Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / New in the military / Analytics
The definition of war in the 21st century
Material posted: Publication date: 20-02-2011

Review of the twenty-first annual conference on the strategy of the Institute of strategic studies Army war College, April 6-8, 2010. The conference was attended by over 150 leading military theorists and strategists. The conference has become one of those venues that sounded problematic issues and research priorities relating to the nature and character of war in the 21st century. As part of this review provides a summary of the issues and problems discussed at the conference, the understanding of which requires on the reader's familiarity with basic elements and conceptual apparatus of Western military culture and strategy.

The collapse of the bipolar world and the resulting shifts in the geopolitical landscape was initiated in the intellectual circles of the West, dealing with issues of national security, the debate about the nature and character of war and strategy in the new era. The changing security environment of the 21st century requires continuous reflection and development of concepts, to understanding of new and old threats. And if earlier the theoretical basis of the sphere of NB retained its relevance for many years and even decades, by the late 20th century, the picture radically changes when the emergence of new concepts and even frames became the norm. We can mention, for example, the Network paradigm, settentrione concepts, network and hybrid warfare, cyber warfare, complex operations, etc.

A number of theorists involved in the theory of war and strategy (strategists), believe that modern warfare is qualitatively different from the past, and in traditionalandTorrevieja war (wayofwar) is outdated and does not correspond to the security environment of the 21st century. As a result, the military organization of the state and the sphere of NB as a whole need radical transformation. Adherents of the traditional view of the war focus on the changing nature and forms of war in the immutability of its nature. According to them there is a kind of intellectual fashion, which should not touch the fundamentals, the principles of war and strategy, narabatyvaya for thousands of years. There is no doubt and which is not objected by the representatives of both approaches is the critical importance of the sites, where there would be discussions, allowing the military and political elites deeper understanding of the challenges and threats of the new era.

Since the end of 2009, you can see the growth in the number of publications devoted to questions of Grand strategy, of war and military strategy. This fact can be regarded as an indicator of the increased activity of the intellectual circles of the West in conceptualization of the experience gained in the framework of the last decade of military campaigns. One of the important events in this range is, of course, held April 6-8, 2010 twenty-first annual conference on strategy (twenty-firstAnnualStrategyConference) Institute of strategic studies[1] on "Defining war for the 21st century". The conference was attended by over 150 leading military theorists and strategists. The conference has become one of those venues that sounded problematic issues and research priorities relating to the nature and character of war in the 21st century[2]. As part of this review provides a summary of the issues and problems discussed at the conference, the understanding of which requires on the reader's familiarity with basic elements and conceptual apparatus of Western military culture and strategy



[1] the Institute of strategic studies, Army war College (StrategicStudiesInstitute (SSI) U.S. ArmyWarCollege) research experience in the areas of strategy and national security, the results of which are used directly by the army command and the Ministry of defense, serving as a bridge between these structures and the wider scientific and expert community strategy. The staff of the Institute includes civilian professors, engaged in research work, officers in active service, and required service components.

[2] the power of the Network, in this case Youtube, which were exhibited 22 of the report of the conference, allow to come into contact with the intellectual atmosphere that prevailed at the conference. 17 January 2011 http://www.youtube.com/user/USArmyWarCollege#grid/user/329BDBF4A6812CE7

 

The content

Introduction

Main report

The first panel. Historical Context

The second panel. Entry into the war

The third panel. The end of the war

Fourth panel. Veterans

A fifth panel. Military law

The sixth panel. The use of a changing understanding of the war

Conclusions

Bibliography

A brief overview of the speakers

Tags: USA


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Новое в военном деле / Аналитика
Определение войны в 21 веке
Материал разместил: Арзуманян РачьяДата публикации: 20-02-2011

Обзор XXI ежегодной конференции по стратегии Института стратегических исследований Армейского военного колледжа, 6-8 апреля 2010. В работе конференции приняли участие свыше 150 ведущих военных теоретиков и стратегистов. Конференция стала одной из тех площадок, на которой озвучиваются проблемные вопросы и приоритетные направления исследований, касающихся природы и характера войны в 21 веке. В рамках данного обзора дается краткое изложение вопросов и проблем, обсуждавшихся на конференции, понимание которых требует о читателя знакомства с основными элементами и понятийным аппаратом западной военной культуры и стратегии.

Крушение биполярной  системы мира и последовавшие сдвиги в геополитическом ландшафте инициировали в интеллектуальных кругах Запада, занимающихся проблемами национальной безопасности, дебаты относительно  природы и характера войны и стратегии в новую эпоху. Изменяющаяся среда безопасности 21 века требует непрерывного осмысления и разработки концепций, в рамках которых происходит понимание новых и старых угроз. И если ранее теоретический базис сферы НБ сохранял свою адекватность на протяжении многих лет и даже десятилетий, к концу 20 века картина радикально меняется, когда появление все новых и новых концепций и даже фреймов становится нормой. Можно упомянуть, например, парадигму Сети, сетецентричные концепции, сетевые и гибридные войны, кибер-войны, сложные операции и пр.

Ряд теоретиков, занимающихся теорией войны и стратегии (стратегистов), считают, что современные войны качественно отличаются от прежних, а традиционное видение войны (wayofwar) устарело и не соответствует среде безопасности 21 века. Как следствие, военная организация государств и сфера НБ в целом нуждаются в радикальной трансформации. Приверженцы традиционного взгляда на войну акцентируют внимание на изменении характера и форм войны при неизменности ее природы. По их мнению существует, своего рода,  интеллектуальная мода, которая не должна касаться фундаментальных основ, принципов войны и стратегии, нарабатывавшихся на протяжении тысячелетий. Что не вызывает сомнений и с чем согласны представители обоих подходов, это критическая важность площадок, на которых происходили бы дискуссии, позволяющие военной и политической элитам глубже понимать вызовы и угрозы новой эпохи.

С конца 2009 можно наблюдать рост числа публикаций, посвященных вопросам гранд-стратегии, войны и военной стратегии. Данный факт можно расценивать как один из индикаторов возросшей активности интеллектуальных кругов Запада по осмыслению опыта, накопленного в рамках проводимых последние десятилетия военных кампаний.  Одной из важных событий в данном ряду является, безусловно, проходившая 6-8 апреля 2010 XXI ежегодная конференция по стратегии (XXIAnnualStrategyConference) Института стратегических исследований[1] по теме «Определение войны в 21 веке». В работе конференции приняли участие свыше 150 ведущих военных теоретиков и стратегистов. Конференция стала одной из тех площадок, на которой озвучиваются проблемные вопросы и приоритетные направления исследований, касающихся природы и характера войны в 21 веке[2]. В рамках данного обзора дается краткое изложение вопросов и проблем, обсуждавшихся на конференции, понимание которых требует о читателя знакомства с основными элементами и понятийным аппаратом западной военной культуры и стратегии



[1] Институт стратегических исследований Армейского военного колледжа (StrategicStudiesInstitute (SSI) U.S. ArmyWarCollege) занимается исследованиями в области стратегии и национальной безопасности, результаты работы которого непосредственно используются командованием сухопутных войск и Министерства обороны США, служа мостом между данными структурами и более широким научным и экспертным сообществом, занимающимся проблемами стратегии. В штат института входят гражданские профессора, занимающиеся исследовательской работой, офицеры, находящиеся на действительной службе, и необходимые службы обеспечения.

[2] Возможности Сети, в данном случае Youtube, на который были выставлены 22 доклада конференции, позволяют соприкоснуться с интеллектуальной атмосферой, царившей на конференции. 17 January 2011 http://www.youtube.com/user/USArmyWarCollege#grid/user/329BDBF4A6812CE7

 

Содержание

Введение

Основной доклад

Первая панель.  Исторический Контекст

Вторая панель. Вхождение в войну

Третья панель. Окончание войны

Четвертая панель. Участники войны

Пятая панель. Военное право

Шестая панель. Применение изменяющегося понимания войны

Выводы

Библиография

Краткая справка по докладчикам

Скачать файлы:

1217.pdf (1060 Кбайт)

Теги: США


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение