Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
The dispute delayed: Qatar and Turkey rejected the ultimatum of the Gulf
Material posted: Publication date: 27-06-2017
Qatar and Turkey said about the unacceptability of the sentences of Persian Gulf on settlement of the diplomatic crisis. In view of the divergent positions on the normalization of relations will take several months, experts say.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan on Sunday, June 25, stated that it supported the government of Qatar in their negative assessment of the requirements of Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates that those put forward for the settlement of the diplomatic crisis that arose in their relations with Qatar.

The representative of the government of Qatar, Sheikh Saif bin Ahmed al-Thani told Reuters on 24 June that the government was studying the proposal, but in its current form the list of demands is unreasonable and impracticable.

The list of demands of the four countries was published by the Associated Press. He was transferred to the government of Qatar on 23 June by Kuwait, which acts as a mediator between the conflicting parties. On acceptance of the terms of resumption of economic and diplomatic relations Doha allotted ten days, after which the document will be considered invalid.

What do the neighbors

The first list is a requirement for Qatar to sever diplomatic relations with Tehran and to expel all members of the IRGC (the IRGC), Iranian special forces of the army. According to the document, Iran and Qatar are only allowed to trade provided that it would not be contrary to the restrictions imposed on Iran U.S. and international sanctions.

Arab countries have also asked Qatar to sever ties with the Lebanese Shiite movement "Hezbollah" and banned in Russia organization "Muslim brotherhood", and also to stop the financing of terrorist groups "al-Qaeda" and ISIS (both organizations are banned in Russia).

Among the conditions is the closure of Turkish military bases on the territory of Qatar and the cessation of military cooperation between the two countries on the territory of Qatar. Ankara has already expressed its displeasure on this issue and have found a similar condition for direct intervention in its relations with Doha. The Turkish Ministry of defense announced on 23 June that is not going to revise the principles of cooperation and abandon military base in Qatar, which, according to Turkish defense Minister Fikri Ichika, is designed to provide security not only in Qatar but throughout the region. In addition, the Arab States demanded from Doha to eliminate the Al Jazeera TV channel and its branches in different countries, and to cover other funded by Qatar "directly or indirectly" media.

Requirements to break military relations with Turkey due to the fact that Turkey is one of the most consistent with the ideological perspective of the allies of Qatar, said a senior teacher of the Higher school of Economics, the Arabist Leonid Isaev. The position of Doha and Ankara on many foreign policy issues is similar to that evident during the "Arab spring", when the two countries were supported by representatives of the movement "Muslim brotherhood" in Egypt.

According to the document, Qatar should abandon the granting of citizenship to people from Saudi Arabia, Egypt, UAE and Bahrain, as these actions are considered by the authorities of those countries as interference in their internal Affairs. Former citizens of the four States Doha should be deported. From Qatar are awaiting the extradition of all persons wanted by the authorities of the four countries on suspicion of having links with terrorists and to sever ties with the political opposition in the four countries and provide information about previous contacts. Doha is obliged to pay compensation "for the loss of lives and other financial losses caused by the policy of Qatar in recent years." The document stated that the amount of compensation will be determined after consultation with Doha.

If an agreement is reached between the conflicting countries, Doha will have to give permission for the verification of compliance over the next ten years: first year — monthly, second year, every quarter, then once a year.


Anwar Gargash (Photo: Kamran Jebreili / AP)

The UAE called upon Qatar with all seriousness to the requirements in the event of default of which Emirates has threatened Doha "actual divorce." The Minister of foreign Affairs of the UAE Anwar Gargash warned Doha from attempts to find ways of resolving the conflict outside the Persian Gulf region. Qatar "you have to understand that the solution to his crisis is not in Tehran, Beirut, Ankara or the capitals of the West, and not in statements to the media, and in return, trust their environment and their neighbors," wrote Gargash Friday, June 23, on his Twitter page. Later in the day Gargash accused Qatar of leaking the list of requirements in the media and said that the incident will further strengthen and prolong the crisis.

Qatar waits

Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Libya, Egypt and Yemen broke off diplomatic relations with Qatar on 5 June, accusing the authorities of interfering in the internal Affairs of other countries and sponsoring terrorists. Qatar denies the charges.

While Qatari authorities are in no hurry to start negotiations and took a wait and see attitude, in order not to aggravate the already acute conflict, says Leonid Isaev: "If Qatar will react to the language of ultimatums, who chose Saudi Arabia, it will only aggravate the situation and create problems for dialogue, which Doha hopes". Qatar is ready to dialogue and even to compromise, but the fulfillment of demands impossible to the form in which they are presented, in particular the power of the state will not agree to close the Al Jazeera TV channel, which is the most powerful tool of "soft power" of the country, said Isayev.

How long will the crisis in relations between the two countries, according to Isaev, it is impossible to say: it exacerbates the rise in Saudi Arabia, Mohammed bin Salman, whom the king of Saudi Arabia on 21 June was appointed crown Prince. The crisis in relations with Qatar is an initiative of the new heir, and he won't quickly retreat. However, the hope that the crisis will be resolved, gives that Qatar was not in total isolation: to dialogue, in particular, urged Russia and the United States, which may contribute to the finding out of the crisis.

The previous crisis in relations between Saudi Arabia and Qatar with other Gulf countries broke out in 2014, and lasted almost nine months — from March to November.

"Given such high expectations (countries) and not very realistic requirements, I don't think the parties have many opportunities for negotiation. I think that Kuwait will need a lot of work to bring the sides closer together, and it will take not weeks, but months," said Ibrahim Fraihat, Professor Qatar Doha Institute in comments to Al Jazeera.

Angelica Basisin


Source: http://www.rbc.ru/politics/25/06/2017/594d18189a79474561c10b27


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Военно-стратегические оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Спор затягивается: Катар и Турция отвергли ультиматум стран Залива
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 27-06-2017

Катар и Турция заявили о неприемлемости предложений стран Персидского залива по урегулированию дипломатического кризиса. Учитывая различие позиций, на урегулирование отношений уйдет несколько месяцев, говорят эксперты.

Президент Турции Реджеп Эрдоган в воскресенье, 25 июня, заявил, что поддерживает власти Катара в их негативной оценке требований Саудовской Аравии, Бахрейна, Египта и Объединенных Арабских Эмиратов, которые те выдвинули для урегулирования дипломатического кризиса, возникшего в их отношениях с Катаром.

Представитель правительства Катара шейх Саиф бин Ахмед Аль Тани заявил​ Reuters 24 июня, что правительство изучает предложения, но в существующем виде список требований является неразумным и невыполнимым.

Список требований четверки стран опубликовало агентство Associated Press. Он был пе​редан правительству Катара 23 июня Кувейтом, который выступает в качестве посредника между конфликтующими сторонами. На принятие условий возобновления экономических и дипломатических отношений Дохе отведено десять дней, по истечении которых документ будет считаться недействительным.

​Чего хотят соседи

Первым в списке фигурирует требование к Катару разорвать дипломатические отношения с Тегераном и выслать из страны всех членов Корпуса стражей иранской революции (КСИР), спецподразделения иранской армии. Согласно документу, с Ираном Катару разрешается только вести торговлю при условии, что это не будет противоречить ограничениям, наложенным на Иран американскими и международными санкциями.

Арабские страны также потребовали у Катара разорвать связи с ливанским шиитским движением «Хезболла» и запрещенной в России организацией «Братья-мусульмане», а также прекратить финансирование террористических группировок «Аль-Каиды» и ИГ (обе организации запрещены в России).

Среди условий — закрытие турецкой военной базы на территории Катара и прекращение военного сотрудничества двух стран на территории Катара. Анкара уже выразила свое недовольство по этому поводу и сочла подобное условие прямым вмешательством в свои отношения с Дохой. Министерство обороны Турции заявило 23 июня, что не собирается пересматривать принципы сотрудничества и отказываться от военной базы в Катаре, которая, по словам турецкого министра обороны Фикри Ышыка, призвана обеспечивать безопасность не только в Катаре, но и во всем регионе. Кроме того, арабские страны потребовали от Дохи ликвидировать телеканал Al Jazeera и его филиалы в разных странах, а также закрыть другие финансируемые Катаром «напрямую или косвенно» СМИ.

Требования разорвать военные отношения с Турцией объясняются тем, что Анкара является одним из самых последовательных с идеологической точки зрения союзников Катара, говорит старший преподаватель Высшей школы экономики, арабист​ Леонид Исаев. Позиции Дохи и Анкары по многим внешнеполитическим вопросам схожи, что проявилось еще во время «арабской весны», когда обе страны поддерживали представителей движения «Братья-мусульмане» в Египте.

Согласно документу, Катар должен отказаться от предоставления гражданства людям из Саудовской Аравии, Египта, ОАЭ и Бахрейна, так как подобные действия расцениваются властями этих стран как вмешательство в их внутренние дела. Бывших граждан четырех государств Доха должна депортировать. От Катара ожидают выдачи всех лиц, разыскиваемых властями четырех стран по подозрению в связях с террористами, а также разорвать связи с политической оппозицией четырех стран и предоставить информацию о предыдущих контактах. Доху обязуют выплатить компенсацию «за гибель людей, а также другие финансовые потери, вызванные политикой Катара в последние годы». В документе указано, что размер компенсации будет определен после согласования с Дохой.

Если соглашение будет достигнуто между конфликтующими странами, то Доха должна будет дать разрешение на проведение проверки соблюдения требований в течение следующих десяти лет: первый год — ежемесячно, второй год — каждый квартал, затем раз в год.


Анвар Гаргаш (Фото: Kamran Jebreili / AP)

ОАЭ призвали Катар со всей серьезностью отнестись к выдвинутым требованиям, в случае невыполнения которых Эмираты пригрозили Дохе «действительным разводом». Министр иностранных дел ОАЭ Анвар Гаргаш предостерег Доху от попыток поиска путей разрешения конфликта за пределами региона Персидского залива. Катару «нужно понять, что решение его кризиса находится не в Тегеране, Бейруте, Анкаре или столицах стран Запада, а также не в заявлениях для СМИ, а в возвращении доверия своего окружения и своих соседей», — написал Гаргаш в пятницу, 23 июня, на своей страничке в Twitter. Позже в тот же день Гаргаш обвинил Катар в утечке списка с требованиями в СМИ и заявил, что инцидент еще сильнее ужесточит и продлит катарский кризис.

Катар выжидает

Саудовская Аравия, Объединенные Арабские Эмираты, Бахрейн, Ливия, Египет и Йемен разорвали дипломатические отношения с Катаром 5 июня, обвинив власти страны во вмешательстве во внутренние дела других стран и спонсировании террористов. Катар все обвинения отвергает.

Пока власти Катара не спешат начать переговоры и заняли выжидательную позицию, чтобы не усугублять и без того обостренный конфликт, считает Леонид Исаев: «Если Катар начнет реагировать на язык ультиматумов, который выбрала Саудовская Аравия, это только усугубит ситуацию и создаст проблемы для ведения диалога, на который Доха очень надеется». Катар готов к диалогу и даже к компромиссам, но выполнение выдвинутых требований невозможно в том виде, в котором они изложены, в частности власти государства не согласятся закрыть телеканал Al Jazeera, который является самым мощным инструментом «мягкой силы» страны, говорит Исаев.

Как долго продлится кризис в отношениях между странами, по словам Исаева, сказать сейчас невозможно: его усугубляет возвышение в Саудовской Аравии Мухаммеда бен Сальмана, которого король Саудовской Аравии 21 июня назначил наследным принцем. Кризис в отношениях с Катаром — это инициатива нового наследника, и он не захочет быстро отступить. Однако ​надежду на то, что кризис все же будет разрешен, дает то, что Катар не оказался в полной изоляции: к диалогу, в частности, призвали Россия и США, что может способствовать нахождению выхода из кризиса.

Предыдущий кризис в отношениях между Саудовской Аравией и Катаром с участием других стран Персидского залива разразился в 2014 году и продлился почти девять месяцев — с марта по ноябрь.

«Учитывая столь высокие ожидания (стран) и не очень реалистичные требования, не думаю, что у сторон много возможностей для переговоров. Думаю, что от Кувейта потребуется очень много работы, чтобы сблизить позиции сторон, и на это уйдут не недели, а месяцы», — заявил Ибрахим Фрайхат, профессор катарского ​Doha Institute в комментарии Al Jazeera.

Анжелика Басисини


Источник: http://www.rbc.ru/politics/25/06/2017/594d18189a79474561c10b27


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение