Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Other
Half of all countries lack a strategy for cyber security: UN Report
Material posted: Publication date: 09-10-2017
The international telecommunication Union (ITU) has presented the Global Cybersecurity Index (GCI) 2017 Wednesday, June 5. This was a continuation of the first version, which the organization launched in 2014. A report on the commitment of the member States of the ITU cybersecurity, hoping to force them to improve their cybersecurity and to increase the awareness for the need to run bilateral, multilateral and international cooperation.

The report said that only about 38 percent of countries have a published strategy for security in cyberspace, while an additional 12 percent are in the process of developing one.

The Philippines has been classified by the report as one of “becoming Mature” countries in the region security strategy in cyberspace.

Singapore exceeds the index list for its long history of cyber security initiatives. It launched its first General plan of cybersecurity back in 2005 and created the office of Cyber security in 2015 as a special facility to monitor cybersecurity. In 2016 Singapore has released a comprehensive strategy to network security problems that are involved.

Three of the top 10 countries from Asia and the Pacific, two each from Europe and Americas and one each from Africa, Arab States and the Commonwealth of Independent States.

In addition to Singapore, the rest of the top 10 includes the USA, Malaysia, Oman, Estonia, Mauritius, Australia, Georgia, France and Canada.

The review showed that despite the large gap in wealth, developing countries such as Malaysia and Oman have stronger cybersecurity than some developed, such as France and Canada.

There is also a major gap in cyber security among the five permanent members of the Council UN Security. USA was estimated No. 2 France, No. 8, Russia No. 10, the British No. 12, and the China was placed number 32.

The index also shows improvement and strengthening of the five pillars of Global Cybersecurity agenda ITU: legal, technical, organizational, capacity building and international cooperation.

“Cybersecurity is an increasingly important part of our lives today, and the degree of interconnectedness of networks means that anything and everything can be presented, and all of the national critical infrastructure to our fundamental human rights may come under threat,” the report concluded.

Last year alone, nearly one percent of all sent emails were extremely malicious attacks, the highest level in recent years, according to the ITU. Last month's cyber attack have caused harm to tens of thousands of machines worldwide, and it's still unclear who was behind the attack.


Source: http://newsbytes.ph/2017/07/06/half-of-all-countries-lack-cybersecurity-strategy-un-report/


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Вопросы информационной безопасности / Разное
Половина всех стран испытывает недостаток в стратегии безопасности в киберпространстве: Доклад ООН
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 09-10-2017
Международный союз электросвязи (ITU) представил Global Cybersecurity Index (GCI) 2017 в среду, 5 июня. Это стало продолжением первой версии, которую организация выпустила в 2014. Доклад сообщает о приверженности государств-членов ITU кибербезопасности, надеясь заставить их улучшать свою кибербезопасность и повышать осведомленность для потребности запустить двустороннее, многостороннее и международное сотрудничество.

В сообщении говорилось, что только у приблизительно 38 процентов стран есть опубликованная стратегия безопасности в киберпространстве, в то время как дополнительные 12 процентов находятся в процессе разработки.

Филиппины были классифицированы отчетом как одна из “становящихся зрелым” стран в области стратегии безопасности в киберпространстве.

Сингапур превышает индексный список для своей долгой истории инициатив кибербезопасности. Страна запустила свой первый генеральный план кибербезопасности в 2005 и создала Службу Кибербезопасности в 2015 как специальный объект, чтобы наблюдать за кибербезопасностью. В 2016 Сингапур выпустил всеобъемлющую стратегию к проблемам сетевой безопасности, которыми занимаются.

Из лучших 10 стран, три страны из Азии и Тихого океана, два каждый из Европы и Америк, и один каждый из Африки, арабских государств и Содружества Независимых Государств.

Помимо Сингапура, остальная часть лучших 10 включает США, Малайзию, Оман, Эстонию, Маврикий, Австралию, Грузию, Францию и Канаду.

Обзор показал, что несмотря на крупный разрыв в богатстве, развивающиеся страны как Малайзия и Оман более сильны в кибербезопасности, чем некоторые разработанные, такие как Франция и Канада.

Есть также главный разрыв в кибербезопасности среди пяти постоянных элементов Совета Безопасности ООН. США были оцениваемым № 2, Франция № 8, Россия № 10, британский № 12, и Китай поместил № 32.

Индекс также показывает улучшение и укрепление пяти столбов Глобальной Программы Кибербезопасности ITU: законный, технический, организационный, укрепление потенциала и международное сотрудничество.

“Кибербезопасность - все более и более важная часть нашей жизни сегодня, и степень взаимосвязанности сетей подразумевает, что что-либо и все могут быть представлены, и все от национальной критической инфраструктуры до наших основных прав человека может поставиться под угрозу”, доклад завершился.

В прошлом году один, почти один процент всех посланных электронных писем был чрезвычайно вредоносными атаками, самый высокий уровень в последние годы, по данным ITU. В прошлом месяце кибератака нанесла вред десяткам тысяч машин во всем мире, и все еще неясно, кто был позади атаки.


Источник: http://newsbytes.ph/2017/07/06/half-of-all-countries-lack-cybersecurity-strategy-un-report/ 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение