Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / New in the military / Articles
Separate strategic characteristics of hybrid threats
Material posted: Publication date: 11-02-2016
Recently, despite the lack of large-scale world wars, we can observe their evolution, change of character and forms of manifestation: socially – political and strategic characteristics. In this regard the phenomenon of hybrid threats about which it is quite a lot told both in domestic, and in foreign military thought is represented very actual. Moreover, hybrid ways of war more and more get into separate regulations of NATO, defining this phenomenon as part of the military doctrine of the block.

In the Declaration of 2014 following the results of the summit of NATO member states in the Wales (NATO Wales Summit Declaration) hybrid methods of an antagonism are determined as «wide enough number of the obvious and latent military men, the semimilitary and civil measures applied in a uniform complex plan». It is obvious that the made determination is rather approximate and more likely puts before us set of questions, than gives answers to them. Though the subsequent analysis of separate documents of the block, statements of its management within the limits of a meeting of Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the countries of the NATO in December, 2015 allows to allocate some trends in the renewed strategy of the NATO concerning hybrid threats. In particular, interesting the thesis about a simultaneous combination of conventional and not conventional means of an antagonism as characteristics of hybrid threat [1] . Really, if to consider a phenomenon of a hybrid antagonism in a historical context, perhaps, it is possible to agree with such approach with reference to conflicts of the last century. Separate elements of similar influence how F.Hofman [2], were shown during the Irish revolts 1919-1920 - h, actions of Mojaheds in Afghanistan, the summer company of Israel against Hezbollah in 2006 the call of not state actors to the western style of conducting wars »Is marked specified«. At the same time, development of hybrid methods of an antagonism sees in two aspects. In - the first, use of the given mechanisms will occur under the state control as basic subject of a world order. In - the second, conventional means will reduce the share in a general kit of hybrid methods. It is remarkable that the western military doctrine on - former is guided by strengthening of military presence, fulfils movings of great strengths on a long distance. It is thought, in it consists some kind of "idol" of a military world view of the block of the NATO who consists in necessity of constant show of force through its corporality and tangibility. However, the similar phenomena are well enough described with reference to phenomena of the power and M.Fuko's violence in "to Supervise and punish".

Actual task of the state military building and defence in the given context is all-round development of "soft force» (or «the flexible power», soft power) which in military area finds reflexion in hybrid methods of an antagonism. Rather important use of mathematical and economic toolkit with reference to military and geostrategic planning is represented. As truly marked V.I.Slipchenko in «wars of the sixth generation», the victory in forthcoming conflicts will consist in deprivation of the opponent of economy. Special value in the present conditions is acquired by so-called "currency wars" which occur in stock market, to application of measures of restriction of interbank payments. All it becomes possible thanks to absence though any is international - legal adjustment of hybrid methods of an antagonism. Thus the military and analytical centres of the NATO (for example, CCD COE) regularly issue collections of recommendations about the most problem questions which actually become the guide to action. It is obvious that in the presence of political will even hybrid threats can be entered in legal space.

Undoubtedly, it is necessary to search for the reason of occurrence of new threats in the economic basis, a changing method of production, structural changes of world economy. Hybrid methods of an antagonism, possibly, constitute a transitive stage to following generation of wars. It is rather difficult to tell that hybrid threats in itself are capable to generate separate generation. On - former uncertain there is a concept of the given phenomenon and expansion of mechanisms of an antagonism on stages. Anyway, adequate reaction to new calls sees in an anticipation, advancing reflexion of new threats and in their immediate legal adjustment. Has passed that time when the international relations reflexed after the approach of "brilliant isolation» Great Britain, calling to react only to actually occurred events. Such policy has in many respects made possible has begun world wars. In the latest work «the World order» Kissindzher has quite right noted:« If it is not possible to provide an order with the consent or to impose force, it will be shaped by catastrophic crash, chaos - and by uncountable victims ». Danger of hybrid methods of an antagonism is their structural uncertainty. Namely, the world or war can be the decision of any conflict. Hybrid mechanisms as if coil between them, forming chaos space. As during Thirty-year war any state could not gain a resolute victory from - that all of them were approximately at one level of development, and now active use of a hybrid antagonism can quite lead to catastrophic consequences. A unique exit from such situation is legal determination of threats, the fresh wording of the phenomenon of war taking into account its overflowing in a hybrid channel. Finally, only on us depends, there are today's new methods of an antagonism the chaos, capable to impulse to world crash, or by a peace resolution of disputes they will pass in consent space.

Sergey Zarochintsev

 

[1] NATO countering the hybrid threat, NATO Act, 23 September 2011

[2]  Frank G. Hoffman, Conflict in the XXI Century: The Rise of Hybrid Warfare


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Новое в военном деле / Статьи
Отдельные военно–стратегические характеристики гибридных угроз
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 11-02-2016
В последнее время, несмотря на отсутствие масштабных мировых войн, мы можем наблюдать их эволюцию, изменение характера и форм проявления: социально – политических и военно–стратегических характеристик. Весьма актуальным в этой связи представляется феномен гибридных угроз, о котором достаточно много говорится как в отечественной, так и в зарубежной военной мысли. Более того, гибридные способы ведения войны всё более проникают в отдельные нормативные акты НАТО, определяя данный феномен как часть военной доктрины блока.

В Декларации 2014 года по итогам саммита стран – членов НАТО в Уэльсе (NATO Wales Summit Declaration) гибридные способы противоборства определяются как «достаточно широкий ряд явных и скрытых военных, полувоенных и гражданских мер, применяемых в едином комплексном замысле». Очевидно, что данное определение является весьма приблизительным и скорее ставит перед нами множество вопросов, чем даёт ответы на них. Хотя последующий анализ отдельных документов блока, заявлений его руководства в рамках встречи министров иностранных дел стран НАТО в декабре 2015 года позволяет выделить некоторые тренды в обновленной стратегии НАТО в отношении гибридных угроз. В частности, интересным представляется тезис об одновременном сочетании конвенционных и неконвенционных средств противоборства как характеристики гибридной угрозы[1]. Действительно, если рассмотреть феномен гибридного противоборства в историческом контексте, пожалуй, можно согласиться с таким подходом применительно к конфликтам прошлого века. Отдельные элементы подобного воздействия, как пишет Ф. Хофман[2], проявлялись во время ирландских восстаний 1919-1920 – х гг., действий моджахедов в Афганистане, летней компании Израиля против Хезболлы в 2006 г. Отмечается определённый «вызов негосударственных акторов западному стилю ведения войн». В то же время, развитие гибридных способов противоборства видится в двух аспектах. Во – первых, использование данных механизмов будет происходить под контролем государства как основного субъекта мирового порядка. Во – вторых, конвенционные средства сократят свою долю в общем наборе гибридных способов. Примечательно, что западная военная доктрина по – прежнему ориентируется на усиление военного присутствия, отрабатывает перемещения значительных сил на дальние расстояния. Думается, в этом заключается своего рода «идол» военного миросозерцания блока НАТО, который заключается в необходимости постоянной демонстрации силы через её телесность и осязаемость. Впрочем, подобные явления достаточно хорошо описаны применительно к феноменам власти и насилия М. Фуко в «Надзирать и наказывать».

Актуальной задачей государственного военного строительства и обороны в данном контексте является всемерное развитие «мягкой силы» (или «гибкой власти», soft power), которая в военной области находит отражение в гибридных способах противоборства. Весьма важным представляется использование математического и экономического инструментария применительно к военному и геостратегическому планированию. Как верно отмечал В. И. Слипченко в «Войнах шестого поколения», победа в предстоящих конфликтах будет заключаться в лишении противника экономики. Особое значение в настоящих условиях приобретают так называемые «валютные войны», которые происходят на фондовом рынке, с применением мер ограничения межбанковских платежей. Всё это становится возможным благодаря отсутствию хоть какого – нибудь международно – правового регулирования гибридных способов противоборства. При этом военные и аналитические центры НАТО (например, CCD COE) регулярно выпускают сборники рекомендаций по наиболее проблемным вопросам, которые фактически становятся руководством к действию. Очевидно, что при наличии политической воли даже гибридные угрозы можно вписать в правовое пространство.

Несомненно, причину появления новых угроз необходимо искать в экономическом базисе, меняющемся способе производства, структурных изменениях мировой экономики. Гибридные способы противоборства, вероятно, составляют переходный этап к следующему поколению войн. Весьма сложно сказать, что гибридные угрозы сами по себе способны сформировать отдельное поколение. По – прежнему неопределённым остаётся само понятие данного явления и развёртывание механизмов противоборства по этапам. В любом случае, адекватное реагирование на новые вызовы видится в предвосхищении, опережающем отражении новых угроз и в их незамедлительном правовом регулировании. Прошло то время, когда международные отношения рефлексировали вслед за подходом «блестящей изоляции» Великобритании, призывавшей реагировать только на фактически произошедшие события. Именно такая политика во многом сделала возможным начало мировых войн. В своей последней работе «Мировой порядок» Г. Киссинджер совершенно верно отметил: «Если же порядок не удаётся обеспечить согласием или навязать силой, он будет выкован катастрофой, хаосом – и ценой бесчисленных жертв». Опасностью гибридных способов противоборства является их структурная неопределённость. А именно, решением любого конфликта может быть мир или война. Гибридные же механизмы словно извиваются между ними, образуя пространство хаоса. Как во время Тридцатилетней войны ни одно государство не могло одержать решительной победы из – за того, что все они находились приблизительно на одном уровне развития, так и сейчас активное использование гибридного противоборства вполне может привести к катастрофическим последствиям. Единственным выходом из такой ситуации является правовое определение угроз, новая формулировка самого феномена войны с учётом её перетекания в гибридное русло. В конечном итоге, только от нас зависит, останутся сегодняшние новые способы противоборства хаосом, способным дать толчок к мировому краху, или путем мирного разрешения споров они перейдут в пространство согласия.

Сергей Зарочинцев

 

[1] NATO countering the hybrid threat, NATO Act, 23 September 2011

[2] Frank G. Hoffman, Conflict in the XXI Century: The Rise of Hybrid Warfare


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность