Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
"Plan X" to win the U.S. information superiority
Material posted: -Publication date: 08-11-2012

In November 2012 the Agency promising developments the U.S. defense Department (DARPA) plans to launch several research projects, United by a common goal – the formation of a plan for the organization and conduct offensive operations in cyberspace. The complex task was codenamed "Plan X" (X Plan). The main purpose of the plan is the creation of systems and means of achieving and retaining excellence in the information space.

An important outcome of the implementation of a range of scientific research should be the creation of visualization tools, and intuitive large-scale maps of the battlefield of cyber situational awareness for commanders at all levels. It is assumed that in the framework of the implementation of the "Plan X" in the next ten years the Pentagon will receive the weapons of the electronic map to visualize the entire Internet and its separate segments for planning, organization and evaluation of the effectiveness of information operations.

The plan in recent months, accelerated by the leadership of the Pentagon. Acceleration of the project due to the fact that, in the opinion of specialists of the Ministry of defense, the U.S. will not be able to respond promptly and at the national level to attack the information infrastructure, if not in advance will be prepared generics solutions in response. Highlights that delay in a few minutes that can go on the harmonization solutions, can cause irreparable damage to the national information infrastructure.

There is also the danger that using Stuxnet and other malware, the Obama administration de facto legalized such operations as an instrument of state policy. Thereby lifting of restrictions on the use of cyber weapons and other countries previously competed for control of the developments in the field of information weapons.

"Plan X" is a study aimed at creating a new culture of military planning and battle management, which will include information operations in a conventional part of operations planned by the headquarters at all levels. As an integral objective of the implementation plan includes forming a new image of the cyber command of the U.S. army.

According to DARPA's "Plan X" must create revolutionary technology for understanding, planning and managing cyberwarfare in real-time in large-scale and dynamic network environments.

The plan does not provide for direct funding of development of new systems offensive information weapons, and focuses solely on the organization and planning of information warfare computer networks. It is envisaged to develop a system of strategic planning, gaming simulation and development management systems and methods of information warfare.

The project is the first DARPA program in cyber security at this level. At the beginning of the project allocated about 110 million dollars over the next five years.

Sources indicate the need for a "Plan X". On the eve of the invasion of Iraq in 2003, the Bush administration has developed a plan for large-scale computer attacks on the financial infrastructure of Baghdad. However, the plan was not realized due to the inability to reliably estimate possible collateral damage.

According to experts, the implementation of "Plan X" is the beginning of an open inclusion in the military doctrine of the elements of information and cyber war, which de facto has become part of the Arsenal of the military in 2012.


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Теория и практика информационной войны / Статьи
«План Икс» по завоеванию США информационного превосходства
Материал разместил: -Дата публикации: 08-11-2012

В ноябре 2012 года Агентством перспективных разработок Министерства обороны США (DARPA) планируется запуск ряда исследовательских проектов, объединенных общей целью – формирование плана организации и ведения наступательных действий в киберпространстве. Комплекс задач получил кодовое название «План Икс» (Plan X). Основной целью плана является создание систем и средств достижения и удержания превосходства в информационном пространстве.

Важным итогом реализации комплекса научно-исследовательских работ должно стать создание инструментов визуализации, интуитивно понятных крупномасштабных карт кибернетического поля боя для ситуационной осведомленности командиров всех уровней. Предполагается, что в рамках реализации «Плана Икс» в течение ближайших десяти лет Пентагон получит на вооружение электронные карты визуализации всей сети Интернет и отдельных ее сегментов для планирования, организации и оценки эффективности проводимых информационных операций.

Реализация указанного плана в последние месяцы ускорена по инициативе руководства Пентагона. Ускорение проекта связано с тем, что, по заключению специалистов минобороны, США не смогут корректно и оперативно ответить на национальном уровне на атаку информационной инфраструктуры, если заранее не будут подготовлены универсальные шаблоны решений по реагированию. Особо отмечается, что промедление в несколько минут, которые могут уйти на согласование вариантов решения, может нанести непоправимый ущерб национальной информационной инфраструктуре.

Также есть опасения, что использовав Stuxnet и другие вредоносные программы, администрация Обамы де-факто узаконила такие операции в качестве инструмента государственной политики. Тем самым сняты ограничения на использования кибероружия и другими странами, ранее выступавшими за контроль над разработками в области создания информационных средств поражения.

«План Икс» является исследованием, нацеленным на формирование новой культуры военного планирования и боевого управления, которая позволит включить информационные операции в состав конвенциональных операций, планируемых штабами всех уровней. В качестве интегральной цели реализации плана предусмотрено формирование нового облика киберкомандования армии США.

Согласно данным DARPA, «План Икс» должен создать революционные технологии понимания, планирования и управления кибервойной в режиме реального времени в крупномасштабных и динамических сетевых средах.

План не предусматривает непосредственного финансирования разработок новых систем атакующего информационного оружия, а сосредотачивается исключительно на вопросах организации и планирования ведения информационной войны в компьютерных сетях. Предполагается разрабатывать системы стратегического планирования, игрового моделирования и управления развитием систем и методов ведения информационной войны.

Проект является первой программой DARPA в области кибербезопасности такого уровня. На начало работ по проекту выделено около 110 млн. долларов на ближайшие пять лет.

Источники указывают на необходимость «Плана Икс». Еще накануне вторжения в Ирак в 2003 году, администрация Буша разработала план масштабной компьютерной атаки на финансовую инфраструктуру Багдада. Однако план не был реализован в силу неспособности достоверно оценить возможный сопутствующий ущерб.

По мнению экспертов, реализация «Плана Икс» есть начало открытого включения в состав военной доктрины элементов информационной и кибер-войны, которые де-факто вошли в арсенал военных с 2012 года.

Сергей Гриняев


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность