Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / / Articles
Military-United States air force, in operations on the territory of the Russian Federation
Material posted: -Publication date: 25-12-2003

Recently a number of analytical centers of the administration and the defense Department has launched a review of scenarios associated with the possible collapse of Russia as a subject of international law. Commencement of works is due to the fact that, according to American military experts, to date Russia has not become a full-fledged democracy, and although it is still too early to belong to the category of "failed States", but the trend of recent months raises serious concern for the security of U.S. national interests in the region.

So, experts of the RAND Corporation in November 2002, during the Prague NATO summit were presented the results of a study of a possible negative development of the situation in Russia and the role of the air forces of the USA. The study was performed in the framework of the program "New challenges to the air forces of the United States" implemented by research Institute of air force of the RAND Corporation. The results are reflected in the RAND report MR-1442-AF "Assessing Russias Decline: Trends and Implications for the United States and the U. S. Air Force".

The RAND experts noted that recently there has been a serious deterioration in the political situation in Russia. In their view, this is due primarily to increasing centrifugal forces, which soon may lead to a territorial disintegration of the country. Fears of experts of the RAND and the catastrophic situation in the economy, which is fraught with severe technological disasters. There is no proper control over the nuclear Arsenal, and his steady aging, as well as the large number of unaccounted for radiological materials in both military and industrial. Broken control system of strategic nuclear forces that threatened unauthorized or mistaken launches. Control over tactical nuclear weapons are already partially lost, and in the future activation codes may become available for regional leaders, often not consonant with the Center. Sharply deteriorated state of health of the population, freedom of speech and human rights. Increasing racial, religious and ethnic intolerance. The rapidly increasing corruption at all levels of government, organized crime and the drug mafia. Completely destroyed and degraded the armed forces, as threatening to release them from under the control of the Kremlin in the event of a large-scale conflict. The presence of Russia's military doctrine paragraph about a possible preemptive use of nuclear weapons makes us believe that Russia due to its military and economic weakness may apply at the time of birth, even of a regional conflict. In this regard, it is noted that although the tendencies of situation development in the Russian Federation today cannot be called catastrophic, but the current situation raises serious concern of the military experts of the Pentagon about the possibility of uncontrolled developments in the political, economic, demographic and military spheres that threatens the loss of control by the Kremlin over nuclear, chemical and biological arsenals, as well as many times will increase the likelihood of major technological disasters at nuclear power and chemical production.

The RAND experts believe that these trends should be cause for concern not only for Russia itself but also for the United States, because they significantly increase instability in the region, which creates a direct threat to the vital interests of the United States and its allies. Thus especially emphasizes that threats emanating from modern Russia is several times more dangerous threats emerging from the Soviet Union, since their implementation in the context of the collapse of Russia is much more real than a large-scale confrontation with the USSR. RAND analysts remind that the territorial extent of Russia, its location, and nuclear Arsenal guarantee that this region of the planet will remain in the zone of vital interests of the United States for an indefinite period of time.

Given that the situation in Russia is directly or indirectly affecting the vital interests of the United States experts of the RAND do not exclude the possibility of using them for protection of American forces in the vicinity of Russia's borders and on its territory. In this situation, for the military experts of the Pentagon as much as possible it is important to evaluate the possible threat in order to ensure the ability to respond effectively and quickly. According to experts of the RAND, in the first decade of reforms in Russia, this region was not included in the area of responsibility none of the regional commands of the US army, and all decisions on the situation in Russia was taken at the level of the joint chiefs of staff. However, in recent months the situation has changed: the purpose of the operational analysis of the situation in the region it is planned to assign control over the situation in Russia in the European, Pacific and Central command.

Among the vital interests of the United States, the threat which may lead to the involvement of American troops in conflicts on the territory of Russia, experts of the RAND are the following:

  • the security of the European and Asian allies who have been directly affected by the consequences of negative events both in Russia itself and in the immediate vicinity of its borders;
  • safe and reliable export of energy resources from the Caspian basin;
  • the guarantee of nuclear safety and the prevention of any attempts (authorized or unauthorized) use of nuclear weapons;
  • prevention of leakage of components of weapons of mass destruction or their falling into the hands of terrorist groups;
  • alleviating mass suffering of the civilian population as a result of ethnic cleansing, rampant crime and drug mafia, absence of necessary medical care, hunger, etc.

With the aim of understanding the possible consequences and nature of the development situation in the region, analysts expect the RAND to the development of a number of scenarios in which to resolve the crisis the armed forces are used. In the case of attracting the U.S. army to resolve the crisis in Russia, the main efforts to ensure the operation will be assigned to the air force. Among the most likely scenarios are the following:

  • authorized or unauthorized by Kremlin actions of Russian military units in separate regions of the country, demanding independence from the Centre, or in the border regions resulted in the emergence and escalation of conflict;
  • border clashes with China in the Russian far East, between Russia and Ukraine, the Baltic States, Kazakhstan or any other state that could escalate into inter-state conflict;
  • the seizure by terrorists of nuclear weapons on the territory of Russia, or if stolen from the places of storage of nuclear materials threaten the security of Europe, Asia or the United States;
  • civil war in Russia, which may lead to the spread of the conflict to areas storing nuclear, chemical or biological weapons and agents, which would entail the risk of large-scale toxic and radioactive pollution, and humanitarian disasters;
  • emergency incident at the facility of nuclear power, which could endanger the life and health of a large number of the population in Russia and neighbouring States;
  • emergency incident at the facility of chemical or biological industry, which could endanger the life and health of a large number of the population in Russia and neighbouring States;
  • ethnic pogroms in South Russia, which could result in refugee flows to Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia and/or Ukraine;
  • economic and ethnic conflicts in the Caucasus, which would endanger oil and gas pipelines in the region;
  • large-scale environmental disaster such as earthquake, famine or epidemics, which could result in refugee flows, which would lead to the spread of disease and instability abroad;
  • more and more kriminalzinas the Russian economy can contribute to the creation of a zone of favorable conditions for terrorist groups on Russian territory. From this perspective, criminals, drug traffickers and terrorists could threaten the population and economy of Europe, Asia and the United States;
  • large-scale theft of Russian weapons of mass destruction and their technologies, which could contribute to the rapid increase of military capabilities of rogue States and non-state terrorist organizations, increasing the risk of nuclear war.

RAND experts emphasize that successful management of the situation in case of realization of one or another scenario will depend largely on available information about the region. In this regard, it is noted that in recent years the majority of republics of the former USSR in the framework of the program "Partnership for peace" held a series of joint maneuvers with units of the U.S. army, which allowed to gather the necessary information about the airfield and infrastructure of these States that is required to apply the U.S. air force in times of crisis. However, currently, such information about Russia missing. This means that in times of crisis, the best U.S. response to events in Russia will consist in the use of airfields and facilities in neighboring Russia States, primarily in new NATO members and some countries of Central Asia.

The Pentagon's military analysts note that the post-11 September 2001 the situation gives some chance to improve relations with Russia, though this relationship is rather complex and must be built very carefully. In their opinion, it is well known that Russia and the United States have publicly recognized their unified view on a number of issues, particularly in the global fight against terrorism. However, the fact that these two countries, sharing a common goal, does not imply that they share and their ideas about how best to achieve the goal in the fight against terrorism. In addition, each country continues to have its own interests in foreign policy except global counter-terrorism operations, and in some cases, these interests may be far more important than the fight against terror.

Thus, according to experts , the RAND is fundamentally important, based on the current cooperation, to demonstrate Russia's good relations with it are key to U.S. foreign policy, and in the meantime you must use the situation to their advantage to better understand how the processes of destruction of Russia will affect U.S. national interests. The situation should be used to collect information that will be needed in the event of a military conflict on the territory of Russia or in the immediate vicinity, recognizing that a downturn in relations may limit further receipt of such data. Joint programmes on the Russian territory with Russian military and civilian organizations could ensure the collection of key information on Russian capabilities, facilities, infrastructure and geography, which is essential for the planning of response in crisis situations. Without this information, response actions more difficult.

The United States government, including the air force must be ready to resolve the crisis even in the case of the worst scenario in which relations with Russia are extremely limited. Even in such circumstances, and regardless of how relations between Washington and Moscow, the United States will have to protect their own interests, if they are to affect events in Russia or in contiguous areas.

Tags: Russia , USA , security , threat


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Военно-стратегические оценки и прогнозы / Статьи
Военно-воздушные силы США в операциях на территории Российской Федерации
Материал разместил: -Дата публикации: 25-12-2003

В последнее время ряд аналитических центров администрации и министерства обороны США приступил к анализу вариантов развития событий, связанных с возможным коллапсом России как субъекта международного права. Начало работ связано с тем, что, по мнению американских военных экспертов, до настоящего времени Россия так и не стала полноценным демократическим государством, и хотя ее еще рано причислять к разряду «несостоявшихся государств», но тенденции последних месяцев вызывают серьезную тревогу за безопасность национальных интересов США в этом регионе.

Так, экспертами корпорации RAND в ноябре 2002 года в период проведения Пражского саммита НАТО были представлены результаты исследования возможного негативного развития ситуации в России и роли в них военно-воздушных сил США. Исследование выполнено в рамках программы «Новые вызовы военно-воздушным силам США», реализуемой научно-исследовательским институтом военно-воздушных сил корпорации RAND. Результаты отражены в отчете RAND MR-1442-AF «Assessing Russias Decline: Trends and Implications for the United States and the U.S. Air Force».

Эксперты RAND отмечают, что в последнее время наблюдается серьезное ухудшение внутриполитической ситуации в России. По их мнению, это связано, прежде всего, с нарастающими центробежными силами, которые в ближайшее время могут привести к территориальному распаду страны. Вызывает опасение экспертов RAND и катастрофическая ситуация в экономике, что чревато возникновением тяжелых техногенных катастроф. Отсутствует надлежащий контроль за ядерным арсеналом и его неуклонное старение, а также наличие большого количества неучтенных радиационных материалов как в военной, так и в промышленной сфере. Нарушена система управления стратегическими ядерными силами, что грозит несанкционированными или ошибочными пусками. Контроль над тактическими ядерными боеприпасами уже частично утрачен, а в перспективе коды его активации могут стать доступными региональным лидерам, часто не согласных с Центром. Резко ухудшается ситуация с состоянием здоровья населения страны, свободой слова и соблюдением прав человека. Возрастает расовая, религиозная и этническая нетерпимость. Стремительно усиливается коррупция на всех эшелонах власти, организованная преступность и наркомафия. Разрушаются и полностью деградируют вооруженные силы общего назначения, что грозит выходом их из под контроля Кремля в случае начала крупномасштабного конфликта. Наличие в военной доктрине России пункта о возможном превентивном применении ядерного оружия заставляет полагать, что Россия в силу своей военной и экономической слабости может применить его уже на стадии зарождения даже регионального конфликта. В этой связи отмечается, что хотя тенденции развития ситуации в Российской Федерации сегодня еще нельзя назвать катастрофическими, однако складывающаяся ситуация вызывает серьезную озабоченность военных экспертов Пентагона о возможности неконтролируемого развития событий в политической, экономической, демографической и военной сферах, что грозит потерей контроля со стороны Кремля над ядерными, химическими и бактериологическими арсеналами, а также во много раз повысит вероятность крупных техногенных катастроф на объектах ядерной энергетики и химического производства.

Эксперты RAND считают, что указанные тенденции должны быть причиной для беспокойства не только для самой России, но и для Соединенных Штатов, поскольку они значительно увеличивают нестабильность в регионе, которая создает непосредственную угрозу жизненным интересам Соединенных Штатов и их союзников. При этом особенно подчеркивается, что угрозы, исходящие, от современной России в несколько раз опаснее угроз, исходивших от СССР, поскольку их реализация в условиях развала России гораздо реальнее, чем масштабное противостояние с СССР. Аналитики RAND еще раз напоминают, что территориальная протяженность России, ее местоположение и ядерный арсенал гарантируют, что этот регион планеты останется в зоне важных жизненных интересов Соединенных Штатов на неопределенно долгое время.

Учитывая, что ситуация в России прямо или косвенно затрагивает жизненно важные интересы США эксперты RAND не исключают возможности использования для их защиты американских вооруженных сил как в непосредственной близости от границ России, так и непосредственно на ее территории. В этой ситуации для военных экспертов Пентагона важно как можно полнее оценить возможную угрозу с тем, чтобы гарантировать способность ответить на нее эффективно и быстро. Как отмечают специалисты RAND, в первое десятилетие реформ в России этот регион не входил в зону ответственности ни одного из региональных командований армии США, и все решения по ситуации в России принимались на уровне Объединенного комитета начальников штабов. Однако в последние месяцы ситуация изменилась: с целью оперативного анализа ситуации в этом регионе планируется возложить контроль за обстановкой в России на Европейское, Тихоокеанское и Центральное командования.

Среди жизненно важных интересов США, угроза которым может привести к вовлечению американских войск в конфликты на территории России, эксперты RAND выделяют следующие:

  • безопасность европейских и азиатских союзников США, которых непосредственно затронут последствия негативных событий как в самой России, так и в непосредственной близости от ее границ;
  • безопасный и надежный экспорт энергоресурсов из Каспийского бассейна;
  • гарантия ядерной безопасности и предотвращение любой попытки (санкционированной или несанкционированной) использования ядерного оружия;
  • предотвращение утечки компонентов оружия массового поражения или его попадания в руки террористических групп;
  • облегчение массового страдания гражданского населения в результате этнических чисток, разгула преступности и наркомафии, отсутствия необходимой медицинской помощи, голода и др.

С целью уяснения возможных последствий и характера развития обстановки в регионе, аналитики RAND планируют отработку ряда сценариев, в которых для разрешения кризиса используются вооруженные силы. В случае привлечения армии США к разрешению кризисной ситуации в России основные усилия по обеспечению операции будут возложены на военно-воздушные силы. Среди наиболее вероятных сценариев рассматриваются следующие:

  • санкционированные или несанкционированные Кремлем действия подразделений российской армии в отдельных регионах страны, требующих независимости от Центра, или в приграничных районах повлекших возникновение и эскалацию конфликта;
  • пограничные столкновения с Китаем на российском Дальнем Востоке, между Россией и Украиной, Балтийскими государствами, Казахстаном или другим государством, которые могли бы перерасти в межгосударственный конфликт;
  • захват террористами ядерного оружия на территории России, или в случае, если украденные с мест хранения ядерные материалы будут угрожать безопасности Европы, Азии или Соединенных Штатов;
  • гражданская война в России, которая может повлечь разрастание конфликта на участки хранения ядерных, химических или биологических средств и агентов, что повлечет риск крупномасштабных токсических и радиационных загрязнений и гуманитарных катастроф;
  • чрезвычайное происшествие на объекте ядерной энергетики, которое могло бы  подвергнуть опасности жизнь и здоровье большого количества населения в России и соседних государствах;
  • чрезвычайное происшествие на объекте химической или биологической промышленности, которое  могло бы подвергнуть опасности жизнь и здоровье большого количества населения в России и соседних государствах;
  • этнические погромы на юге России, которые могли бы повлечь за собой потоки беженцев в Грузию, Азербайджан, Армению и/или Украину;
  • экономические и этнические конфликты на Кавказе, которые могут подвергнут опасности нефте- и газопроводы в регионе;
  • масштабное экологическое бедствие типа землетрясения, голода или эпидемии, которые могли бы повлечь за собой потоки беженцев, что привело бы к распространению болезней и нестабильности за пределы России;
  • все более и более криминализирующаяся российская экономика может способствовать созданию зоны благоприятствования для террористических групп на территории России. С этих позиций преступники, наркоторговцы и террористы могли бы угрожать населению и экономике Европы, Азии и Соединенных Штатов;
  • масштабные хищения российского оружия массового поражения и технологий его производства, которые могли бы способствовать быстрому увеличению военного потенциала государств-изгоев и негосударственных террористических организаций, увеличивая риск ядерной войны.

Эксперты RAND подчеркивают, что успешное управление ситуацией в случае реализации того или иного сценария будет во многом зависеть от имеющейся информации о регионе. В этой связи отмечается, что за последние годы большинство республик бывшего СССР в рамках программы «Партнерство ради мира» провели ряд совместных маневров с подразделениями армии США, что позволило собрать необходимую информацию об аэродромах базирования и инфраструктуре этих государств, необходимую для применения ВВС США в условиях кризиса. Однако в настоящее время подобная информация о России отсутствует. Это означает, что в случае кризиса лучший для США вариант ответа на события в России будет состоять в использовании аэродромов и инфраструктуры обслуживания в сопредельных с Россией государствах – прежде всего в новых членах НАТО и некоторых странах Средней Азии.

Военные аналитики Пентагона отмечают, что сложившаяся после 11 сентября 2001 г. ситуация дает некоторый шанс на улучшение отношений с Россией, хотя сами эти отношения весьма сложны и должны строиться особенно аккуратно. По их мнению, общеизвестно, что Россия и Соединенные Штаты публично признали их единое представление по ряду проблем, особенно в части глобальной борьбы против терроризма. Однако факт, что эти две страны, разделяя общую цель, не подразумевают, что они разделяют и их представления о том, как лучше всего достигнуть цели в борьбе с терроризмом. Кроме того, каждая страна продолжает иметь ее собственные интересы во внешней политике кроме глобальной контртеррористической операции, и в некоторых случаях эти интересы могут быть гораздо важнее борьбы с террором.

Таким образом, по мнению специалистов RAND, принципиально важно, основываясь на текущем сотрудничестве, демонстрировать России, что хорошие отношения с ней являются ключевыми в американской внешней политике, а тем временем необходимо использовать ситуацию в своих интересах, чтобы лучше понять, как процессы разрушения России повлияют на национальные интересы США. Ситуация должна использоваться и для сбора информации, которая будет необходима в случае военного конфликта на территории России или в непосредственной близости от нее, признавая, что спад в отношениях может ограничить дальнейшее получение таких данных. Совместные программы на российской территории с русскими военными и гражданскими организациями могли бы обеспечить сбор ключевой информации относительно российских возможностей, средств обслуживания, инфраструктуры и географии, которая является существенной для планирования ответа в кризисных ситуациях. Без этой информации подготовка ответных действий значительно осложняется.

Правительство Соединенных Штатов, включая военно-воздушные силы, должно быть готово к разрешению кризиса даже в случае развития худшего сценария, в котором отношения с Россией крайне ограничены. Даже при таких обстоятельствах и независимо от того, как складываются отношения между Вашингтоном и Москвой, Соединенные Штаты должны будут защитить их собственны интересы, если их будут затрагивать события в России или в приграничных с ней районах.

Сергей Гриняев


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность