Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
The Afghan trap: trump is trying to save face
Material posted: Publication date: 28-08-2017
For 16 years the US-led war in Afghanistan. The military operation spent billions of taxpayer dollars, but the Pentagon has not completed the task. The Taliban not only destroyed, but, on the contrary, has strengthened and now controls about 40% of Afghanistan's territory.

The US President Donald trump made on the basis of the Fort Mayer's address to the army and to the American people and strongly hinted that the United States from Afghanistan will not go away. On the contrary, the decision to increase the American military contingent in Afghanistan. And powers of the contingent will be expanded: first of all it concerns anti-terrorist activities in the region.

And the Secretary of state Rex Tillerson said clearly that the war with the Taliban (an organization banned in Russia), which started in 2001, actually lost. The United States was in the Afghan trap, "Taliban" method of guerrilla warfare has managed to take control of 40% of the territory of Afghanistan. And now the U.S. Secretary of state holds out olive branch to the Taliban: "We are ready to support peace talks between the Afghan government and the Taliban without any preconditions."

But the Taliban are resolute and militant. After the speech, trump his leadership has promised to turn Afghanistan into a "cemetery for the United States" if they did not withdraw from the country its troops. In the program "Dialogues" on the failure of U.S. policy in Afghanistan says the observers "of the Truth.Ru" Aydin Mehdiyev and Dmitry Nersesov.

— That denote the last trump statements on Afghanistan?

— First, you need to abandon the idea, from the idea that the United States has ever pursued the goal of achieving peace and stability in Afghanistan. In fact, what is happening in Afghanistan, they are not interested. Afghanistan is located on the opposite side of the globe, so no danger there for America does not come, as, indeed, of immediate interest.

Although in its current presentation Mr. trump just said that he estimated that Afghanistan is such a threat to the interests of the United States, that is simply nothing worse in this world. In Afghanistan and Pakistan concentrated some incredible number of terrorist organizations that threaten US interests. So he puts forward a new concept, a new strategy of the United States in Afghanistan.

Any strategy of action in Afghanistan — at the trump, under Obama or Bush — was part of global strategies, strategic games, which led the United States. In my opinion, it is fairly clear that Washington's primary goal is building relationships with China.

China now is in the ring of a very complex conflict situations, each of which fueled the United States: Korea, South China sea, Burma, the confrontation with India in the Indian ocean and in the Himalayas, internal problems, separatist movements in Hong Kong, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous region and so on.

All this ring of conflict, ring of problems that surround China. And in this ring, of course, Afghanistan has a very important place. China has just initiated a development strategy of "One belt and one road" on building the transport-logistics corridors directed from China to the Indian ocean to the Persian Gulf to the Caspian-black sea region and to Europe.

Afghanistan is at the beginning of most all of these pathways: this is the nerve center through which passes a good part of those strategic corridors that China is going to build. Naturally, the Americans declare that they will remain in Afghanistan, will not get out of there. Because that's where they create a new problem for China, closing the ring. Staying in Afghanistan they can control and hinder implementation of strategic plans of China. From this point of view becomes clear with everything the President said trump and Secretary of state Tillerson.

— Special representative of Russian President for Afghanistan Zamir Kabulov said recently that the Americans should leave Afghanistan. Now trump on the contrary reported an increase in us troops in Afghanistan.

— He said he will not report how much, but increased the power of the Pentagon to determine the required number of troops and classify all the plans. Under Obama even said that "we will increase to five thousand, then derive fifteen"; in any case, the numbers played. Now, trump has put a complete taboo on all this information and said, "what are we doing in Afghanistan — this is our business, we won't tell".

— It is surprising that Pakistan is a loyal ally of the US, trump has put forward the warning.

Because Pakistan for a long time more and more cooperating with China. In parallel, as tramp has put forward a stern warning to Islamabad, he appealed to India asking to join the American strategy in Afghanistan, particularly in the economic part of it; the Indians had responded positively to it. That is, everything here is quite openly directed against China — the main competitor of the United States.

Trump says: "I share the frustration of Americans because of US foreign policy, which spent too much time, energy, money and most important lives, trying to rebuild the country according to our own idea instead to follow our own security interests. We will no longer use American armed forces to build democracy in distant lands or try to rebuild other countries in our image and likeness".

And what, in fact, will engage American armed forces in Afghanistan? Not only is he leaves there, the armed forces, but also to increase. This is done in order to build a new government for the Taliban? It will be very funny. It's all lies and hypocrisy. Says, "now we won't do it", and then doing exactly the opposite. Surely someone in all this believe?

The publication was prepared by Yuri Kondratyev


Source: https://www.pravda.ru/world/28-08-2017/1346612-usa_afgan-0/

Tags: USA , China , Afghanistan


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Военно-стратегические оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Афганская ловушка: Трамп пытается сохранить лицо
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 28-08-2017
Вот уже 16 лет США ведут войну в Афганистане. На военную операцию потрачены миллиарды долларов налогоплательщиков, однако Пентагон не выполнил поставленную задачу. Движение "Талибан" не только не разгромлено, но, напротив, окрепло и сегодня контролирует около 40% территории Афганистана.

Президент США Дональд Трамп выступил на базе Форт-Майер с обращением к армии и американскому народу и твердо дал понять, что США из Афганистана не уйдут. Напротив, принято решение об увеличении американского военного контингента в Афганистане. И полномочия этого контингента будут расширены: в первую очередь это касается антитеррористической деятельности в регионе.

А госсекретарь США Рекс Тиллерсон ясно сказал, что война с "Талибаном" (организация запрещена в РФ), начавшаяся в 2001 году, фактически проиграна. США оказались в афганской ловушке, а "Талибан" методом партизанской войны сумел взять под свой контроль 40% территории Афганистана. И теперь госсекретарь США протягивает пальмовую ветвь талибам: "Мы готовы поддержать переговоры о мире между афганским правительством и движением "Талибан" без каких-либо предварительных условий".

Однако "Талибан" настроен решительно и воинственно. После выступления Трампа его руководство пообещало превратить Афганистан в "кладбище для США", если они не выведут из страны свои войска. В программе "Диалоги" о провале политики США в Афганистане рассуждали обозреватели "Правды.Ру" Айдын Мехтиев и Дмитрий Нерсесов.

— Что обозначают последние заявления Трампа, касающиеся Афганистана?

— Во-первых, нужно отказаться от самой идеи, от тезиса о том, что Соединенные Штаты когда бы то ни было преследовали цели достижения мира и стабильности в Афганистане. По сути дела, то, что происходит в Афганистане, их совершенно не интересует. Афганистан расположен на противоположном конце земного шара, и поэтому никакой опасности оттуда для Америки не исходит, как, собственно, и непосредственного интереса.

Хотя в своем нынешнем выступлении господин Трамп как раз сказал, что, по его оценкам, Афганистан — это такая угроза именно интересам Соединенных Штатов, что просто ничего страшней на свете нет. На территории Афганистана и Пакистана сосредоточено какое-то неимоверное количество террористических организаций, угрожающих интересам США. Поэтому он и выдвигает новую концепцию, новую стратегию поведения Соединенных Штатов в Афганистане.

Любая стратегия действий США в Афганистане — при Трампе, при Обаме или Буше-младшем — являлась частью глобальных стратегий, стратегических игр, которые вели США. На мой взгляд, достаточно очевидно, что для Вашингтона основная задача — это выстраивание отношений с Китаем.

Китай сейчас оказывается в кольце весьма сложных конфликтных ситуаций, каждая из которых подпитывается Соединенными Штатами: Корея, Южно-Китайское море, Бирма, противостояние с Индией в Индийском океане и в Гималаях, внутренние проблемы, сепаратистские движения в Гонконге, Синьцзян-Уйгурском автономном округе и так далее.

Все это кольцо конфликтов, кольцо проблем, которым окружают Китай. И в этом кольце, естественно, Афганистану отведено очень важное место. Китай только что выступил инициатором стратегии развития "Один пояс — один путь" по выстраиванию транспортно-логистических коридоров, направленных от Китая к Индийскому океану, к Персидскому заливу, к Каспийско-Черноморскому региону и к Европе.

Афганистан лежит в самом начале большинства всех этих путей: это нервный центр, через который проходит добрая часть тех стратегических коридоров, что Китай собирается построить. Естественно, американцы декларируют, что они останутся в Афганистане, не будут уходить оттуда. Потому что там они создают новую проблему для Китая, замыкая кольцо. Оставаясь в Афганистане, они могут контролировать и мешать реализации стратегических планов Китая. С этой точки зрения становится понятно все, о чем говорили президент Трамп и госсекретарь Тиллерсон.

— Спецпредставитель президента России по Афганистану Замир Кабулов недавно заявил, что американцам лучше вообще уйти из Афганистана. Теперь Трамп наоборот заявил об увеличении американского контингента в Афганистане.

— Он сказал, что не будет сообщать на сколько, но расширил полномочия Пентагона по определению необходимого количества войск и засекретил все планы. При Обаме еще говорили, что "нарастим на пять тысяч, потом выведем пятнадцать"; во всяком случае цифрами играли. Теперь Трамп наложил полное табу на всю эту информацию и сказал "что мы будем делать в Афганистане — это наше дело, мы никому ничего не сообщим".

— Удивительно, что Пакистану — верному союзнику США, Трамп выдвинул предупреждение.

— Потому что Пакистан в течение долгого времени все больше и больше сотрудничает с Китаем. Параллельно с тем, как Трамп выдвинул строгие предупреждение в адрес Исламабада, он обратился и к Индии с просьбой-предложением присоединиться к американской стратегии в Афганистане, в частности в экономической ее части; индийцы уже положительно ответили на это. То есть здесь все достаточно откровенно направлено против Китая — главного конкурента США.

Трамп говорит: "Я разделяю расстройство американцев из-за проводимой США внешней политики, которая потратила слишком много времени, энергии, денег и, самое важное, жизней, пытаясь перестроить страны согласно нашему собственному представлению — вместо того, чтобы следовать нашим собственным интересам безопасности. Мы больше не будем использовать американские вооруженные силы для построения демократии в дальних краях или пытаться восстанавливать другие страны по нашему образу и подобию".

А чем, собственно говоря, будут заниматься американские вооруженные силы в Афганистане? Он не только оставляет там вооруженные силы, но и наращивает. Неужели это делается для того, чтобы построить новое правительство для "Талибана"? Будет очень забавно. Это все ложь и лицемерие. Говорит, что "теперь мы больше так не будем", и тут же делает ровно наоборот. Да неужели кто-то в это все поверит?

К публикации подготовил Юрий Кондратьев


Источник: https://www.pravda.ru/world/28-08-2017/1346612-usa_afgan-0/ 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение