Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
U.S. cyber command the beginning of the first operation against Russia
Material posted: Publication date: 23-10-2018
U.S. cyber command (United States Cyber Command) beginning the first operation on the Internet against Russia to counter "proliferation of disinformation and Russia's interference in the election," writes The New York Times (NYT), citing its sources.

"The campaign includes several missions conducted in the last few days — the first such operation abroad for the protection of the U.S. elections, including the November midterm elections to Congress", — writes the edition.

According to the NYT, the aim of the operation was the number of specific employees of the Russian special services allegedly tried to interfere in elections. They were sent "direct messages", which showed that the U.S. investigators to identify them and monitor all their online activities.

Thought of the cyber command, that should avert them from spreading misinformation and attempts to interfere in the elections. The newspaper did not specify through which channels have been sent these messages: by email, via chat or otherwise.

 

Last Friday, the U.S. justice Department for the first time officially accused the citizen of Russia trying to intervene in the upcoming November 6 elections. Correspondence accusation brought against the 44-year-old Elena Husainova that in the United States named chief accountant of the project "Lakhta", allegedly a cover for the "Troll factory" associated with the Russian oligarch Yevgeny Prigozhin. According to the American authorities, it distributed $10 million allocated this year, including the funding of "information war against the United States."


Source: https://news.mail.ru/incident/35141421/


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Теория и практика информационной войны / Статьи
Киберкомандование США начало первую операцию против России
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 23-10-2018
Киберкомандование США (United States Cyber Command) начало первую операцию в интернете против России с целью противодействия «распространению дезинформации и вмешательства России в выборы», пишет The New York Times (NYT) со ссылкой на свои источники.

«Кампания, включавшая в себя несколько миссий, проведенных в последние несколько дней, — первая операция подобного рода за рубежом по защите выборов в США, включая ноябрьские промежуточные выборы в конгресс», — пишет издание.

По данным NYT, целью операции был ряд конкретных сотрудников российских спецслужб, якобы пытавшихся вмешаться в выборы. Им были разосланы «прямые сообщения», из которых следовало, что американские оперативники идентифицировали их и отслеживают всю их деятельность в интернете.

По мысли киберкомандования, это должно отвратить их от распространения дезинформации и попыток вмешаться в выборы. Газета не уточняет, по каким каналам были посланы эти сообщения: по электронной почте, через чаты или иным способом.

 

В минувшую пятницу минюст США впервые официально обвинил гражданина России в попытке вмешаться в предстоящие 6 ноября промежуточные выборы. Заочное обвинение предъявлено 44-летней Елене Хусяйновой, которую в США назвали главным бухгалтером проекта «Лахта», якобы являющегося прикрытием для «фабрики троллей», связанной с российским олигархом Евгением Пригожиным. По версии американских властей, именно она распределяла $10 млн, выделенных в этом году в том числе на финансирование «информационной войны против США».


Источник: https://news.mail.ru/incident/35141421/ 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение