Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / New in the military / Articles
DARPA invests $ 100 million in the development of genetic weapons
Material posted: Publication date: 06-12-2017
According to the Guardian, the Office of advanced research projects USA (DARPA) began developing weapons through genetic engineering. To work on the project, the Department has allocated 100 million U.S. dollars. New weapons will be to edit the genome of living organisms so that they will not be able to reproduce.

It is worth noting that at the moment, the project is designed to combat malarial mosquitoes, rodents and other species of fauna that represent a danger to humans. Moreover, the representatives of the United Nations has expressed deep concern about such action by DARPA, because such technology can be used for military purposes.

"Many countries fear, when such technology coming from DARPA, the research division of the U.S. army. You can destroy the virus or even the whole population of living organisms, but it can negatively affect other species that depend on them. More concern is the fact that with all the advantages of the disappearance of the threat from the face of the Earth, the consequences can be irreversible if the technology is not going to work as planned".

According to reports, the US government and DARPA are the largest investors that support genetic engineering. From 2008 to 2014 already spent 820 million dollars for research in this area. Modern methods for genome editing such as CRISPR are used to edit the DNA of insects to change the gender. Apparently, something similar is planned and DARPA. At the same time representatives of the Ministry say that the figure of $ 100 million was highly inflated and there is no threat for existence of biological species is not.

Vladimir Kuznetsov


Source: https://hi-news.ru/technology/darpa-vkladyvaet-100-millionov-dollarov-v-razrabotku-geneticheskogo-oruzhiya.html

Tags: assessment , USA , DARPA


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Новое в военном деле / Статьи
DARPA вкладывает 100 миллионов долларов в разработку генетического оружия
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 06-12-2017
Как сообщает издание Guardian, Управление перспективных исследовательских проектов США (DARPA) приступило к разработке оружия на основе генной инженерии. Для работы над проектом ведомство выделило 100 миллионов долларов США. Новое оружие будет редактировать геном живых организмов таким образом, что они не смогут воспроизводить потомство.

Стоит заметить, что на данный момент проект рассчитан на борьбу с малярийными комарами, грызунами и другими видами фауны, представляющими опасность для человека. При этом представители Организации Объединенных Наций уже выразили крайнюю обеспокоенность такими действиями со стороны DARPA, ведь подобные технологии могут быть использованы и в военных целях.

«Многие страны опасаются, когда подобные технологии исходят от DARPA, научного подразделения армии США. Можно уничтожить вирус или даже целую популяцию живых организмов, но это может негативно повлиять на другие виды животных, которые от них зависят. Больше опасений вызывает то, что при всех плюсах исчезновения опасных видов с лица Земли, последствия могут быть необратимыми, если эта технология сработает не так, как планируется».

Согласно отчетам, правительство США и DARPA являются крупнейшими инвесторами, поддерживающими генную инженерию. С 2008 по 2014 год уже было потрачено 820 миллионов долларов США на исследования в этой сфере. Современные методы редактирования генома наподобие CRISPR позволяют редактировать участки ДНК насекомых так, чтобы изменить пол. Видимо, что-то подобное планирует и DARPA. При этом представители ведомства говорят, что цифра в 100 миллионов долларов была сильно завышена и никакой угрозы для существования биологических видов нет.

Владимир Кузнецов


Источник: https://hi-news.ru/technology/darpa-vkladyvaet-100-millionov-dollarov-v-razrabotku-geneticheskogo-oruzhiya.html 

Теги: оценки , США , DARPA


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение