Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Science and Society / Analytical work: the experience of Russian and foreign experts / Articles
Think Tanks in the United States and Russia. Intellectual lobbying
Material posted: Publication date: 04-05-2013

Analyzing American foreign and domestic policy, Russian analysts and political scientists often talk about the foundations, committees and associations. However, in America there are organizations that are more influential than funds and committees – Think Tanks (Thought Centers).

Such Centers appeared in the USA in the early 20th century and set themselves the task of studying public opinion, national and geopolitical issues, scientific and industrial developments. The first Center became The Brookings Institution, founded in 1918. The Center's mission included the study of the economy, international relations, and issues of government. The Brookings Institution and is still considered one of the most respected Think Tanks. Suffice it to say that the President is Strobe Talbott, a close friend of bill Clinton and former U.S. Deputy Secretary of state. Part of the Centers financed by the government based on the placement of orders for research and development, but most of the Centers are on the money of sponsors. Legally Centers are non-profit organizations, free tax, and is not limited to the raising and expenditure of Finance. Moreover, the activities of the Centres during political campaigns does not qualify under the election law.

Mental Centers can be divided into political, commercial and research-lobbying. Of course, often there is a mixture of all three types. In the last decade, the Centres have increasingly been criticised for their bias and prejudice. However, it can be argued that it is in the depths of the Thinking Centers of the developing new economic model, the concept of national development and national security. In terms of change of power every 4 or 8 years Centres are places of application of forces of professionals from policy analysts, came from business and law enforcement agencies. But they are only the managers of the Centers, but real research by scientists around the world. However, the political Centres have increasingly come under criticism and more often heard questions about the legality of the activities of the Centres. With a light hand journalists of New York Times employees of these Centers are called "prophets" ( preachers ).

 

Preachers

In the United States... "Phony institutes where ideologues, preachers portray themselves as academics, where money is flowing like blood from the arteries. And all this with one purpose – to somehow support meaningless and vociferous advertising of politicians", - so described the political Thinking of the Centers of independent American journalist John Jackman.

Mental Centers are the perfect place to work for political "pensioners" and strategists of all stripes. Journalist Joel Achenbach conducted an investigation for the Washington Post. For a story assignment, he decided to get a job in one of these Centers in Washington. While receiving the Director-"academic," right told him that the Center's employees are white men from 50 years and older and Joel should immediately understand what values are supported here.

For the 2004 election, 47% of political comments were made to "independent analysts" of the 25 leading think tanks. It should be noted that according to the calculations of the Democratic party strategist Rob Stein, the conservative centers received from sponsors of 295 million dollars, and democratic only 75 million.

Development and support of think tanks actively started from 70-ies. Then Supreme court justice Lewis Powell sent a letter to the Chamber of Commerce of the USA with an appeal to find the Finance to create the Centers, which were supposed to bring conservative values to the professors and students. The result was The Heritage Foundation (annual turnover of approximately $ 36 million); Manhattan Institute for Policy Research (annual turnover of 10 million); The American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research (annual turnover not published, however, it is known that Philip Morris annually transfers $100,000 and Exxon more than $200 000); The Hoover Institution (turnover not advertised). Over the years, the Board of Directors of the Centers were well known businessmen and politicians – from Steve Forbes to Ronald Reagan.

Intelligence Centers prepare documents and conduct research for major corporations, political parties, members of the Senate and of Congress. After the tightening of the legislation on elections, when various political organizations had limited advertising expenditure of the candidates, the Thinking Centers have become one of the main sources of support in addition to election campaign funds. Not doing advertising, the Centers actively influence the media as "independent experts". In contrast to these universities and research organizations, Mental Centers were often accused of "adjusting" the results of the studies under extended abstracts. As stated by the American writer Jonathan Rowe, "these guys don't think they make judgments". However, sociological research and development Centers such as the American Council on Science and Health (American Council on Science and Health), Center for research on population and security (Center for Research on Population and Security), the Federation of American scientists ( Federation of American Scientists), etc. greatly influenced the policy of the White House for the last 50 years.

In Russia... no matter How funny, but in Russia there is an analogue of American Think Tanks . All funds effective and not very political, social, and - frankly - the private opinions, institutions without students and teachers – many of them will be part of Think Tanks . A significant difference only that the Russian Centers usually do not bother conducting any research, awarding grants and other Funded often from the Kremlin or subordinate commercial actors, their task is to direct "brainwashing" the public. Correctly noted columnist of the St. Petersburg magazine "the City" Mikhail Zolotonosov: " I finally remembered where intonation Pavlovsky, his melodious pathos: she borrowed directly from Patriarch Alexy II. Transfer Pavlovsky -- this is worship, or rather, the black mass".

Own media commentators-experts – there's nothing you can do about it. Well-known commentator like better is considered to be unknown. In fact, journalists, sometimes without any external pressure, support strategists at think tanks, not much delving into the words of the speaker.

Here and is a fundamental divide between American partisan Centers and their Russian counterpart. The U.S. Centers almost all of the money spend on the engagement of intellectuals, promoting values that I believe in and argue for the media its position. In Russia, it is the preachers doing your own PR , not paying attention to the audience and not performing any research. Hypotheses several preachers presented as questions and answers of national importance. Not accidentally, one of the Russian "thinkers" to the question about the involvement of students in scientific and social activities, said that "students here are not needed. We have quite different tasks".

 

The lobbying and Development

But the lion's share of American think tanks are lobbying the institutions. Literally every major Corporation has "its own" Think Tank. It is and institutions to study the impact of mobile phones on children, centers for the study of automotive fuel, toothpaste, quality of newsprint and so Many of them appeared to struggle with the corporations, and for many years conducted "subversive activities". Over time, some Centres were under the influence most of these corporations and turned into a powerful lobbying structure. Here worked the "rule" cognac - the longer the exposure, the higher the price. Institutions, existing since 50-ies, have greater political weight than yesterday created structures. In this respect an interesting story of two Centers in California ( Institute for Energy and Environmental Research and Energy Resources International ), dealing with nuclear energy. In the 70-ies, speaking on the side of the then government, they did prove to the population the danger of such stations. Tellingly – and have proven for 20 years California re-buy electricity to neighboring States. But now the energy situation is so critical that those centres justify the need for construction of reactors in California. In the early 90s in the Russian advertising began to be used all sorts of "independent institutions dentistry, research surgery centers", etc. is Not known whether these institutions are in reality, but if so, in many ways they are similar to their American counterparts.

Of course, in every industry there are. In the military field in the U.S. it is worth noting the activities of American Defense International . The company employs former White House officials, the Pentagon and the U.S. Congress. Among the clients of the Center most of the military companies of America and the manufacturers of military technologies from around the world. Saab , Beretta and General Atomics - are not the major clients of the Centre. As Chairman of the Board of Directors of van HIPP (Van Hipp Jr.) lobbying for his services he was directly called "economic benefactor and Ambassador to official Washington" of South Carolina. Most influential with this Centre can only bet The Institute for Homeland Security (The ANSER Institute). Founded in the year 58, with the participation of The RAND Corporation (development of space technologies and concepts of national security), ANSER Institute after the events of 2001 by the direct order of President Bush engaged in the development of national security strategy, counter-terrorism and external threats to the United States. It should be noted that, of course, such Centers do not only lobbying, but also the development of a national strategy. At the head of the Institute is the former Director of the CIA for science and technology Ruth Davis (Dr. Ruth A. David) which, according to Director Tenet is one of the best analysts of the Agency.

In Russia, too, there are various Centers that claims the development of a national strategy. For example, the national strategy Council, the Institute of regional problems, the Institute of political studies , etc. However, even a cursory glance at the activities of these Centers is enough to understand that it is not about strategy, but about lobbying technologies. Part of the problem is that there is no place to bring researchers and analysts, and partly in the fact that very few former government officials, maintaining its hardware and political influence. In the conditions of Russian reality the most political resignations are accompanied by comments such as "dismissed for incompetence". Therefore, the most active apparatchiks fall into the "lagoons" - institutions of three people, where there is no purpose (and no possibility) to develop a national strategy, and have a burning desire to earn money using old ties. Perhaps the real Think Tank in Russia was the team of the former Advisor of Russian President Andrey Illarionov. Although in form it was not a profit center, but in fact, it was one of the few places where they tried to develop a new economic doctrine of Russia.

 

Geopolitics and "Russian way"

A separate item in the USA there are Centres engaged in research and development in the field of foreign policy. In all the countries of Europe after the termination "cold war" were developed by Mental Centers on studying the situation and formulating a strategy US influence in these countries. The American Academy in Berlin (American Academy in Berlin) headed by Henry Kissinger, United States Institute of Peace (United States Institute of Peace) deals with the problems of the Balkans and the Middle East, the Institute "Open Republic" (Open Republic Institute) deals with the problems of economic interaction between East and West. And, of course, separately, there are American Centers, who see their mission in the development of democracy around the world. After the Orange revolution in Ukraine in Russia, much criticised "American funds" that funded the revolution. Actually it was the Think Tanks that have implemented the strategy developed 20 years ago. The principle of work abroad is simple and effective. Research and development funded by the Centre and conducted by local scientists. The centers come from the fact that researchers themselves conduct development rather believe in their own results and conclusions than in the "preaching" of the American oracles. And local media will be happy to contact local experts, and the audience trusts them much more.

Thus, the American Mental Centers 60 years ago set the task to create in US a community of experts and to prepare the audience to the opinions of independent analysts. And I must say that in most cases, the strategy has been successful. Of course, some Centres became over time, agenda-driven, but most are quite justified respect. In Russia at the moment is formed in advance community engaged experts, independence of judgment, which often cannot be and speeches. In financial terms, the Russian Centres do not yet have a good credit history and the level of public confidence of independent commentators because of this extremely low. The only way this organization truly independent think tanks, the search for private financing and carrying out of numerous researches by scientists from different organizations. It is clear and common system of grants brings glory to the independent Institute research Center, and experts the trust of the audience.

 

T. Pascal

Download the article "Tikhon Pascal: Think Tank in the United States and Russia. Intelligent lobbying" (pdf)

Source: http://www.protektgroup.ru/articles/L_6/Think_Tank.htm


RELATED MATERIALS: Science and Society

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Наука и общество / Аналитическая деятельность: опыт российских и зарубежных специалистов / Статьи
Think Tanks в США и России. Интеллектуальный лоббизм
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 04-05-2013

Анализируя американскую внешнюю и внутреннюю политику, российские аналитики и политологи часто говорят о фондах, комитетах и объединениях. Однако, в Америке существуют организации, более влиятельные чем фонды и комитеты – это Think Tanks (Мыслительные Центры).

Такие Центры появились в США в начале 20 века и ставили перед собой задачу изучения общественного мнения, национальных и геополитических проблем, научных и промышленных разработок. Первым Центром стал The Brookings Institution, основанный в 1918 году. В задачу Центра входило изучение экономики, международных отношений и вопросов государственного устройства. The Brookings Institution и поныне считается одним из самых уважаемых Think Tanks. Достаточно отметить, что президентом Центра является Строб Талботт – близкий друг Билла Клинтона и бывший заместитель Госсекретаря США.       Часть Центров финансируется правительством на основе размещения заказов на исследования и разработки, но большинство Центров работают на деньги спонсоров. Юридически Центры являются некоммерческими организациями, не облагающиеся налогами и никак не ограниченные в вопросах привлечения и расходования финансов. Более того, деятельность Центров во время политических кампаний никак не подпадает под выборное законодательство.

Мыслительные Центры условно можно разделить на политические, исследовательские и коммерчески-лоббистские. Безусловно, чаще всего наблюдается смешение всех трех типов. В последнее десятилетие Центры все чаще подвергаются критике за свою ангажированность и предвзятость. Тем не менее, можно утверждать, что именно в недрах Мыслительных Центров разрабатываются новые экономические модели, концепции государственного развития и национальной безопасности. В условиях смены власти каждые 4 или 8 лет, Центры являются местом приложения сил профессионалов от политики, аналитиков, пришедших из бизнеса и силовых структур. Но все они только менеджеры Центров, а настоящие исследования проводятся учеными по всему миру. Однако политические Центры все чаще попадают под волну критики и все чаще звучат вопросы о правомерности деятельности таких Центров. С легкой руки журналистов New York Times работников таких Центров называют «проповедниками» ( preachers ).

 

Проповедники

В США… «Фальшивые институты, где идеологи-проповедники изображают из себя академиков, где деньги льются как кровь из артерий. И все это с одной целью – хоть как-то поддержать бессмысленное и крикливое рекламирование политиков», - так описал политические Мыслительные Центры независимый американский журналист Джон Чакман.

Мыслительные Центры являются идеальным местом работы для политических «пенсионеров» и стратегов всех мастей. Журналист Джоел Акенбах провел расследование для «Вашингтон Пост». По заданию редакции он решил устроиться на работу в один из таких Центров в Вашингтоне. При приеме директор-«академик» прямо сказал ему, что работники Центра это белые мужчины от 50 лет и старше и Джоелу следует сразу понять, какие ценности тут поддерживаются.

На выборах 2004 года 47% политических комментариев пришлось на «независимых аналитиков» из 25 ведущих Мыслительных Центров. При этом надо отметить, что по подсчетам стратега Демократической партии Роба Стейна, консервативные центры получили от спонсоров 295 миллионов долларов, а демократические только 75 миллионов.

Развитие и поддержка Мыслительных Центров активно началась с 70-х годов. Тогда Верховный судья Льюис Пауэлл направил письмо в Торговую Палату США с призывом найти финансы для создания Центров, которые должны были бы донести консервативные ценности до профессуры и студентов. В результате возникли The Heritage Foundation (годовой оборот около 36 миллионов долларов); Manhattan Institute for Policy Research (годовой оборот 10 миллионов); The American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research (годовой оборот не публикуется, однако известно, что Philip Morris ежегодно перечисляет $100 000, а Exxon более $200 000); The Hoover Institution (оборот не афишируется). В разные годы в совет директоров Центров входили известные бизнесмены и политики – от Стива Форбса до Рональда Рейгана.

Аналитики Центров готовят документы и проводят «исследования» по заказу крупных корпораций, политических партий, членов Сената и Конгресса США. После ужесточения выборного законодательства, когда различные политические организации были ограничены в расходах на рекламу кандидатов, Мыслительные Центры стали одним из основных источников поддержки кампаний помимо избирательных фондов. Не занимаясь рекламой, Центры активно воздействуют на СМИ как «независимые эксперты». В отличие от настоящих университетов и исследовательских организаций, Мыслительные Центры часто обвиняются в «подгонке» результатов исследований под выдвинутые тезисы. Как заметил американский писатель Джонатан Роув «эти ребята не думают, они выносят суждения». Тем не менее, социологические исследования и разработки таких Центров, как Американский Совет по Науке и Здоровью (American Council on Science and Health), Центр исследования народонаселения и безопасности (Center for Research on Population and Security), Федерация американских ученых ( Federation of American Scientists) и др. значительно повлияли на политику Белого Дома за последние 50 лет.

В России…  Как ни забавно, но в России существует некоторый аналог американских Think Tanks . Всевозможные фонды эффективной и не очень политики, общественного и - прямо скажем - частного мнения, институты без студентов и преподавателей – многие из них отчасти являются Think Tanks . Существенная разница только в том, что российские Центры как правило не утруждаются проведением каких-либо исследований, раздачей грантов и пр. Финансируемые часто из Кремля или подведомственными коммерческими структурами, их задача - прямая «промывка мозгов» населению. Верно подметил обозреватель питерского журнала «Город» Михаил Золотоносов: « Я наконец вспомнил, откуда происходят интонации Павловского, его певучая пафосность: она заимствована непосредственно у Патриарха Алексия II. Передача Павловского -- это и есть богослужение, точнее, черная месса».

СМИ нужны комментаторы-эксперты – тут уж ничего не поделаешь. Известный комментатор считается вроде как лучше неизвестного. На деле же, журналисты, порой без всякого внешнего давления, поддерживают стратегов Мыслительных Центров, не сильно вникая в слова говорящего.

Здесь и проходит принципиальный водораздел между американскими ангажированными Центрами и их российским аналогом. Американские Центры практически все деньги тратят на вовлечение интеллектуалов, распространение ценностей, в которые верят, аргументируют для СМИ свою позицию. В России это проповедники, занимающиеся собственным PR , нисколько не обращающие внимание на аудиторию и не проводящие никаких исследований. Гипотезы нескольких проповедников преподносятся как вопросы и ответы национальной важности. Не случайно один из российских «мыслителей» на вопрос автора о привлечении студентов к научной и общественной деятельности, сказал, что «студенты здесь не нужны. Совсем другие стоят задачи».

 

Лоббизм и Разработки

Но львиную долю американских Мыслительных Центров составляют лоббистские институты. Буквально каждая крупная корпорация имеет «свой» Think Tank. Это и институты по изучению влияния мобильных телефонов на детей, центры по изучению автомобильного топлива, зубной пасты, качества газетной бумаги и пр. Многие из них возникли для борьбы с корпорациями, и долгие годы вели «подрывную работу». Со временем некоторые Центры попали под влияние этих самых корпораций и превратились в мощные лоббистские структуры. Тут сработало «правило коньяка» - чем дольше выдержка, тем выше цена. Институты, существующие с 50-х годов, обладают большим политическим весом, чем вчера созданные структуры. В этом отношении любопытна история двух Центров в Калифорнии ( Institute for Energy and Environmental Research и Energy Resources International ), занимающихся вопросами атомной энергетики. В 70-х годах, выступая на стороне тогдашних властей, они всячески доказывали населению опасность подобных станций. Что характерно – доказали и уже 20 лет Калифорния докупает электроэнергию в соседних штатах. Но сейчас ситуация с энергией настолько критична, что эти же центры обосновывают необходимость строительства реакторов в Калифорнии. В начале 90-х в российской рекламе стали использоваться всевозможные «независимые институты стоматологии», «научно-исследовательские центры хирургии» и пр. Не известно, существуют ли эти институты в реальности, но если да, то во многом они являются аналогом своих американских «собратьев».

Конечно, в каждой отрасли существуют свои Центры. В военной области в США стоит отметить деятельность American Defense International . В компании работают бывшие чиновники Белого Дома, Пентагона и Конгресса США. Среди клиентов Центра большинство военных компаний Америки, а также производители военных технологий со всего мира. Saab , Beretta и General Atomics - еще не самые крупные клиенты Центра. А Председатель совета директоров Ван Хипп (Van Hipp Jr.) за свои лоббистские заслуги был прямо назван «экономическим благодетелем и официальным послом в Вашингтоне» штата Южная Каролина. По влиятельности с этим Центром может поспорить только The Institute for Homeland Security (The ANSER Institute). Основанный в 58 году при участии The RAND Corporation (разработка космических технологий и концепции национальной безопасности), ANSER Институт после событий 2001 года по прямому указу президента Буша занялся разработкой стратегии национальной безопасности, борьбы с терроризмом и внешней угрозы для США. Надо отметить, что, конечно, такие Центры занимаются не только лоббизмом, но и разработкой национальной стратегии. Во главе Института стоит бывший директор ЦРУ по науке и технологиям Рут Дэвис (Dr. Ruth A. David), которая по признанию директора Тенета является одним из лучших аналитиков агентства.

В России тоже существуют различные Центры, претендующие на разработку национальной стратегии. Например, Совет по национальной стратегии, Институт региональных проблем, Институт политических исследований   и пр. Однако, даже беглого взгляда на деятельность данных Центров достаточно чтобы понять, что речь идет не о разработке стратегии, а о лоббистских технологиях. Отчасти проблема в том, что негде взять исследователей и аналитиков, а отчасти и в том, что очень мало бывших госчиновников, сохранивших свое аппаратное и политическое влияние. В условиях российских реалий большинство политических отставок сопровождаются комментариями типа «уволен за профнепригодность». Поэтому наиболее активные аппаратчики попадают в «отстойники» - институты из трех человек, где нет цели (да и никакой возможности) разрабатывать национальную стратегию, а есть жгучее желание зарабатывать деньги, используя старые связи. Пожалуй, самым настоящим Think Tank в России была команда бывшего советника президента России Андрея Илларионова. Хотя по форме это не был некоммерческий центр, но по сути, это было одно из немногих мест, где пытались разрабатывать новую экономическую доктрину России.

 

Геополитика и «русский путь»

Отдельным пунктом в США стоят Центры, занятые исследованиями и разработками в области внешней политики. Во всех странах Европы после окончания «холодной войны» были созданы Мыслительные Центры по изучению ситуации и выработке стратегии влияния США в этих странах. Американскую Академию в Берлине (American Academy in Berlin) возглавляет Генри Киссинджер, Американский Институт Мира (United States Institute of Peace) занимается проблемами Балкан и Ближнего Востока, Институт «Открытая Республика» (Open Republic Institute) занимается проблемами экономического взаимодействия между Востоком и Западом. Ну и, конечно, отдельно стоят американские Центры, которые видят свою миссию в становлении демократии по всему миру. После Оранжевой революции в Украине в России много и долго клеймили «американские фонды», спонсировавшие революцию. На самом деле это были те самые Think Tanks , которые воплотили в жизнь стратегию, разработанную еще 20 лет назад. Принцип работы Центра за рубежом прост и эффективен. Исследования и разработки финансируются Центром, а проводятся местными учеными. Центры исходят из того, что исследователи, сами проводящие разработки, скорее поверят в собственные результаты и выводы, чем в «проповеди» заокеанских оракулов. И местные СМИ будут с удовольствием обращаться к местным экспертам, и аудитория доверяет им значительно больше.

Таким образом, американские Мыслительные Центры еще 60 лет назад поставили задачу сформировать в США сообщество экспертов и подготовить аудиторию к суждениям независимых аналитиков. И надо сказать, что в большинстве случаев, стратегия оказалась успешной. Конечно, некоторые Центры стали со временем ангажированными, но большинство пользуются вполне оправданным уважением. В России же на данный момент формируется сообщество заранее ангажированных экспертов, о независимости суждений которых часто не может быть и речи. Говоря финансовым языком, у российских Центров нет пока хорошей «кредитной истории» и уровень доверия населения независимым комментаторам благодаря этому крайне низкий. Единственный путь это организация действительно независимых Мыслительных Центров, поиск негосударственного финансирования и проведения многочисленных исследований учеными из различных организаций. Именно понятная и распространенная система грантов приносит независимому институту славу исследовательского Центра, а экспертам доверие аудитории. 

 

Т.Паскаль

Скачать статью "Тихон Паскаль: Think Tank в США и России. Интеллектуальный лоббизм" (pdf)


Источник: http://www.protektgroup.ru/articles/L_6/Think_Tank.htm


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Наука и общество
Возрастное ограничение