Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Articles
The modern world: can global governance?
Material posted: Publication date: 28-02-2014

Experts here have been saying for years about the need to update the system of international relations and even the formation of a new geopolitical order. But such ideas have not yet found a particular implementation. Thereby greatly complicated the issue of global governance. As a way out of this situation, it is proposed reforms in the UN and other authoritative organizations. But in this matter the real action is not taken. The impossible became even increasing the membership of the UN security Council. In this regard, interesting are the ideas put forward by the analysts.

A new approach to geopolitics: from differences to common position

In recent years, the number of "complains" on global geopolitics has increased. A lot of serious criticism of the mechanisms regulating international relations. Extensive analysis is ineffective activities of organizations such as the UN, NATO, world Trade Organization, world Bank, Council of Europe, OSCE, etc. it is Noteworthy that this criticism and pessimistic position is not without Foundation, as the conflicts, conflicting geopolitical processes, international strife of the last years almost never find their effective resolution.

Policies of the major powers of the world recognize this situation. For example, in his 2008 presidential campaign Barack Obama spoke often about the need to reform international organizations. In his opinion, the system of international relations established after the second world war, already inefficient, the structure and functions of the organizations were not responding to the challenges of the modern world. To counter rapidly changing threats, we need to create new global institutions or seriously to transform existing ones (see: Stewart Patrick. The Unruled World / "Foreign Affairs", 2014, №1).

Former Minister of foreign Affairs of Russia (1998-2004) and Secretary of the Security Council (2004-2007) Igor Ivanov also underscores the need for new geopolitical order. Still expanding on his idea, he predicts the likely protracted nature of the process of radical renewal of the system of international relations. In this regard, I. Ivanov writes: "... a process of fundamental restructuring of the world system that began in the mid 80-ies of the last century, is far from complete; we are, apparently, only in the middle of a long historical cycle of change. Many transformational trend is still gaining momentum; the effects to fully manifest only in a few decades" (see Igor Ivanov. What diplomacy does Russia need in the twenty-first century? / "Russia in global politics", 2011, №4).

Continuing his analysis, Russian politician finds that in 2001 it was possible to carry out radical reforms in the system of international relations, to amend international law, to restructure the UN (this refers to the terrorist events of 11 September in the USA – author).

But the politics of Washington, pursuing only its own interests, prevented this process. All this brought the regional conflicts to a standstill, led to the inflating of the military budget of America, and the growth of anti-American sentiment in the world. This "tactical diplomatic victories quickly gave way to strategic defeat" (see: previous source).

It is noteworthy that a similar conclusion and come to the West and Asia (e.g. China, India, Singapore, Malaysia, etc.) (see: Ramesh Thakur. The United Nations and The United States / "Russia in Global Affairs", 2011, №4). This is also the opinion of S. Patrick, whose article we quoted above. The reality is that over the past period there were major changes in the direction of the promises made by Obama.

Regional organizations and global space: possibilities for reconciliation

In what could be the solution? According to the forecasts of Patrick Stewart must be signed the agreements, which would Supplement the existing agreement. Need to establish regional and subregional institutions, partnerships between the private and public sector to form informal codes of conduct (see: Stewart Patrick. The decree. article). By what mechanism should be carried out these changes? This aspect of the issue is unclear, because these processes have started to emerge 10 years ago. But during this period the state practically nothing serious was done. There are specific reasons.

The analysts Ian Bremmer and David Gordon, collective global leadership is almost impossible, because the interests of States are very far from each other. Political forces are strained. Interestingly, the number of multilateral organizations. Collective action is no longer happening within the UN and other international organizations. To ensure that even the transitory interests of the government are turning to various regional organizations. In the end, with the changing circumstances of the organization either disintegrate or get transformed into another format.

The overall picture is dreadful. In the world formed not recognize each other and uninterested in the sustainable cooperation of multiple coalitions. Inside each of them there are contradictions. For example, in the Indian ocean anti-piracy groups established with the participation of the Navy of many countries. These include armed forces of countries, geopolitical interests are far from each other, for example, USA, China, India, Iran, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, etc., Such a Union cannot be long, and the effect of it is very weak.

It should be noted that the group of eight (G-8), "Big twenty" (G20), BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa), the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and other organizations do not give the desired effect. All this has produced ineffective mechanisms of global governance and control. The world seems to be divided into separate spheres of influence, which governs an organization. This applies to the financial sphere, healthcare, ecology, etc. Conventionally, this process is called "governance in pieces" (see: previous source).

Finally, be sure to mention one thing. We mean consideration of the regional organizations. The fact that there are currently a number of organizations that can solve problems within a specific region, and create opportunities for integration at this level.

On the one hand, between these organizations is competition, on the other, there is a need to coordinate their activities in the framework of the UN. If this becomes possible, it will be possible to make the UN activities more effective.

The reality is that to solve this problem that has existed for a long time, impossible. Very few opportunities to generalize in the framework of the UN the results of the regional organizations, and to take the final decision. Therefore, the formation of a new system of international relations is a formidable task that captures controversial moments.

Said S. Patrick comes to the conclusion that you need to make changes to the format of cooperation. It is possible to increase the role of the private sector, to find different and effective models of cooperation in the framework of informal rules. In the plane of such changes, it is possible to try to reform the UN.

This approach would allow to achieve positive results in global management. Of course, this should not denote complete domination and leadership, as was the case in the twentieth century. But better something to do with the situation than anything is not achieved. Unfortunately, the big powers do not think about upgrading on this basis of international relations. Such ideas remain ideas. But time waits for no one and no one makes concessions. Loses humanity as a whole.

Leyla Mammadaliyeva


Source: http://newtimes.az/ru/relations/2569#.UxBIa_l_uNY


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Статьи
Современный мир: возможно ли глобальное управление?
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 28-02-2014

Специалисты вот уже несколько лет говорят о необходимости обновления системы международных отношений и даже формировании нового геополитического порядка. Но подобные идеи пока не нашли конкретной реализации. Тем самым значительно усложнился вопрос глобального управления. В качестве пути выхода из сложившейся ситуации предлагается проведение реформ в ООН и других авторитетных организациях. Но и в этом вопросе реальные меры не принимаются. Невозможным оказалось даже увеличение членов СБ ООН. В связи с этим интерес вызывают идеи, выдвигаемые аналитиками.

Новый подход к геополитике: от различий к единой позиции

В последнее время число «жалующихся» на глобальную геополитику возросло. Немало и тех, кто серьезно критикует механизмы регулирования международных отношений. Даются широкие анализы неэффективной деятельности таких организаций, как ООН, НАТО, Всемирная Торговая Организация, Всемирный Банк, Совет Европы, ОБСЕ и др. Примечательно, что такая критика и пессимистическая в основном позиция имеет под собой основания, так как конфликты, противоречивые геополитические процессы, межгосударственные раздоры последних лет почти не находят своего эффективного разрешения.

Политики крупных держав мира признают эту ситуацию. Например, накануне выборов 2008 года Барак Обама часто говорил о необходимости обновления международных организаций. По его мнению, система международных отношений, сформировавшаяся после второй мировой войны, уже неэффективна, структура и функции организаций уже не отвечают вызовам современного мира. Чтобы противостоять стремительно меняющимся угрозам, нужно создать новые мировые институты или серьезно преобразовать уже существующие (см.: Stewart Patrick. The Unruled World / «Foreign Affairs», 2014, №1).

Бывший министр иностранных дел России (1998-2004 гг.) и секретарь Совета Безопасности (2004-2007 гг.) Игорь Иванов также отмечает потребность мира в новом геополитическом порядке. Еще более конкретизируя свою мысль, он прогнозирует вероятность затяжного характера процесса коренного обновления системы международных отношений. В связи с этим И.Иванов пишет: «... процесс фундаментальной перестройки мировой системы, начавшийся в середине 80-х гг. прошлого века, далеко не завершен; мы находимся, по всей видимости, лишь в середине длительного исторического цикла перемен. Многие трансформационные тенденции пока еще набирают силу; результат их воздействия в полной мере проявится только через несколько десятилетий» (см.: Игорь Иванов. Какая дипломатия нужна России в XXI веке? / «Россия в глобальной политике», 2011, №4).

Продолжая свой анализ, российский политик приходит к выводу о том, что в 2001 году можно было бы провести коренные реформы в системе международных отношений, внести изменения в международное право, перестроить структуру ООН (здесь имеются в виду террористические события 11 сентября в США – автор).

Но политика Вашингтона, преследующая только собственные интересы, воспрепятствовала этому процессу. Все это завело региональные конфликты в тупик, привело к раздуванию военного бюджета Америки, а также росту антиамериканских настроений в мире. Этим «тактические дипломатические победы быстро сменились стратегическими поражениями» (см.: предыдущий источник).

Примечательно, что к аналогичному выводу приходят и Запад и Азия (например, Китай, Индия, Сингапур, Малайзия и т.д.) (см.: Ramesh Thakur. The United Nations and the United States / «Russia in Global Affairs», 2011, №4). Такого же мнения придерживается и С.Патрик, на статью которого мы ссылались выше. Реалии же в том, что за прошедший период не произошло основательных изменений и в направлении обещаний, данных Б.Обамой.

Региональные организации и глобальное пространство: возможности согласования

В чем же может быть выход? По прогнозам Стюарта Патрика, должны быть подписаны договоры, которые дополнили бы существующие соглашения. Нужно создать региональные и субрегиональные институты, партнерство частного и государственного сектора, формировать неформальные кодексы поведения (см.: Stewart Patrick. Указ. статья). По какому механизму должны быть осуществлены эти изменения? Эта сторона вопроса неясна, поскольку эти процессы стали проявляться еще 10 лет назад. Но за этот период государства практически ничего серьезного не проделали. На то есть конкретные причины.

По мнению аналитиков Яна Бреммера и Дэвида Гордона, коллективное глобальное руководство практически невозможно, поскольку интересы государств очень далеки друг от друга. Политические силы напряжены. Примечательно, что слишком много многосторонних организаций. Коллективная деятельность уже не протекает в рамках ООН и других международных организаций. Для обеспечения даже преходящих интересов правительства обращаются к различным региональным организациям. В итоге с изменением ситуации подобные организации либо распадаются, либо трансформируются в другой формат.

А итоговая картина печальна. В мире формируются не признающие друг друга и незаинтересованные в устойчивом сотрудничестве многочисленные коалиции. Внутри каждой из них имеются противоречия. Например, в Индийском океане созданы антипиратские отряды с участием военно-морского флота многих государств. Сюда входят вооруженные силы стран, геополитические интересы которых далеки друг от друга, например, США, Китая, Индии, Ирана, России, Саудовской Аравии, Йемена и др. Такой союз не может быть длительным, да и эффект от него очень слабый.

Следует отметить, что «Большая восьмерка» (G-8), «Большая двадцатка» (G-20), BRİCS (Бразилия, Россия, Индия, Китай, Южно-Африканская Республика), Шанхайская Организация Сотрудничества (ШОС) и другие организации также не дают нужного эффекта. Все это вызвало к жизни бесполезные механизмы глобального управления и контроля. Мир словно распадается на отдельные сферы влияния, в которых властвует та или иная организация. Это относится к финансовой сфере, здравоохранению, экологии и др. Условно этот процесс называется «расколовшееся глобальное управление» (см.: предыдущий источник).

Наконец, следует обязательно отметить один момент. Мы имеем в виду учет региональных организаций. Дело в том, что в настоящее время существует ряд организаций, которые могут решать проблемы, возникающие в рамках конкретного региона, и создают возможности для интеграции на этом уровне.

С одной стороны, между этими организациями идет конкуренция, с другой, – возникает потребность координирования их деятельности в рамках ООН. Если это станет возможным, то можно будет сделать деятельность ООН более эффективной.

Реалии в том, что решить эту проблему, которая существует уже давно, невозможно. Крайне мало возможностей обобщить в рамках ООН результаты, достигнутые региональными организациями, и принять итоговое решение. Поэтому формирование новой системы международных отношений стало трудноразрешимой задачей, заключающей в себе противоречивые моменты.

Из сказанного С.Патрик приходит к выводу о том, что нужно внести изменения в формат сотрудничества. Можно увеличить роль частного сектора, найти другие, эффективные модели сотрудничества в рамках неформальных правил. В плоскости таких изменений можно попытаться реформировать ООН.

Такой подход позволил бы добиться положительных результатов в глобальном управлении. Разумеется, это не должно пониматься как чье-либо полное господство и лидерство, как это имело место в XX веке. Но лучше чего-нибудь добиться в сложившейся ситуации, чем вообще ничего не добиться. К сожалению, крупные державы не думают об обновлении на такой основе международных отношений. Такие предложения остаются идеями. А время никого не ждет и никому не идет на уступки. Проигрывает человечество в целом.

Лейла Мамедалиева


Источник: http://newtimes.az/ru/relations/2569#.UxBIa_l_uNY


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество