Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
About the works in the area of intrusion detection systems in computer networks
Material posted: -Publication date: 26-11-2001

In January 2000, the Institute of programming University. Carnegie Mellon (public research Institute, funded by the U.S. Department of defense) in the framework of the program of sustainable information networks prepared a report on the current status of work in the area of intrusion detection systems in computer networks.

This work was funded by the air force USA (Air Force Research Laboratory and Air Force Computer Resources Support Improvement Program). In preparing the material participated the employees of AT&T, Air Force Information Warfare Center, Xerox, Internet Security Systems, Lincoln Laboratory, MITRE.

This report is one of the most comprehensive studies on the current state of intrusion detection systems. Contains a large bibliography and the credentials of a number of research projects on creation of systems of this class.

The main conclusion of the conducted research is that the intrusion detection system in computer networks today are one of the most important elements in building information security system.

According to the report, and a number of other materials currently in the USA is a whole industry of software creation to produce products in two versions: commercial products supplied to the market (Commercial Off-the-Shelf, COTS) and products supplied to the Federal authorities (Government Off-the-Shelf, GOTS). This step is due primarily to the increased vulnerability of commercial systems to information attacks.

For the implementation of this program in the Federal ministries under the leadership of the NSA developed the requirements to the information technologies and software tools. Such requirements are much higher requirements to commercial systems. So it is noted that intrusion detection systems categories GOTS, must be implemented in a number of properties that are not available in commercial products. Among them:

  • integration with the systems of interception of electronic information type is Carnivore;
  • more sophisticated algorithms for the detection of intrusion, adapted to the tracking of well-coordinated attacks outbound, primarily from the intelligence services of foreign States;
  • satisfaction strict standards of information security.

The products of class GOTS is not available for purchase by third parties and supplied for a specific order in the Federal organization that excludes the study of the system architecture of a possible enemy. Unlike commercial systems, the intrusion detection system class GOTS, as a rule, do not use automatic analysis of suspicious events, and to attract highly qualified experts in the field of computer security.

It is noted that for many of this class of systems COTS, in the future, there will be a number of the latest achievements in this field that allow U.S. intelligence agencies to infiltrate information systems supported by these systems.

In the absence of domestic production of software for government agencies, there is a situation dangerous to informational security of Russia when state institutions are established no software is able to provide the required level of security, even after special research.

Tags: USA , threat


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Вопросы информационной безопасности / Статьи
О работах в области создания систем обнаружения вторжений в компьютерные сети
Материал разместил: -Дата публикации: 26-11-2001

В январе 2000 года специалистами Института программирования Университета им. Карнеги Мелона (государственного исследовательского института, финансируемого Министерством обороны США) в рамках программы создания устойчивых информационных сетей был подготовлен отчет о текущем состоянии работ в области создания систем обнаружения вторжения в компьютерные сети.

Указанная работа финансировалась военно-воздушными силами США (Air Force Research Laboratory и из бюджета Air Force Computer Resources Support Improvement Program). В подготовке материала принимали участие сотрудники AT&T, Air Force Information Warfare Center, Xerox, Internet Security Systems, Lincoln Laboratory, MITRE.

Данный отчет является одним из наиболее полных исследований по оценке текущего состояния систем обнаружения вторжений. Приводится большая библиография и учетные данные ряда исследовательских проектов по созданию систем этого класса.

Основной вывод проведенного исследования состоит в том, что системы обнаружения вторжений в компьютерные сети сегодня являются одним из наиболее важных элементов в построении систем информационной безопасности.

Согласно материалам отчета, а также и ряду других материалов,  в настоящее время в США проводится программа перевода всей промышленности создания программного обеспечения на выпуск продукции в двух вариантах: коммерческие продукты, поставляемые на рынок (Commercial Off-the-Shelf, COTS) и продукция, поставляемая в федеральные органы власти (Government Off-the-Shelf, GOTS). Этот шаг обусловлен в первую очередь повышенной уязвимостью коммерческих систем к информационным атакам.

Для реализации этой программы в федеральных министерствах под руководством АНБ разрабатываются требования к информационным технологиям и программным средствам. Подобные требования намного выше требований к коммерческим системам. Так отмечается, что для систем обнаружения вторжений категории GOTS, должны быть реализованы ряд свойств, недоступных в коммерческих продуктах. Среди них:

  • интеграция с системами перехвата электронной информации типа Carnivore;
  • более совершенные алгоритмы обнаружения факта вторжения, приспособленные к отслеживанию хорошо скоординированных атак исходящих, прежде всего, от спецслужб иностранных государств;
  • удовлетворение жестким требованиям обеспечения защиты информации.

При этом продукты класса GOTS не доступны для приобретения сторонними лицами и поставляются под конкретный заказ в федеральные организации, что исключает изучение архитектуры системы возможным противником. В отличие от коммерческих систем, системы обнаружения вторжений класса GOTS, как правило, используют не автоматический анализ подозрительных событий, а привлечение высококвалифицированных экспертов в области компьютерной безопасности.

Отмечается, что для многих систем класса COTS, в перспективе не будет реализовываться ряд последних достижений в этой области, что позволит американским спецслужбам внедряться в информационные системы, обслуживаемые такими системами.

В отсутствие отечественного производства программных средств для госорганов, возникает ситуация, опасная для информационной безопасности России, когда в государственных учреждениях устанавливаются программные продукты не способные обеспечить требуемый уровень безопасности, даже после специальных исследований.

Сергей Гриняев

Теги: США , угроза


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность