Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Articles
The Think Tank Index: a Rating of the expert-analytical centers of the world 2013
Material posted: Publication date: 25-01-2014

Program "Expert-analytical centers and civil society" (The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program) University of Pennsylvania (University of Pennsylvania) presented a Rating of the expert-analytical centers of the world 2013 (The Think Tank Index 2013), based on international survey of worldwide experts, who assessed the work of these organizations. Fully ratings for the Think Tank Index 2013 presented in the Annex (see PDF file).

The authors define expert-analytical centers (Think Tanks) as public institutions engaged in research and consulting for government and corporate contracts, primarily in the area of policy production and evaluation of possible socio-economic consequences of political decisions. The intellectual products of these organizations and applied political analysis, research and Analytics, as well as fundamental theoretical works that are intended to promote the adoption of science-based decisions of state and public figures. Many American scholars see in the use of scientific and ideological communities and think tanks one of the most important foundations of foreign policy success of the United States in the twentieth century. In Russian social science widely used three names of the expert-analytical centers: "the brain", "brain trust" and "thought factory".

Global research project on the study of the expert-analytical organizations and their role in public policy and development civil society initiated in 2008. The authors of the project believe that this initiative will lay the groundwork for international collaborative efforts aimed at creating regional and global networks of policy institutes and communities that will bridge the gap between knowledge and policy, to improve the efficiency of political efforts in various spheres of public life, and will serve to strengthen democratic institutions and civil society around the world. Currently a rating is only officially UN-recognized indicator of the quality of work of the respective organizations.

The 2013 ranking is based on the analysis of the activity 6 826 organizations from 182 countries in the world. 1947 analytical centers have been pre-selected and were distributed into 47 categories, depending on regional facilities, activities, influence and other criteria. The research leading analytical centers of the world called the 171 organization. This year in the rating involved more than 1950 experts from around the world.

Regional distribution of rankings is as follows: in North America based 1984 the centre, in Europe — 1881, in Asia — 1201, Central and South America 662, sub-Saharan Africa — 612, in the middle East and North Africa — 511; in Oceania, 38.

The top ten think tanks of the world include the following organizations:

  1. The Brookings institution (Brookings Institution), USA.
  2. The Royal Institute of international Affairs (Chatham House), UK.
  3. The Carnegie endowment for international Peace (Carnegie Endowment for International Peace), USA.
  4. The center for Strategic and International Studies (Center for Strategic and International Studies), USA.
  5. The Stockholm international Institute of peace studies (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, SIPRI), Sweden.
  6. Bruegel, Belgium.
  7. Council on Foreign relations (Council on Foreign Relations), USA.
  8. The RAND Corporation (RAND Corporation), USA.
  9. International Institute for strategic studies (International Institute for Strategic Studies, IISS), UK.
  10. International scientific center named after Woodrow Wilson ( Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars), USA.

In Russia, the experts counted 122 organizations that meet the criteria for inclusion in the rating, however, in the study mentioned some of them. In a global ranking of the leading 150 think tanks was composed of only four organizations, and the Russian origin of one of them can be considered very conditional: Carnegie Moscow center, which ranks 28th. Three Russian organizations won in the main nomination the following places: Institute of world economy and international relations, Russian Academy of Sciences (IMEMO ran) — 32nd place, the Council on foreign and defense policy (SWAP) — 98, Moscow state Institute of international relations (MGIMO) — 100.

Carnegie Moscow center is the second largest in the local rating of 60 of the best analytical centers in Central and Eastern Europe. This list also includes IMEMO, who took fourth place, MGIMO — fifth, Centre for economic and financial research and development (CEFIR), the sixth, the Independent Institute of social policy 21, a research Institute for the study of the United States of America and Canada of the Russian Academy of Sciences — 27, Institute of economic policy named after E. T. Gaidar (Gaidar Institute) — 32, Economic expert group (EEG) — 34, St. Petersburg humanitarian-politologicheskikh center "Strategy" — 38, Institute for security and international studies — 56, The Institute for public policy — 58, Russian international Affairs Council (RIAC) is 60.


Source: Center for humanitarian technologies


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Статьи
The Think Tank Index: Рейтинг экспертно-аналитических центров мира 2013 года
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 25-01-2014

Программа «Экспертно-аналитические центры и гражданское общество» (The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program) Университета Пенсильвании (University of Pennsylvania) представила Рейтинг экспертно-аналитических центров мира 2013 года (The Think Tank Index 2013), составленный на основе международного опроса экспертов по всему миру, которые оценивали результаты работы этих организаций. Полностью рейтинг The Think Tank Index 2013 представлен в приложении (см. файл PDF).

Авторы исследования определяют экспертно-аналитические центры (Think Tanks) как публичные институты, осуществляющие исследовательскую и консультационную деятельность по государственным и корпоративным контрактам, преимущественно в области политического производства и оценки возможных социально-экономических последствий политических решений. Интеллектуальная продукция этих организаций — прикладная политическая экспертиза, исследования и аналитика, а также фундаментальные теоретические труды, предназначенные для того, чтобы способствовать принятию научно-обоснованных решений государственными и общественными деятелями. Многие американские исследователи видят в использовании научно-идеологического сообщества и экспертно-аналитических центров одну из важнейших основ внешнеполитических успехов США в ХХ веке. В российской общественной науке широко используются три наименования экспертно-аналитических центров: «мозговой центр», «мозговой трест» и «фабрика мысли».

Глобальный исследовательский проект по изучению экспертно-аналитических организаций и их роли в государственной политике и развитии гражданского общества инициирован в 2008 году. Авторы проекта считают, что данная инициатива заложит основу для международных совместных усилий, направленных на создание региональных и глобальных сетей политических институтов и сообществ, которые позволят преодолеть разрыв между знаниями и политикой, повысить эффективность политических усилий в различных сферах общественной жизни, а также послужат укреплению демократических институтов и гражданского общества по всему миру. В настоящее время рейтинг является единственным официально признанным ООН показателем качества работы соответствующих организаций.

Рейтинг 2013 года основан на анализе деятельности 6 826 организаций из 182 стран мира. 1947 аналитических центров прошли предварительный отбор и были распределены по 47 категориям в зависимости от региональной принадлежности, направлений деятельности, влиятельности и других критериев. По итогам исследования ведущими аналитическими центрами мира названа 171 организация. В этом году в общей работе над рейтингом приняли участие более 1950 экспертов со всего мира.

Региональное распределение рейтинга выглядит следующим образом: в Северной Америке базируются 1984 центра, в Европе — 1881, в Азии — 1201, в Южной и Центральной Америке — 662, в Африке южнее Сахары — 612, на Ближнем Востоке и в Северной Африке — 511, в Океании — 38.

В десятку ведущих экспертно-аналитических центров мира вошли следующие организации:

  1. Институт Брукингса (Brookings Institution), США.
  2. Королевский институт международных отношений (Chatham House), Великобритания.
  3. Фонд Карнеги за Международный Мир (Carnegie Endowment for International Peace), США.
  4. Центр Стратегических и Международных Исследований (Center for Strategic and International Studies), США.
  5. Стокгольмский международный институт исследований проблем мира (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, SIPRI), Швеция.
  6. Bruegel, Бельгия.
  7. Совет по Внешней Политике (Council on Foreign Relations), США.
  8. Корпорация RAND (RAND Corporation), США.
  9. Международный институт стратегических исследований (International Institute for Strategic Studies, IISS), Великобритания.
  10. Международный научный центр имени Вудро Вильсона ( Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars), США.

В России эксперты насчитали 122 организации, которые отвечают критериям включения в рейтинг, однако в самом исследовании упомянуты лишь некоторые из них. В глобальный рейтинг 150 ведущих экспертно-аналитических центров вошла только четыре организации, причем российское происхождение одной из них можно считать весьма условным: Московский центр Карнеги, который занимает 28 место. Еще три российские организации заняли в главной номинации следующие места: Институт мировой экономики и международных отношений Российской Академии Наук (ИМЭМО РАН) — 32 место, Совет по внешней и оборонной политике (СВОП) — 98, Московский государственный институт международных отношений (МГИМО) — 100.

Московский центр Карнеги занимает второе место в локальном рейтинге 60 лучших аналитических центров Центральной и Восточной Европы. В этот список также входят ИМЭМО, занявший четвертое место, МГИМО — пятое, Центр экономических и финансовых исследований и разработок (ЦЭФИР) — шестое, Независимый институт социальной политики — 21, Научно-исследовательский институт изучения Соединенных Штатов Америки и Канады Российской Академии Наук — 27, Институт экономической политики имени Е. Т. Гайдара (Институт Гайдара) — 32, Экономическая экспертная группа (ЭЭГ) — 34, Санкт-Петербургский гуманитарно-политолигический центр «Стратегия» — 38, Институт по вопросам безопасности и международных исследований — 56, Институт общественной политики — 58, Российский совет по международным делам (РСМД) — 60.


Источник: Центр гуманитарных технологий


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество