Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
The regulatory framework of the construction and use of the Japan self-defense forces in military conflicts
Material posted: Publication date: 29-04-2020
Analyzing the legal framework, it should be noted that the main legal documents defining the need for and direction of construction of the "self-defense forces" of Japan are the laws "On the self-defense forces" and "On the establishment of the Department of defense", which came into force in June 1954. After that, they have been supplemented by various amendments regulating the development and use of military units.

The above laws was also the base for the development and implementation of other legal documents, directives and orders of various level and purpose. The assessment of the military-political experts, the most important normative documents in this sphere during the period under review were:

  • the law "On cooperation with the UN in peacekeeping activities" (1992, amended in August 1995);
  • the law "On measures to ensure peace and national security in an emergency situation around Japan" (entered into force 25 September 1999) legally provides a practical implementation of "Basic principles of Japan-us cooperation in defense sphere");the law "On the implementation of the inspection of ships in an emergency situation in the adjacent regions of Japan" (2001);
  • the law "On special measures against terrorism" (2001);
  • the law "On special measures to assist in rebuilding Iraq" (2003);
  • the law "On establishment of the Ministry of defense" (2006);
  • the law "On special measures of technical support" (2008);
  • the law "On measures against piracy" (2009).

A new stage in the development of legal support of military construction was due to re-came to power in December 2012, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, committed to the formation of the full sun. In this period the policy of the government on the creation of a militarily strong state become a reality. Despite continuing financial difficulties, in 2013, "the self-defense forces" began to be funded in priority order. According to foreign experts, the military and political leadership of Japan in this period has identified three main directions of reforming of military construction.

First, official recognition of the right to collective self-defence. EDS had reason to take up arms and engage in hostilities only in the case of a direct attack or in the event of immediate threats to the country. For this reason, "the self-defense forces" could not render the effective assistance the allies and to interact quickly with the implementation of joint combat missions, including peacekeeping operations.

Second, the substantiation of possibility to apply preventive strikes on military targets of the enemy, mostly due to the unpredictability of the situation surrounding the nuclear program of the DPRK.

Thirdly, the partial lifting of the ban on arms exports. In accordance with the three principles approved by Parliament in 1967, Japan has refused to supply weapons to Communist-bloc countries; the States in respect of which there is a UN ban on arms imports; the countries involved or has a high probability to be involved in active hostilities.

As the legislative justification for a new military policy of the Japanese government has in December 2013 a package of normative documents defining the state policy in the field of national security for the foreseeable future, namely the national security Strategy, national defense and the construction Plan of the armed forces of Japan.

In 2014, the government headed by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe took the decision of "rethinking" postwar Constitution and initiated bills that extend the powers of "self-defense forces". The government decree "On improvement of legislation in the sphere of ensuring state security and protection of the lives of Japanese citizens" (adopted on 1 July 2014) identified the main challenges: ensuring interdepartmental interaction and cooperation with the us forces in situations of "gray zones" of security, the revision of the criteria of "self-defense forces" in international operations, the recognition of the right to collective self-defence. It can be argued that this decision of the Japanese government initiated the process of radical changes in military legislation of the country.

The package of documents regulating the activities of "self-defense forces" in various operations outside the country, known as the "Law on peace and security", which entered into force in March 2016, provided a new legal interpretation of the 9th article of the Constitution (without formal modification of the text). In particular, repealed the ban on the use of weapons by Japanese soldiers in international peace operations abroad, and provides for their participation in operations to protect Japanese nationals in other countries (operation on release of hostages); use of "self-defense forces" outside Japanese territory to protect allies from attacks of the common enemy (the right to collective self-defence during the attack on the state, having allied relations); simplified procedure for the adoption by the Cabinet of Ministers decisions about the use of "self-defense forces".

According to experts, the new legislation creates the necessary legal basis for the application of the right to collective self-defence, the voluntary renunciation which is the characteristic feature of Japan's military policy. Regulatory instruments are changing the scope and nature of the EDS participate in operations outside its territory, removing some restrictions on actions in the framework of international security.

It should be borne in mind that, according to Japanese news sources, against legislative changes are 50 to 60 percent of the population. According to opponents of the new laws, proposed legislation is in direct violation of the Constitution. In addition, the expansion interpretation of the 9th article of the basic law could trigger state involvement in hostilities which Japan did not participate after the Second world war.

In December 2018, the country's Parliament adopted a new edition of the previously mentioned normative documents, namely: the Program of national defense (PNO) (National Defense Program Guidelines, NDPG), designed to 2029, and the Medium-term plan of building the armed forces of Japan (2019-2024 years) (Mid-Term Defense Program, MTDP). Documents reglementary the activities of state bodies in the sphere of defense, define the basic tendencies of development of "self-defense forces" and konkretisiert plans procurement of weapons and military equipment. According to the Ministry of defence, only for the first five years of operation, the CTL plans to spend 27 trillion. yen ($238 billion dollars.) which is 6.4% more than the previous budget.

The main tasks of military development for the near future is the formation of favorable conditions for ensuring national security through the integration of all capabilities of the state and society, the creation of effective structure of forces and means able to fend off the threatened invasion of the enemy into the country with minimal damage to the economy and the population.

In the military-political field, the priority will remain the strengthening of allied relations with the United States, which in the foreseeable future will remain a guarantor of Japan's national security under the threat of large-scale armed conflict. As noted in the PNA "...in the conditions of growing competition between countries in various areas of the United States recognize that an important challenge is strategic rivalry with Russia and China trying to change regional and global order."

In the military-technical relationship is assumed to implement a number of measures related to the modernization of the naval component of the EDS, in particular, to continue the refurbishment of two destroyers-helicopter "Izumo" in light aircraft carriers and to procure for these purposes, batch of 42 fighters fifth generation F-35B. To replace outdated air force fleet further it is planned to purchase 63 units F-35A. In 2023 it is planned to deploy on the island of Honshu two ground-based missile defense system "aegis Ashore" (Aegis Ashore). In addition, the plans of the Ministry of defence provides for the establishment of a specialized electronic warfare aircraft and the development of a new generation of fighter aircraft to replace the F-15J and F-2. In the list of priorities of military development called the strengthening of capabilities in space and cyberspace.

Thus, as a result of adopting the above laws were eliminated geographical restrictions on the activities of "self-defense forces", and also lowered the threshold for the use of military force, which is certainly reflected at the global and regional status of Japan. The reforms, and developed in recent years, legal documents, allow Japan to more fully realize international commitments related to the settlement of conflicts, and are expected to increase in the future, the chances of Japanese diplomacy to acquire the status of permanent member of the UN Security Council. The legislation establishes the globalization of the Japanese-American Alliance and creates new opportunities for multilateral cooperation. In addition, established a regulatory framework for closer relations with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (North Atlantic Treaty Organization, NATO), which in fact is a primary participant in the so-called "settlement" of the armed conflicts around the world, acting solely in the interests of Western countries.

It should be noted that the CDF of Japan taken measures to ensure legal recognition of "self-defense forces" as a full-fledged and full-fledged aircraft reflect the General tendency of increasing nationalist orientation of internal and foreign policy. The government and the Parliament strengthened the position of supporters of radical change in post-war legislation and delisting in the near term provisions, formally limiting the possibility of Japan becoming a world power with all its sovereign state attributes. Despite claims that the status of "self-defense forces" under the military-doctrinal units remains unchanged, it is becoming increasingly evident desire of Tokyo to reinforce the importance of the sun as a means of achieving foreign policy goals. It should be noted that the above points to the true intention of Japan to become in the future one of the strongest in the military powers of the world.

It is quite obvious that the main obstacle to the implementation of these intentions is currently the country's Constitution. However, as we know, in may of 2017, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe has set a deadline for revising article 9 of the Constitution (2020), in order to fully ensure the legal status of "self-defense forces" of Japan.

Japanese media, in connection with the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Japan-us agreement "On mutual cooperation and security", noted: "the past years were characterized by the gradual withdrawal of Japan from the principles enshrined in article 9 of the Constitution. This departure is reflected in the increased military cooperation with the United States, as well as the now familiar direction of military contingents of the Japanese "self-defense forces" overseas."[1]

Thus, the results of the analysis of the legal framework of Japan in the field of national security and military construction allow us to assert that the current legal rules legally provide for the effective functioning of the "self-defense forces" in peace and war. The main directions of improvement of military legislation in the short term CDF of a country is determined by further adjustments to the regulatory framework, including the basic law of the state to guarantee national security in conditions of unfavourable development of the military-political situation in the region.

 

Ruslan Bolonchuk

 

LIST OF SOURCES USED

  1. War and peace in terms and definitions. Under the General editorship of D. O. Rogozin. Moscow: 2011.
  2. The Military Balance. The annual assessment of global military capabilities and defense economics. 2018.
  3. Features of the military-political situation in the Asia-Pacific region. Foreign military review, No. 8. 2017.
  4. Military policy and military doctrine of Japan. A modern army, 30.12.2014. Internet resource http://www.modernarmy.ru/.
  5. The international situation and threats to national security of Russia. Foreign military review, No. 1. 2018.
  6. The expansion of US military presence in the Asia-Pacific region. Foreign military review, No. 8. 2018.
  7. The military-strategic realities of the international environment: challenges and threats to Russia's security. Foreign military review, No. 1. 2019.
  8. The laws of Japan in the defense sector and prospects for its improvement. Foreign military review, No. 2. 2003.
  9. The Constitution of Japan (translation). Internet resource http://info-japan.ru/print/4516.
  10. Crackin Yu. a. Prestige, oil, China. These and other motives encouraged Japan to transform the self-defense forces into a full army. National defense, No. 4. 2018.
  11. White paper defense of Japan. Digest. 2019.
  12. O. A. Dobrinskaya the Law on peace and security: global, regional and national importance. Japan 2016. Yearbook. – Moscow: "AIRO-XXI", 2016. – 400 p.
  13. Sharkovsky A. Tokyo in military construction relies on quality. Nezavisimoe Voennoe obozrenie. 07.10.2019. Internet resource http://www.ng.ru/armies/2019-10-07/.

A. Ermakov Island khaki: Japan adopted a program of national defense. News.IZ,17.01.2019. Internet resource https://iz.ru/834684/aleksandr-ermakov.

 

[1] the Asahi Shimbun. 2020 online resource: https://inosmi.ru/politic/20200120/246650151.html

 


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Военно-стратегические оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Нормативно-правовая база строительства и применения сил самообороны Японии в военных конфликтах
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 29-04-2020
Анализируя правовую базу, следует отметить, что основными юридическими документами, определяющими необходимость создания и направления строительства «сил самообороны» Японии, являются законы «О силах самообороны» и «Об учреждении управления обороны», вступившие в силу в июне 1954 года. После этого они неоднократно дополнялись различными поправками, регламентирующими развитие и применение воинских формирований.

Указанные выше законы составили также базу для разработки и реализации на практике других юридических документов, директив и приказов различного уровня и предназначения. По оценке военно-политических экспертов, наиболее важными нормативными документами в этой сфере в рассматриваемый период являлись:

  • закон «О сотрудничестве с ООН в деятельности по поддержанию мира» (1992 г., поправки внесены в августе 1995 года);
  • закон «О мерах по обеспечению мира и национальной безопасности в условиях чрезвычайной обстановки вокруг Японии» (вступил в силу 25 сентября 1999 г.) юридически обеспечивает практическую реализацию «Основных принципов японо-американского сотрудничества в области обороны»);закон «Об осуществлении досмотра судов в условиях чрезвычайной обстановки в прилегающих к Японии районах» (2001 г.);
  • закон «О специальных мерах по борьбе с терроризмом» (2001 г.);
  • закон «О специальных мерах по оказанию помощи в восстановлении Ирака» (2003 г.);
  • закон «О создании министерства обороны» (2006 г.);
  • закон «Об особых мерах технической поддержки» (2008 г.);
  • закон «О мерах по борьбе с пиратством» (2009 г.).

Новый этап в развитии юридического обеспечения военного строительства был обусловлен повторным приходом к власти в декабре 2012 года премьер-министра Синдзо Абэ, взявшего курс на формирование полноценных ВС. Именно в этот период политика правительства по созданию сильного в военном отношении государства получила реальное воплощение. Несмотря на сохраняющиеся в стране финансовые трудности, в 2013 году «силы самообороны» начали финансироваться в приоритетном порядке. По оценке зарубежных экспертов, военно-политическое руководство Японии в этот период определило три главных направления реформирования военного строительства.

Во-первых, официальное признание права на коллективную самооборону. ССЯ имели основания применять оружие и участвовать в боевых действиях только в случае прямого нападения или при возникновении непосредственной угрозы стране. По этой причине «силы самообороны» не могли оказывать союзникам эффективную помощь и оперативно взаимодействовать при выполнении совместных боевых задач, в том числе в ходе миротворческих операций.

Во-вторых, обоснование возможности наносить превентивные удары по военным объектам противника, что обусловлено главным образом непредсказуемостью развития ситуации вокруг ракетно-ядерной программы КНДР.

В-третьих, частичное снятие запрета на экспорт вооружений. В соответствии с тремя принципами, утвержденными парламентом страны в 1967 году, Япония отказалась от поставок оружия странам коммунистического блока; государствам, в отношении которых действует запрет ООН на ввоз оружия; странам, вовлеченным либо имеющим высокую вероятность быть вовлеченными в активные военные действия.

В качестве законодательного обоснования новой военной политики японское правительство разработало в декабре 2013 года пакет нормативных документов, определяющих государственную стратегию в области обеспечения национальной безопасности на обозримую перспективу, а именно: Стратегию национальной безопасности, Программу национальной обороны и План строительства вооруженных сил Японии.

В 2014 году правительство во главе с премьер-министром Синдзо Абэ приняло решение «о переосмыслении» послевоенной конституции страны и инициировало законопроекты, расширяющие полномочия «сил самообороны». Постановление правительства «О совершенствовании законодательства в сфере обеспечения безопасности государства и защиты жизни японских граждан» (принято 1 июля 2014 г.) определило основные задачи: обеспечение внутриведомственного взаимодействия и сотрудничества с американскими ВС в ситуациях «серых зон» безопасности, пересмотр критериев участия «сил самообороны» в международных операциях, признание права на коллективную самооборону. Можно утверждать, что именно это решение японского правительства положило начало процессу внесения радикальных изменений в военное законодательство страны.

Пакет документов, регулирующих деятельность «сил самообороны» в различных операциях за пределами страны, известный под названием «Законодательство об обеспечении мира и безопасности», вступивший в силу в марте 2016 года, обеспечил новое юридическое толкование 9-й статьи конституции (без формального изменения текста). В частности, отменяется запрет на применение оружия японскими военнослужащими в ходе международных миротворческих операций за рубежом и предусматривается возможность их участия в операциях для защиты японских граждан в других странах (операции по освобождению заложников); допускается использование «сил самообороны» за пределами японской территории для защиты союзников от нападения общего противника (право на коллективную самооборону при нападении на государства, имеющие союзнические отношения); упрощается процедура принятия кабинетом министров решения об использовании «сил самообороны».

По оценке экспертов, новое законодательство создает необходимую юридическую базу применения права на коллективную самооборону, добровольный отказ от которого являлся характерной особенностью военной политики Японии. Нормативные документы меняют масштабы и характер участия ССЯ в операциях за пределами своей территории, снимая некоторые ограничения на действия в рамках обеспечения международной безопасности.

Следует иметь в виду, что, по данным японских информационных источников, против законодательных изменений выступают от 50 до 60 процентов населения. По мнению противников новых законов, предлагаемые законодательные акты являются прямым нарушением конституции страны. Кроме того, расширительная трактовка 9-й статьи основного закона может спровоцировать вовлечение государства в военные действия, в которых Япония не принимала участия после окончания Второй мировой войны.

В декабре 2018 года парламент страны принял в новой редакции упомянутые ранее нормативно-правовые документы, а именно: Программу национальной обороны (ПНО) (National Defense Program Guidelines, NDPG), рассчитанную до 2029 года, и Среднесрочный план строительства вооруженных сил Японии (2019-2024 гг.) (Mid-Term Defense Program, MTDP). Документы регламентируют деятельность государственных органов в оборонной сфере, определяют основные тенденции развития «сил самообороны» и конкретизируют планы закупок вооружения и военной техники.  По сообщению министерства обороны страны, только за первые пять лет реализации ПНО планируется израсходовать 27 трлн. иен (238 млрд. долл.), что на 6,4% больше предыдущего бюджета.

Главными задачами военного строительства на ближайшую перспективу определены формирование благоприятных условий для обеспечения национальной безопасности путем интеграции всех возможностей государства и общества, создание эффективной структуры сил и средств, способной парировать угрозу вторжения противника на территорию страны с минимальным ущербом для экономики и населения.

В военно-политической области приоритетом по-прежнему останется укрепление союзнических отношений с США, которые и в обозримой перспективе сохранят статус гаранта национальной безопасности Японии в условиях угрозы широкомасштабного вооруженного конфликта. Как отмечается в ПНО, «...в условиях нарастания конкурентной борьбы между странами в различных сферах США признают, что важной задачей становится стратегическое соперничество с Россией и Китаем, которые пытаются изменить глобальный и региональный порядок».

В военно-техническом отношении предполагается осуществить ряд мер, связанных с модернизацией военно-морского компонента ССЯ, в частности, продолжить переоборудование двух эсминцев-вертолетоносцев «Идзумо» в легкие авианосцы и закупить для этих целей партию из 42 истребителей пятого поколения F-35B. Для замены устаревшего авиационного парка ВВС дополнительно планируется приобрести 63 единицы F-35A. До 2023 года намечено осуществить развертывание на острове Хонсю двух наземных комплексов системы ПРО «Иджис Эшор» (Aegis Ashore). Кроме того, в планах министерства обороны предусмотрены создание специализированного самолета РЭБ и разработка истребителя нового поколения для замены F-15J и F-2. В перечне приоритетов военного строительства названо усиление возможностей в космической сфере и киберпространстве.

Таким образом, в результате принятия вышеуказанных законов были устранены географические ограничения на деятельность «сил самообороны», а также снижен порог применения ими военной силы, что, безусловно, отражается на глобальном и региональном статусе Японии. Проведенные реформы, а также разработанные в последние годы нормативно-правовые документы, позволяют Японии более полно реализовать международные обязательства, связанные с урегулированием конфликтов, и, как ожидается, могут повысить в будущем шансы японской дипломатии на приобретение статуса постоянного члена Совета Безопасности ООН. Законодательство закрепляет глобализацию японо-американского союза и создает новые возможности для многостороннего взаимодействия. Кроме того, создается нормативная база для более тесных отношений с Организацией Североатлантического договора (North Atlantic Treaty Organization, NATO), которая фактически является основной участницей так называемого «урегулирования» вооруженных конфликтов во всем мире, действуя исключительно в интересах западных стран.

Следует отметить, что предпринимаемые ВПР Японии меры в интересах обеспечения юридического признания «сил самообороны» в качестве полноправных и полноценных ВС отражают общие тенденции к усилению националистической направленности внутренней и внешней политики государства. В правительстве и парламенте страны укрепляются позиции сторонников коренного изменения послевоенного законодательства и исключения из него в ближайший период положений, формально ограничивающих возможность превращения Японии в мировую державу со всеми присущими суверенному государству атрибутами. Несмотря на заявления о том, что статус «сил самообороны» согласно военно-доктринальным установкам остается неизменным, все очевиднее становится стремление Токио усилить значимость ВС как средства достижения внешнеполитических целей. Следует отметить, что изложенное выше указывает на истинные намерения Японии превратиться в будущем в одну из сильнейших в военном отношении держав мира.

Вполне очевидно, что основным препятствием для претворения в жизнь этих намерений является в настоящее время конституция страны. Однако, как известно, еще в мае 2017 года премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ установил предельный срок для пересмотра 9 статьи конституции (2020 год), с целью всестороннего обеспечения нормативно-правового статуса «сил самообороны» Японии.

Японские СМИ, в связи с 60-летием подписания японо-американского договора «О взаимном сотрудничестве и обеспечении безопасности», отмечают: «прошедшие годы характеризовались постепенным отходом Японии от принципов, зафиксированных в 9 статье конституции страны. Этот отход выражается в усилении военного сотрудничества с США, а также ставшим уже привычным направлением военных контингентов японских «сил самообороны» за границу».[1]

Таким образом, результаты анализа законодательной базы Японии в области национальной безопасности и военного строительства позволяют утверждать, что действующие в настоящее время правовые нормы юридически обеспечивают эффективное функционирование «сил самообороны» в мирное и военное время. Основными направлениями совершенствования военного законодательства на ближайшую перспективу ВПР страны определяет дальнейшую корректировку нормативно-правовой базы, включая основной закон государства, необходимой для гарантированного обеспечения национальной безопасности в условиях неблагоприятного развития военно-политической обстановки в регионе.

 

Руслан Полончук

 

СПИСОК ИСПОЛЬЗОВАННЫХ ИСТОЧНИКОВ

  1. Война и мир в терминах и определениях. Под общей редакцией Д.О. Рогозина. М.: 2011.
  2. The Military Balance. The annual assessment of global military capabilities and defense economics. 2018.
  3. Особенности военно-политической обстановки в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Зарубежное военное обозрение, №8. 2017.
  4. Военная политика и военная доктрина Японии. Современная армия, 30.12.2014. Интернет-ресурс http://www.modernarmy.ru/.
  5. Международная обстановка и угрозы национальной безопасности России. Зарубежное военное обозрение, №1. 2018.
  6. Расширение военного присутствия США в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Зарубежное военное обозрение, №8. 2018.
  7. Военно-стратегические реалии международной обстановки: вызовы и угрозы безопасности России. Зарубежное военное обозрение, №1. 2019.
  8. Законодательство Японии в сфере обороны и перспективы его совершенствования. Зарубежное военное обозрение, №2. 2003.
  9. Конституция Японии (перевод). Интернет-ресурс http://info-japan.ru/print/4516.
  10. Крячкина Ю.А. Престиж, нефть, Китай. Эти и другие мотивы побуждают Японию трансформировать силы самообороны в полноценную армию. Национальная оборона, №4. 2018.
  11. Белая книга по обороне Японии. Дайджест. 2019.
  12. Добринская О.А. Законодательство об обеспечении мира и безопасности: глобальное, региональное и национальное значение. Япония 2016. Ежегодник. – М.: «АИРО-XXI», 2016. – 400 с.
  13. Шарковский А. Токио в военном строительстве уповает на качество. Независимое военное обозрение. 07.10.2019. Интернет-ресурс http://www.ng.ru/armies/2019-10-07/.

Ермаков А. Острова цвета хаки: Япония приняла программу национальной обороны. Известия.IZ,17.01.2019. Интернет-ресурс https://iz.ru/834684/aleksandr-ermakov.

 

[1] Асахи симбун. 2020 г. Интернет-ресурс: https://inosmi.ru/politic/20200120/246650151.html

 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение