Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
The military-political status of the U.S. armed forces at the present stage
Material posted: Publication date: 12-03-2020
The loss of global hegemon status are associated primarily with a smoldering political and social crisis in the United States. In hard times countries are trying to save, and often this is reflected in their armed forces in connection with the sequestration of the military budget. According to the latest national defence Strategy the primary task of the Pentagon is creating opportunities for the President and diplomats conduct policy (negotiate) from a position of strength.

The ideology of the power of excellence completely satisfied with the American leadership, which has used "lead from a position of strength"[1]. However, in these documents the American experts acknowledged that "Today we go from a period of strategic atrophy and understand that our military advantages are reduced"[2].

Need to know what will cost the Americans the costs of further delaying military reform and delays in the re -[3]. "The failure of these defence tasks will reduce the global influence of the United States, the erosion of unity between allies and partners, and reduce access to markets, which, in turn, will reduce wealth and standard of living (ordinary Americans)". Without a stable and predictable investment by the government to restore the readiness and modernization of the us armed forces, they will quickly lose military advantages[4], in light of the protracted competition with China and Russia, which called in the national security Strategy and national defence Strategy the main task of the United States. This dictates the need for sustainable increase in appropriations for national defense because of the scale of potential threats.

At the same time to improve the efficiency of fracking to the American military, as required by Congress, has proved problematic, not reducing the number of programs and manufactured equipment. Accordingly, in the light of the relatively limited resources will have to concentrate on the key for America regions of the world. The NSS and SSS as a priority is designated the Indo-Pacific region, Europe and the middle East. In Europe, however, Washington must achieve "significant support from the key partners for NATO in the deployment of forces and resources on the Eastern flank of the Alliance[5] and an increase in EU defense spending that last two decades was a steady decrease in almost all over the Eurozone.

Speaking on the subject of military-technical condition of the U.S. armed forces it is worth noting the following main points.

At first glance it seems that the US army present a formidable force. The regular part consists of about 450 000 soldiers and the national guard – about 340 000[6]. However, over the past decade, the number of land forces decreased by 90,000 thousand people[7], due to the fact that Congress cut funding faster than reduced strength. In other words, in order to preserve the number of troops, had to suspend the modernization of the army. In the end, only about a third of the units has been sufficient training and provided with new equipment. The last major re-equipment of the American army passed in the 80-ies of the last century, and the main samples of American military equipment were adopted early.

The US air force are the most impressive in the world. Fleet of aircraft (LA) has a population of 13 million[8]. However, there are some problems (some of them): only 2,200 of LA[9] are combat aircraft, the rest of transport aircraft; serious age of most aircraft (about 30 years old, and in some categories over 50 years) in service, and also complications with the transition and development of new technology, the critical delay in its receipt. And F-22 and F-35 have become the "black hole" in the budget of the air force. An even more serious problem became a serious personnel deficit (1 500 3 400 pilots and mechanics)[10].

The status of US nuclear forces is satisfactory. However, there are egregious situation. Regulatory authorities officially recorded cases of abuse of alcohol and drugs in the service of the staff responsible for the maintenance of Intercontinental ballistic missiles (ICBM)[11]. With missiles no problem. They undergo scheduled maintenance and have been proved during test launches. The same can be said about the American strategic submarine fleet. The condition of the air component of the nuclear triad remains generally satisfactory. The available power is sufficient (90, 12 in reserve[12]), but limited.

Compared to other types of troops look best with the U.S. Navy. Their composition is listed 283 of the vessel[13]. In 2014 the Command of the naval forces of the United States deliberately began to implement the shipbuilding program, which is designed for a 30-year period and provides for the fleet of 308 warships and support vessels. Approval of the Pentagon, the elements minimally necessary to ensure the superiority of the national Navy in any area of the World ocean[14]. A pre-election statement by D. trump on the "great fleet" of America 350 the courts seem unattainable at the moment.

Undoubtedly, the increased allocation for various projects happen, especially at this point plans of the defense Department. The question is, who in the end will get priority for funding, because the money need all: army, Navy, air force, marine Corps. Apparently, we should expect heated battles of lobbyists from various branches of the armed forces of the United States in Congress.

Ways of implementation of the declared programs of modernization can be traced to only two: stretch the timing of the upgrade or increase in annual tranches on oboronno from the Federal budget. President J. trump has proposed a third way: "to put pressure" on corporations, so they dropped prices. However, the existing vicious system of procurement, the high cost of production technology in the United States, corruption and other problems to carry out its proposal to the Trump will be difficult, since even Congress was not able yet to even partially cope with this problem. According to the published plans of modernization, the Pentagon will need at least 15 years to close the gaps and regain confident technological superiority.

Alexander Petrichuk

 

[1] Kozin V. P. power Strategy. // RISS. URL: https://riss.ru/smi/9429/

[2] Summary of the 2018 National Defense Strategy of the United States of America. – P. 1. URL: https://www.defense.gov/Portals/1/Documents/pubs/2018-National-Defense-Strategy-Summary.pdf

[3] M. Świerczyński Wielka słabość wielkiego sojusznika. // 16 października. URL: https://www.polityka.pl/tygodnikpolityka/swiat/1723870,1,amerykanska-armia-dawno-nie-byla-w-tak-fatalnym-stanie.read

[4] Summary of the 2018 National Defense Strategy of the United States of America. – P. 1. URL: https://www.defense.gov/Portals/1/Documents/pubs/2018-National-Defense-Strategy-Summary.pdf

[5] D. Trenin, Russia and Europe: to strive for and what to do? // Carnegie Moscow center. URL: https://carnegie.ru/2018/03/29/ru-pub-75938

[6] Dunn, R. J. America's Reserve and National Guard Components. // The Heritage Foundation. 2016. URL: https://index.heritage.org/military/2016/essays/americas-reserve-and-national-guard-components/

[7] R. Hafemeister Who is to blame for the “too-small” military? URL: https://rodhafemeister.wordpress.com/tag/end-strength/

[8] Major powers: Our Top 10 of military aviation strength. URL: https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/major-powers-our-top-10-of-military-aviation-streng-419734/

[9] C. Hoyle Major powers: Our Top 10 of military aviation strength. // FlightGlobal. URL: http://armiyahelp.ru/novosti/sravnenie-armij-rossii-i-ssha-na-2017-god.html

[10] C. Woody, The Air Force is facing a 'quiet crisis' of manpower, but recruitment isn't the problem // Business Insider. URL: http://www.businessinsider.com/air-force-has-a-pilot-shortage-due-to-lack-of-training-resources-2017-10

[11] In the US, 11 air force officers suspended for possession and use of drugs // JSC "TV Center". 2014. 16 Jan. URL: http://www.tvc.ru/news/show/id/28433

[12] The Military Balance 2018 // IISS. URL: https://www.iiss.org/en/publications/military%20balance/issues/the-military-balance-2018-545f/mb2018-03-north-america-4da2

[13] the Status of the Navy // Official Website of the United States Navy. 2018. 27 March. URL: URL: http://www.navy.mil/navydata/nav_legacy.asp?id=146

[14] Mishin S. Shipbuilding program of the naval forces of the United States // Foreign military review. No. 12. S. 67-73. URL: http://pentagonus.ru/publ/korablestroitelnaja_programma_voenno_morskie_sil_ssha_ch1_2016/27-1-0-2748

Tags: assessment , strategy , USA


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Военно-стратегические оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Военно-политическое состояние вооруженных сил США на современном этапе
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 12-03-2020
Утрата статуса мирового гегемона сопряжена, прежде всего, с тлеющим политическим и социальным кризисом в самих США. В тяжелое время страны пытаются экономить, и зачастую это отражается на их вооруженных силах в связи с секвестром военных бюджетов. Согласно последней Стратегии национальной обороны первоочередной задачей Пентагона является создание возможности для президента и дипломатов вести политику (переговоры) с позиции силы.

Идеология силового превосходства полностью устраивает американское руководство, которое привыкло «лидировать с позиции силы»[1]. Однако в указанных документах американские специалисты признали, что «Сегодня мы выходим из периода стратегической атрофии и понимаем, что наши военные преимущества уменьшаются»[2].

Необходимо понимать, чего будут стоить американцам издержки дальнейшего оттягивания военной реформы и задержки в перевооружении[3]. «Невыполнение этих оборонных задач приведет к уменьшению глобального влияния США, размыванию сплоченности между союзниками и партнерами и сокращению доступа к рынкам, что в свою очередь будет способствовать снижению благосостояния и уровня жизни (простых американцев)». Без устойчивых и предсказуемых инвестиций со стороны правительства в восстановление готовности и модернизацию американских вооруженных сил, они быстро потеряют военные преимущества[4], в свете затяжного соревнования с Китаем и Россией, которое названо в Стратегии национальной безопасности и Стратегии национальной обороны главной задачей США. Это диктует необходимость устойчивого увеличения ассигнований на национальную оборону из-за масштаба потенциальных угроз.

В то же время повысить эффективность вливаний в американский ВПК, как того требует Конгресс, оказалось проблематично, не сократив количество программ и создаваемой техники. Соответственно в силу относительной ограниченности ресурсов придется сконцентрировать внимание на ключевых для Америки регионах мира. В СНБ и СНО в качестве приоритетных обозначены Индо-Тихоокеанский регион, Европа и Ближний Восток. В Европе же Вашингтону необходимо добиться «существенной поддержки со стороны ключевых партнеров по НАТО в вопросе размещения сил и средств на восточном фланге альянса[5] и увеличение ЕС расходов на оборону, которые последние два десятилетия устойчиво снижались почти по всей еврозоне.

Говоря предметно о военно-техническом состоянии ВС США стоит отметить следующие основные положения.

На первый взгляд кажется, что сухопутные войска США представляют грозную силу. Регулярные части насчитывают около 450 000 тысяч военнослужащих, а Национальная гвардия – около 340 000 тысяч[6]. При этом за прошедшее десятилетие численность сухопутных войск уменьшились на 90000 тысяч человек[7], из-за того, что Конгресс  урезал финансирование быстрее, чем сокращался численный состав. Другими словами, ради сохранения количества военнослужащих, пришлось приостановить модернизацию армии. В итоге только около трети подразделений прошло достаточную подготовку и снабжено новой экипировкой. Последнее серьезное перевооружение американской армии прошло в 80-х гг. прошлого века, а основные образцы американской боевой техники были приняты на вооружение еще раньше.

ВВС США являются самыми внушительными в мире. Парк летательных аппаратов (ЛА) насчитывает 13 тысяч единиц[8]. Однако и здесь имеются свои проблемы (часть из них): только 2200 единиц ЛА[9] являются боевыми самолетами, остальное – транспортная авиация; серьезный возраст большинства самолетов (около 30 лет, а по некоторым категориям за 50 лет) находящихся на вооружении, а также осложнения с переходом и освоением новой техники, критические задержки в ее поступлении. А программы F-22 и F-35 стали «черной дырой» в бюджете ВВС. Еще более серьезной проблемой стал серьезный кадров дефицит (1 500 пилотов и 3 400 механиков)[10].

Состояние ядерных сил США является удовлетворительным. Однако имеют место вопиющие ситуации. Контролирующими органами официально зафиксированы случаи злоупотребления алкоголем и наркотикам на службе среди персонала, отвечавшего за обслуживание межконтинентальных баллистических ракет (МБР)[11]. С сами ракетами проблем не возникает. Они проходят плановый ремонт и хорошо показывают себя во время испытательных пусков. То же самое можно сказать об американском стратегическом подводном флоте. Состояние воздушного компонента ядерной триады в целом остается удовлетворительным. Имеющиеся силы достаточны (90 машин, 12 в резерве[12]), но ограничены.

На фоне других родов войск лучше всего смотрятся ВМС США. В их составе числится 283 судна[13]. Еще в  2014 г. Командование военно-морских сил США целенаправленно начало реализовывать кораблестроительную программу, которая рассчитана на 30-летний период и предусматривает наличие в составе флота 308 боевых кораблей и судов обеспечения. По утверждению Пентагона, такой состав минимально необходим для обеспечения превосходства национальных ВМС в любом районе Мирового океана[14]. А предвыборные заявления Д. Трампа о «великом флоте» Америки в 350 судов представляются недостижимыми на текущий момент.

Несомненно, увеличение ассигнований на различные проекты произойдет, тем более на это указывают планы оборонного ведомства. Вопрос в том, кто же в итоге получит приоритет на финансирование, ведь в деньгах нуждаются все: армия, ВМС, ВВС, Корпус морской пехоты. Судя по всему, следует ожидать жарких баталий  лоббистов от различных родов войск ВС США в Конгрессе.

Путей реализации заявленных программ модернизации прослеживается лишь два: растягивание сроков проведения перевооружения или увеличение ежегодных траншей на оборонцу из федерального бюджета. Президент Д.Трамп предложил третий путь: «надавить» на корпорации, чтобы те сбросили цены. Однако при существующей порочной системе закупок, дороговизне производства техники в США, коррупции и других проблемах осуществить свое предложение Трампу будет сложно, поскольку даже Конгресс не смог пока что даже частично справиться с  этой проблемой. Согласно опубликованным планам перевооружения, Пентагону понадобится минимум 15 лет, чтобы закрыть пробелы и вернуть себе уверенное технологическое превосходство.

Александр Петречук

 

[1] Козин В. П. Стратегия силы. // РИСИ. URL: https://riss.ru/smi/9429/

[2] Summary of the 2018 National Defense Strategy of the United States of America. – P.1. URL: https://www.defense.gov/Portals/1/Documents/pubs/2018-National-Defense-Strategy-Summary.pdf

[3] Świerczyński M. Wielka słabość wielkiego sojusznika. // 16 października. URL: https://www.polityka.pl/tygodnikpolityka/swiat/1723870,1,amerykanska-armia-dawno-nie-byla-w-tak-fatalnym-stanie.read

[4] Summary of the 2018 National Defense Strategy of the United States of America. – P.1. URL: https://www.defense.gov/Portals/1/Documents/pubs/2018-National-Defense-Strategy-Summary.pdf

[5] Тренин Д. Россия и Европа: к чему стремиться и что делать? // Московский центр Карнеги. URL: https://carnegie.ru/2018/03/29/ru-pub-75938

[6] Dunn R. J. America’s Reserve and National Guard Components. // The Heritage Foundation. 2016. URL: https://index.heritage.org/military/2016/essays/americas-reserve-and-national-guard-components/

[7] Hafemeister R. Who is to blame for the “too-small” military? URL: https://rodhafemeister.wordpress.com/tag/end-strength/

[8] Major powers: Our Top 10 of military aviation strength. URL: https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/major-powers-our-top-10-of-military-aviation-streng-419734/

[9] Hoyle C. Major powers: Our Top 10 of military aviation strength. // FlightGlobal. URL: http://armiyahelp.ru/novosti/sravnenie-armij-rossii-i-ssha-na-2017-god.html

[10] Woody C. The Air Force is facing a 'quiet crisis' of manpower, but recruitment isn't the problem // Business Insider. URL: http://www.businessinsider.com/air-force-has-a-pilot-shortage-due-to-lack-of-training-resources-2017-10

[11] В США 11 офицеров ВВС отстранены за хранение и употребление наркотиков // АО «ТВ Центр». 2014. 16 января. URL: http://www.tvc.ru/news/show/id/28433

[12] The Military Balance 2018 // IISS. URL: https://www.iiss.org/en/publications/military%20balance/issues/the-military-balance-2018-545f/mb2018-03-north-america-4da2

[13] Status of the Navy // Official Website of the United States Navy. 2018. 27 March. URL:  URL: http://www.navy.mil/navydata/nav_legacy.asp?id=146

[14] Мишин С. Кораблестроительная программа военно-морские сил США // Зарубежное военное обозрение. № 12. С. 67-73. URL: http://pentagonus.ru/publ/korablestroitelnaja_programma_voenno_morskie_sil_ssha_ch1_2016/27-1-0-2748


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение