published by Wikileaks. The example of Belarus from 2007 – leak from the IAC notes on information policy of the state.

Analyst in the media: Belarusian examples

Above we have discussed the ideal differences between intelligence and journalism. In reality, these genres usually are intertwined – especially in today's popular media Analytics. As a consequence, the analyst is forced to consider the canons of journalism: be ready to bear legal responsibility for the content and to focus not on the individual customer and a wider audience of readers.

In addition, analysts are actively using other valuable groundwork from the areas of journalism – from the structure of the text, writing style and content visualization to fashion promotion in social networks. In recent years in Belarus there are many new analytical media projects. Here are some of them in alphabetical order:

Offer for example to consider weekly monitoring (pdf) of the informational Bureau of solidarity with democratic Belarus. The product is the monitoring of events of the week in the sphere of economy, politics, international relations and contains thematic regional review. The file is sent to subscribers on Mondays, and on the project website published an adapted version of the monitoring, tailored to the canons of journalism.

If you look at the structure of a single material, we can see that the editors follow the principle of “inverted pyramid” *. This principle assumes that the main argument of the text comes first and the least important at the end. In turn, each paragraph of text is based on the same principle: in the first sentence usually contains the main argument, which is then disclosed in more detail. This, of course, the General rule that, if necessary, can be violated.

Another example is the materials of the Agency of political expertise, which operates at the Belarusian Institute for strategic studies. The Agency produces three main products:

  • Review (reasoned opinion on a particular issue, event),
  • Review (trend analysis, environmental problem or event)
  • Release (presentation for mass media of activity of the partner Agency)

If the border between the Commentary and the Review is rather arbitrary, the format of the Release suggests objective presentation of another point of view. The releases are designed to inform customers of the Agency, as well as a wider expert and journalistic community about new research, held round tables, presentations and other events in Belarusian and international intellectual industry. The standard Comment is 7-8 thousand characters with spaces, the Review may be (substantially) more, and Release – about 5 thousand characters with spaces.

Another example of the Belarusian analytical product – “an Express examination”. The product exists in the form of a short comment that is issued by a website of the expert community of Belarus “Our opinion”. Express review analyst suggests the answer to a question, the amount of text is usually in the range of 2-3 thousand characters.

The process of production analysts

As in journalism, the analytic work the important role played by consultation with the editor, during which usually discusses the topic, format and volume of material, and also used sources of information. Practice shows that in Analytics usually are not welcome the canons of satirical journalism, namely literariness of the writing or the moral claims of the author. As noted above, the purpose of Analytics is to solve the problem and save the customer's time. Therefore, among the journalistic genres closest to Analytics is business journalism.

Typical examples of topics for analytical material. Each of these topics can be narrowed or expanded depending on the format:

  • assess the international reaction to the event (the sale of Beltransgaz, the meeting of the Council of Ministers of the Union state, ...)
  • to predict the behavior of the authorities and workers during the next strike
  • to assess the stability of the financial system and to propose scenarios of the monetary policy of the state
  • to predict the actions of the authorities, the opposition, observers and neighboring countries during the active phase of the election campaign
  • to assess the impact of NPP construction on the economy of Belarus and of the region.

The problem of sources of information is particularly relevant for Belarus. In the case of media analysis has the same limitations as for conventional media – ACC. the laws and the informal rules of communication with sources. For example, there is a reasoned opinion that Belarusian officials are reluctant to give comments to the media. On the other hand, there is ample evidence, as they share valuable information off the record, and this is confirmed by the examples of successful work of some analysts.

With regard to the manufacturing routine, for the analytic characteristic regular work with statistical data. Equally important are regular media monitoring and production of analytical colleagues on the shop floor. This work especially facilitate modern means, from RSS readers and mailing lists to projects based on open data. **

Notes:

* According to the legend, the principle of the inverted pyramid was invented by an American journalists who passed received his telegram. The relationship left much to be desired, the tape could break, so the most important information needed to pass first time. This principle has been successfully applied in the preparation of articles in The New York Times and other publications.

** Learn more about open data, see the "Hidden capital of open data".

Sources used:

  • Platt V. Information strategic of intelligence work. Basic principles. Moscow, 1958.
  • Doronin A. Business intelligence. Moscow, 2003.
  • Tuchman, G. (1972). Objectivity as strategic ritual: An examination of newsmen''s notions of objectivity. The American Journal of Sociology, 77(4), 660-679.

Alexey Medvetsky

Source: http://opendata.by/?p=1736

 


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Разное
Особенности подготовки и использования аналитических материалов
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 17-07-2013

Тройственная задача нашей виртуальной дискуссии состоит в том, чтобы обсудить отличия аналитических материалов от журналистских продуктов, выяснить особенности производства аналитики для СМИ и в конце концов подготовить собственные аналитические материалы.

Для этого ниже обсуждается производственный процесс подготовки аналитики, отношения автора и заказчика, жанровые особенности и руководящие принципы, а также техника работы. Поскольку аналитика чаще всего существует в виде текста, то предлагаю для простоты считать “аналитикой” статью, посвященную некой проблеме.

Аналитика и журналистика: производственные отличия

Сразу нужно оговориться, что речь пойдет об идеальных отличиях, которые обычно затушевываются в реальности. Далее нас будет интересовать современный тип публичной аналитики для СМИ, которая объединяет в себе черты традиционной журналистики и информационной разведки, но предварительно следует выделить несколько основных отличительных особенностей производства журналистски и аналитики.

Журналистика:

  • Журналист работает в рамках соотв. законодательства о СМИ, что подразумевает юридическую ответственность за свои материалы
  • Журналист современного СМИ работает публично и чаще всего для абстрактной аудитории

Вследствие первой особенности производства, журналист (вместе с редакцией) обычно подвергается риску судебного преследования. Для минимизации этого риска журналистика выработала профессиональный “ритуал объективности”, который позволяет журналисту не высказывать собственное мнение и переложить ответственность за содержание материала на внешние источники. Для этого активно используются мнения экспертов, официальных лиц, энциклопедии, пресс-релизы и т.д. (Tuchman, 1972)

Аналитика:

  • Специальных законодательных рамок для производства аналитики обычно нет
  • Аналитик чаще всего работает непублично и для конкретного заказчика (госведомство, частная компания, НГО)

Как и в случае с журналистикой, эти особенности производства аналитики формируют определенную профессиональную культуру. Обычно заказчик ожидает от аналитика как раз самостоятельного мнения по конкретной проблеме, а не изложения разных точек зрения экспертов, как это часто практикуется в СМИ. Это объясняется целью заказа: получить информацию, на основе которой можно принимать решения (в госуправлении, политике или бизнесе).

Как следствие, главным требованием к аналитическому продукту является полезность, а не дискуссионность материала, как часто бывает в журналистике. Аналитический материал должен решать поставленную задачу и экономить время заказчика, а не давать ему повод для раздумий или приятного времяпрепровождения. Прообразом аналитики можно считать информационную службу стратегической разведки, которая до сих пор под разными названиями действует в военных и специальных службах государств (Плэтт, 1958), а также в службах безопасности предприятий в виде конкурентной разведки (Доронин, 2003).

Принцип публичности и его практические следствия

Отмеченные особенности производства журналистики и аналитики имеют практические последствия. Так, следует ожидать, что журналисты – в массе своей – будут стараться не высказывать собственное мнение, а переносить ответственность за выводы на более авторитетный источник: эксперта, официальный документ и т.д. Более того, если журналист работает в напряженном графике и в определенной политической ситуации, то следует ожидать, что круг тем и источников информации будет сужаться. Типичный пример этого правила – большинство белорусских государственных и негосударственных изданий.

В свою очередь, производственная этика аналитика заставляет его осторожничать при выступлении на публике, поскольку в этом случае он автоматически подпадает под действие как писаных, так и неписаных законов (морали). В случае выступления в газете, в радио- или телепрограмме аналитик инстинктивно начинает сглаживать острые углы и использовать формализованный эзопов язык: “модернизация”, “реформы”, “оптимизация расходов” и другие политкорректные обороты или намеки. Поэтому при работе с аналитическими продуктами или в беседе с аналитиком всегда следует задаваться вопросом о том, в какой сфере и с какими заказчиками он работает. Ответы на эти вопросы позволят лучше понять смысл и расшифровать заявления аналитика.

Разница в юридической ответственности журналиста и аналитика отражается и на работе с источниками информации. Так, в аналитике вполне допустим и иногда даже приветствуется разбор слухов, инсайда или других конфиденциальных и чувствительных для репутации объекта анализа источников. Поскольку итоговый продукт скорее всего будет доступен ограниченному кругу лиц, то у автора аналитики появляется больший простор для выводов.

И наоборот, если аналитический продукт, изначально не предназначенный для широкой публики, все же попадает в СМИ, то автор рискует как минимум своей репутацией. В таких случаях главным обвинительным аргументом со стороны широкой публики является (чрезмерный) прагматизм и откровенность автора – как раз те качества, которые ценит заказчик аналитики. Классический пример такой моральной коллизии трактат “Государь” Н. Макиавелли, более современный пример – реакция на откровения ряда диппредставителей в депешах американских посольств, опубликованных Wikileaks. Белорусский пример из 2007 года – утечка из ИАЦ записки об информационной политике государства.

Аналитика в СМИ: белорусские примеры

Выше были рассмотрены идеальные отличия аналитики и журналистики. В реальности эти жанры обычно переплетаются – особенно в популярной сегодня сфере медийной аналитики. Как следствие, аналитик вынужден в своей работе учитывать каноны журналистики: быть готовым нести юридическую ответственность за содержание материалов и ориентироваться не на индивидуального заказчика, а на более широкую аудиторию читателей.

Кроме этого, аналитики активно используют другие ценные наработки из сферы журналистики – от структуры текста, стиля письма и визуализации материала до модного продвижения в социальных сетях. За последние годы в Беларуси появилось много новых аналитических медиа-проектов. Вот некоторые из них в алфавитном порядке:

Предлагаю для примера рассмотреть еженедельный мониторинг (pdf) Информбюро солидарности с демократической Беларусью. Продукт представляет собой мониторинг событий недели в сфере экономики, политики, международных отношений и содержит тематический региональный обзор. Файл рассылается подписчикам по понедельникам, а на сайте проекта публикуется адаптированная версия мониторинга, созданная с учетом канонов журналистики.

Если посмотреть на структуру отдельного материала, то можно заметить, что в редакции следуют принципу “перевернутой пирамиды” *. Этот принцип предполагает, что главный аргумент текста идет сначала, а наименее важный – в самом конце. В свою очередь, каждый абзац текста строится по такому же принципу: в первом предложении обычно содержится главный аргумент, который затем раскрывается более подробно. Это, разумеется, общее правило, которое может при необходимости нарушаться.

Другой пример – материалы Агентства политической экспертизы, которое действует при Белорусском институте стратегических исследований. Агентство производит три основных продукта:

  • Комментарий (аргументированное мнение по конкретной проблеме, событию),
  • Обзор (анализ тенденции, окружающей проблему или событие)
  • Релиз (изложение для СМИ деятельности партнера агентства)

Если граница между Комментарием и Обзором достаточно условна, то формат Релиза предполагает объективное изложение чужой точки зрения. Релизы предназначены для того, чтобы информировать клиентов агентства, а также более широкое экспертное и журналистское сообщество о появлении новых исследований, состоявшихся круглых столах, презентациях и др. событиях в белорусской и зарубежной интеллектуальной индустрии. Стандартный объем Комментария составляет 7-8 тыс. знаков с пробелами, Обзор может быть (существенно) больше, а Релиз – около 5 тыс. знаков с пробелами.

Еще один пример белорусского аналитического продукта – “экспресс-экспертиза”. Продукт существует в виде короткого комментария, который выпускается сайтом экспертного сообщества Беларуси “Наше мнение”. Экспресс-комментарий предполагает ответ аналитика на поставленный вопрос, объем текста обычно находится в пределах 2-3 тыс. знаков.

Процесс производства аналитики

Как и в журналистике, в аналитической работе важную роль играет консультация с редактором, в ходе которой обычно обсуждается тема, формат и объем материала, а также используемые источники информации. Практика показывает, что в аналитике обычно не приветствуются каноны фельетонной публицистики, а именно литературность письма или моральные притязания автора. Как отмечалось выше, цель аналитики в том, чтобы решить поставленную задачу и сэкономить время заказчика. Поэтому среди журналистских жанров ближе всего к аналитике находится деловая журналистика.

Типичные примеры темы для аналитического материала. Каждая из этих тем может сужаться или расширяться в зависимости от формата:

  • оценить международную реакцию на событие (продажа Белтрансгаза, заседание Совмина Союзного государства, …)
  • дать прогноз поведения властей и рабочих во время очередной забастовки
  • оценить устойчивость финансовой системы и предложить сценарии валютной политики государства
  • спрогнозировать действия властей, оппозиции, наблюдателей и соседних стран во время активной фазы избирательной кампании
  • оценить последствия строительства АЭС для экономики Беларуси и региона и др.

Проблема источников информации особенно актуальна для Беларуси. В случае с медийной аналитикой действуют те же ограничения, что и для обычных СМИ – соотв. нормы законодательства, а также неформальные правила общения с источниками. Например, существует аргументированное мнение, что белорусские чиновники с большой неохотой дают комментарии для СМИ. С другой стороны, есть достаточно свидетельств того, как они делятся ценной информацией off the record, и это подтверждается примерами успешной работы некоторых аналитиков.

Что касается производственной рутины, то для аналитики характерна регулярная работа со статистическими данными. Не менее важен регулярный мониторинг СМИ и продукции коллег по аналитическому цеху. Эту работу особенно облегчают современные технические средства, от RSS-ридеров и почтовых рассылок до проектов, основанных на открытых данных. **

Примечания:

* Согласно легенде, принцип перевернутой пирамиды был изобретен американскими журналистами, которые передавали в редакцию свои сообщения по телеграфу. Связь оставляла желать лучшего, лента могла оборваться, поэтому самую главную информацию нужно было успеть передать первой. Этот принцип до сих пор успешно применяется при подготовке статей в The New York Times и других изданиях.

** Подробнее о теме открытых данных см. в статье “Скрытый капитал открытых данных».

Использованные источники:

  • Плэтт В. Информационная работа стратегической разведки. Основные принципы. Москва, 1958.
  • Доронин А. Бизнес-разведка. Москва, 2003.
  • Tuchman, G. (1972). Objectivity as strategic ritual: An examination of newsmen’s notions of objectivity. The American Journal of Sociology, 77(4), 660-679.

Алексей Медвецкий


Источник: http://opendata.by/?p=1736

 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение