Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / New in the military / Articles
Modern conflicts: their nature, driving forces and mechanisms
Material posted: Publication date: 14-11-2014

This essay consists of 4 parts, in which the author intends to consider the geopolitical importance of the Middle East, to give a brief presentation on the occurrence, causes and nature of the Arab-Israeli conflict, to identify the main driving forces and mechanisms of the conflict and to assess the role of Russia in this conflict and to analyze its geopolitical interests in the region.

Geopolitical importance of the Middle East

The middle East is at the crossroads of three continents, and this is an exceptional geographical position determined its special role in world history. It is a crossroads of Muslim and Christian civilization, many ethnic groups, and major sea, air and land routes connecting Europe, Asia and Africa. This situation makes the region is certainly promising from the point of view of economic development and the promotion of its national interests, thereby exacerbating the rivalry as the middle East and extra-regional States. In turn, the accumulation of different cultures, faiths and peoples is a huge potential for conflict and creates additional difficulties for policy purposes.
In fact the middle East is one of the most volatile regions in the world. The confrontation is carried out at various levels: between small ethnic groups, terrorist groups, neighbouring States and major geopolitical leaders. Throughout its history the middle East has seen enough conflict, however, one of the most acute and long considered to be the Arab-Israeli. His permission is the key to alleviating regional tension and thus is a top priority of the world community.

Genesis, drivers and especially the Arab-Israeli conflict

The idea of creating a Jewish state was the dream of the Jewish people for many centuries, however, the real preconditions for its implementation began to emerge in the early twentieth century. These assumptions were driven by the immediate geopolitical interests of one of the leaders of that time, namely Britain. Strategic benefit of creation of a Jewish state is described in detail Chaim Weizmann (future first President of Israel in 1948-1952 gg.) in a letter to his collaborator in 1914: "...should Palestine fall into the sphere of English influence and if England will contribute to the settlement of Palestine, as dependent on England country the Jews, after 20-30 years we would have been there a million Jews, and perhaps more; they would... would provide a highly effective protection of the Suez canal".

In another letter to Weizmann for 1916 says: "the English Cabinet is not only sympathetic with the aspirations of the Jews in Palestine, but would like to see these aspirations were translated into reality. England would have in the face of the Jews the most reliable friends who would be the best conductors of her ideas in the Eastern countries and would serve as a link between the two civilizations. This, of course, is not the most important argument, but any politician who looks 50 years ahead, should attach great importance".

On 29 November 1947 the UN General Assembly adopted resolution No. 181, which provided for the termination of the British mandate in Palestine by 1 August 1948, and the creation on its territory of two States – Jewish and Arab. The Jewish side accepted partition, and Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iraq and Yemen refused and demanded the establishment in Palestine of a single state formation. Thus, it created the conflict situation, which subsequently resulted in a number of warrior, the intifada and terrorist operations of different scale.

However, lowering further the conversation, it makes sense to specify that at the present stage of development there are three fundamental differences between the Israeli and Palestinian sides.

The first is the issue of ownership of Jerusalem, a Holy city for the Israelis and the Muslims. The UN General Assembly when deciding on the partition of Palestine in 1947 recognized the "city of three religions" special status and put it under international control. A year later, Jerusalem was divided between Israel and Jordan, and after the six day war in June 1967 was entirely in the hands of the Israelites. In fact, Jerusalem consists of two parts: a Jewish city with a population of 475 thousand and an Arab city (245 thousand).

The second problem is the Jewish settlements on the West Bank of the Jordan river. The construction of these settlements began soon after the six day war and today there are 122 settlements with a total population of 270 thousand people (and even 190 thousand Jewish settlers live in the district of Jerusalem in Arab territory, outside the West Bank). And though the territory occupied by the settlements is only about 6 % of the area of the West Bank that Palestinians consider the occupation of the mere fact of their presence.

The third problem are the Palestinian refugees. These are the Arabs who left their home for them in Palestine, when that became part of Israel. According to official estimates the number of refugees now exceeds three million, they live on benefits issued by the UN, in 32 camps in Jordan, the West Bank of the Jordan river, the Gaza Strip, Lebanon and Syria. In accordance with resolution 194 of the UN General Assembly adopted in 1948, refugees shall be ensured the right to return, which Israel, however, has never recognized.

There is a classic way to resolve these problems, which was developed back in the days of American President Nixon. It should be noted that for the U.S., Israel is of special political interest, because it is considered as a strategic partner According to the us plan, Israel must return the occupied territory, then creates an independent Palestine state but the Arab world recognizes the right of existence of the state of Israel. Jerusalem, as it was originally conceived, comes under international control. For US the resolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict is an extremely important foreign policy goal, as it will help to improve the image of USA in the East and to reduce anti-American sentiment. However, subjective factors hinder the implementation of this plan: the hatred between Arabs and Israelis is too deeply ingrained in the mind.

Role and Russia's geopolitical interests

Russia and middle Eastern world have a long history of diplomatic relations. As you know, the USSR was involved in the creation of the state of Israel. However, after a few years of the Arab-Israeli peace became an arena of the geopolitical war between the USSR and the USA. The diplomatic legacy of the Soviet Union ended in 1991, when President Boris N. Yeltsin, who was too busy with internal political and economic problems of the country. Of course in that period you can talk about Russian-Turkish or Russian-Iranian relations, but they had no character thought out a consolidated foreign policy program. New stage of development of the Russian policy in the middle East can speak only with the coming to power of Vladimir Putin, especially in his second term.

Of course, participation in the resolution of any geopolitical conflict brings first and foremost the recognition by the international community and strengthening influence in the conflict region. In this case, Moscow also seek to strengthen its position in the middle East and to compete with such major geopolitical players like the United States and the European Union. But there are two other most important geopolitical task. First, to find in the middle East strategic partners for the development of economic and trade relations and, thereby, to strengthen the Russian economy. Secondly, to stop the support of Muslim Chechen militants, who once again stepped up its activities in 1999.

The American invasion of Iraq has noticeably cooled the Russian-American relations and had an adverse effect on Russian-Israeli relations and pushing Russia towards greater cooperation with Palestine. Has developed an ambiguous situation. On the one hand, Moscow has supported Iran's nuclear program and maintained friendly relations with Palestine. On the other, tried to develop the Russian-Israeli cooperation. Thus, by the early 2000s the trade turnover between the countries exceeded one billion dollars per year, simultaneously, strengthened cultural ties and growing influx of Russian tourists in Israel. In 2003 Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon visited Moscow with official visit. And from the moment of capture by terrorists of school in Beslan, Russia began to actively promote the cooperation with Israel in the field of counter-terrorism.

While the popularity of the U.S. in the middle East fell sharply, Putin decided to formulate a new strategy for Russia in the middle East. With the beginning of the second term was followed by the visits of Vladimir Putin to the middle East, particularly actively developed relations with Syria. In 2005, Syria has been written off the debt of the USSR in the amount of 13.4 billion dollars, followed by the contract for the development of the Syrian oil and gas fields. Russia for the first time in many years returned to the political arena, announcing their growing influence and ability to be a strong and reliable partner. But of course the Central issue of middle East policy remains the resolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict. It is worth noting the important fact that in all that time not a single Russian military did not kill neither Arab nor Israeli. This is indisputable advantages of Russia in front of USA.

Russia continues to maintain a strong partnership both with Israel and with the Arab world. Russia is an important mediator for any peace talks and has achieved absolute trust of both parties. Over the past 14 years, Russia's image significantly improved in the global political arena. But many economic and cultural agreements in promoting Russian geopolitical interests. And although the problem of the Arab-Israeli conflict is still not resolved, you can certainly assume that Russia has achieved its goals, which were described above, including in the sphere of geopolitics.

Conclusions

Middle East because of its geographical position the region is of paramount importance. This situation certainly makes it promising from the point of view of economic development and promotion of national interests of many States. Therefore, the Arab-Israeli conflict, undermining stability in the region, negatively affects the potential of the Middle East. Russia have a long history of diplomatic relations with the countries of the Middle East. However, due to the unstable political situation the development of geopolitical strategy, little attention was paid in the reign of B. N. Yeltsin. And only with the coming to power of Vladimir Putin in the country there appeared a new geopolitical doctrine, with particular emphasis on the resolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict in order to promote the image of Russia in the international arena and the development of economic and cultural ties. Although the conflict is still not resolved, Russia achieved its objectives in the field of geopolitics.

 

Skvortsov D.

  

Sources

  1. The State Of Israel. Israel and the Palestinian question from the Jewish encyclopedia
  2. The State Of Israel. Israel and the Arab world — article from the Electronic Jewish encyclopedia
  3. "The Arab-Israeli conflict" (part 1) // the almanac "Cadeia Fikriya" (Egypt), No. 6, April 1988-277 p. (ar.)
  4. "The Arab-Israeli conflict" (part 2) // almanac "Cadeia Fikriya" (Egypt), November 1988-280 p. (ar.)
  5. Kuznecov D. V. the Arab-Israeli conflict: History and modernity. Essay events. Documents and materials. — Blagoveshchensk: publishing house of the BSPU, 2006. — 285 p.
  6. Kuznecov D. V. the problems of the Middle East and public opinion. In 2 parts. Part I. the Arab-Israeli conflict. — Blagoveshchensk, Moscow state pedagogical University, 2009. — 362 p. Reprint: Kuznetsov D. V. the problems of the Middle East in the mirror of world public opinion. Book 1. The Arab-Israeli conflict and public opinion. — LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing, 2010. — 412.
  7. Moshe Hirsch, Deborah Housen-Couriel, Ruth Lapidoth Whither Jerusalem?: proposals and positions concerning the future of Jerusalem. — Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 1995.
  8. Naomi Comay. Arabs speak frankly on the Arab-Israeli conflict: with original documents and comments by world leaders and writers. Printing Miracles Limited, 2005.

 


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Новое в военном деле / Статьи
Современные конфликты: их природа, движущие силы и механизмы
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 14-11-2014

Данное эссе состоит из 4 частей, в которых автор намеревается рассмотреть геополитическое значение Ближнего Востока, дать краткую справку о возникновении, причинах и природе арабо-израильского конфликта, обозначить главные движущие силы и механизмы конфликта, оценить роль России в данном конфликте и проанализировать её геополитические интересы в данном регионе.

Геополитическое значение Ближнего Востока

Ближний Восток находится на стыке трех континентов, и это исключительное географическое положение предопределило его особую роль в мировой истории. Здесь пересекаются мусульманская и христианская цивилизации, многочисленные этносы, а также важнейшие  морские, воздушные и наземные пути, соединяющие Европу, Азию и Африку. Такое положение делает данный регион безусловно перспективным с точки зрения развития экономики и продвижения своих национальных интересов, тем самым обостряя соперничество как ближневосточных так и внерегиональных государств. В свою очередь наслоение различных культур, конфессий и народов представляет огромный конфликтный потенциал и создает дополнительные трудности для решения политических задач.  
В действительности Ближний Восток является одним из самых нестабильных регионов мира. Конфронтация ведется на различных уровнях: между мелкими этносами, террористическими группировками, соседствующими государствами и крупными геополитическими лидерами. За свою историю Ближний Восток видел не мало конфликтов, однако одним из самых острых и продолжительных принято считать арабо-израильский. Его разрешения является ключом к облегчению регионального напряжения и тем самым представляет первостепенную задачу мирового сообщества.

Генезис, движущие силы и особенности арабо-израильского конфликта

Идея создания еврейского государства являлась призрачной мечтой еврейского народа на протяжении долгих столетий, однако реальные предпосылки к её воплощению стали складываться в начале ХХ века. Эти предпосылки были обусловлены непосредственными геополитическими интересами одной из стран-лидеров того времени, а именно Великобритании. Стратегическую выгоду от создания еврейского государства подробно описывал Хаим Вейцман (будущий первый президент Израиля в 1948–1952 гг.) в письме к своему единомышленнику в 1914 году: "...если Палестина попадет в английскую сферу влияния и если Англия будет способствовать заселению Палестины как зависимой от Англии страны евреями, то через 20-30 лет у нас был бы там миллион евреев, а может быть и больше; они... обеспечили бы в высшей степени эффективную охрану Суэцкого канала».

В другом письме Вейцмана за 1916 год говорится: "Английский кабинет не только с симпатией относится к устремлениям евреев в Палестине, но и хотел бы, чтобы эти устремления были претворены в жизнь. Англия имела бы в лице евреев самых надежных друзей, которые были бы лучшими проводниками ее идей в странах Востока и служили бы связующим звеном между двумя цивилизациями. Это, разумеется, не самый важный аргумент, но любой политик, который смотрит на 50 лет вперед, должен придавать этому большое значение".

29 ноября 1947 года Генеральная Ассамблея ООН приняла резолюцию № 181, которая предусматривала прекращение действия британского мандата в Палестине к 1 августа 1948 года и создание на её территории двух государств – еврейского и арабского. Еврейская сторона согласилась на раздел, а Египет, Сирия, Ливан, Иордания, Саудовская Аравия, Ирак и Йемен отказались и потребовали создания в Палестине единого государственного образования. Таким образом, создалась конфликтная ситуация, которая впоследствии вылилась в ряд воин, интифада и террористических операций различного масштаба.

Тем не менее опуская дальнейшую историю противостояния, имеет смысл указать, что на современном этапе развития существует три основополагающих разногласия между израильской и палестинской сторонами.

Первая из них – вопрос о владении Иерусалимом, священным городом израильтян и мусульман. Генеральная Ассамблея ООН при решении вопроса о разделе Палестины в 1947 году признала за «городом трех религий» особый статус и поставила его под международный контроль. Но уже спустя год Иерусалим оказался разделенным между Израилем и Иорданией, а после Шестидневной войны в июне 1967-го полностью перешел в руки израильтян. Фактически Иерусалим состоит из двух частей: еврейский город с населением 475 тысяч и арабский город (245 тысяч).

Вторая проблема – это еврейские поселения на западном берегу реки Иордан. Строительство данных поселений началось вскоре после Шестидневной войны и на сегодняшний день существует 122 поселения с общим числом жителей 270 тысяч человек (и еще 190 тысяч еврейских поселенцев живут в районе Иерусалима на арабской территории, не входящей в состав Западного берега). И хотя территория, занимаемая поселениями, составляет всего около 6 % площади Западного берега, палестинцы считают оккупацией сам факт их наличия.

Третьей проблемой являются палестинские беженцы. Это те арабы, которые покинули родные для них территории Палестины, когда та вошла в состав Израиля. По официальным оценкам количество беженцев сейчас составляет более трех миллионов, они живут на пособия, выдаваемые ООН, в 32 лагерях на территории Иордании, Западного берега реки Иордан, сектора Газа, Ливана и Сирии. Согласно резолюции 194 Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН, принятой в 1948 году, беженцам должно быть обеспечено право на возвращение, которое Израиль, однако, никогда не признавал.

Существует классический вариант разрешения данных проблем, который был разработан еще во времена американского президента Никсона. Следует отметить, что для США Израиль представляет особый политический интерес, так как рассматривается в роли стратегического партнера Согласно американскому плану Израиль обязан возвратить оккупированные территории, тогда Палестина создает самостоятельное государство, а арабский мир признает право существования государства Израиль. Иерусалим, как и было изначально задумано, переходит под международный контроль. Для США разрешение арабо-израильского конфликта является чрезвычайно важной внешнеполитической целью, так как поможет улучшить имидж США на Востоке и снизить антиамериканские настроения. Однако субъективные факторы препятствуют проведению данного плана: ненависть между арабами и израильтянами слишком глубоко укоренилась в сознании.

Роль и геополитические интересы России

Россия и ближневосточный мир имеют долгую историю дипломатических отношений. Как известно, СССР участвовал в создании государства Израиль. Однако уже спустя несколько лет арабо-израильский мир стал ареной геополитической войны между СССР и США. Дипломатическое наследие Советского Союза прервалось в 1991 году при президенте Б.Н.Ельцине, который был чрезмерно занят внутриполитическими и экономическими проблемами страны. Безусловно в тот период можно говорить о российско-турецких либо российско-иранских отношения, однако они не носили характер продуманной консолидированной внешнеполитической программы. О новом этапе развития российской политике на Ближнем Востоке можно говорить лишь с приходом к власти В.В.Путина, особенно в его второй президентский срок.

Безусловно, участие в разрешении любого геополитического конфликта приносит прежде всего признание со стороны мирового сообщества и укрепление влияния в регионе конфликта. В данном случае Москва также стремиться укрепить свои позиции на Ближнем Востоке и составить конкуренцию таким крупным геополитическим игрокам как США и Евросоюз. Но есть и две другие важнейшие геополитические задачи. Во-первых, найти на Ближнем Востоке стратегических партнеров для развития экономических и торговых отношений и, тем самым, для укрепления российской экономики. Во-вторых, остановить поддержку мусульман чеченским боевикам, которые вновь активизировали свою деятельность в 1999 году.

Американское вторжение в Ирак заметно охладило российско-американские отношения, негативно повлияв при этом на российско-израильские отношения и подтолкнув Россию к большему сотрудничеству с Палестиной. Сложилось неоднозначная ситуация. С одной стороны, Москва поддерживала иранскую ядерную программу и сохраняла дружественные отношения с Палестиной. С другой, пыталась развить российско-израильское сотрудничество. Так, к началу 2000х годов торговый оборот между странами превысил один миллиард долларов в год, одновременно с этим укреплялись культурные связи и рос приток  российских туристов в Израиле. В 2003 году израильский премьер-министр Ариель Шарон посетил Москву с официальным визитом. А с момента захвата террористами школы в Беслане Россия начала активно продвигать сотрудничество с Израилем в области контртерроризма.

В то время как популярность США на Ближнем Востоке резко падала, Путин решил сформулировать новую стратегию России на Ближнем Востоке. С началом второго президентского срока последовали визиты В.В.Путина на Ближний Восток, особенно активно развивались отношения с Сирией. В 2005 году Сирии был списан долг времен СССР в размере 13,4 миллиардов долларов, затем последовал контракт на разработку сирийских газовых и нефтяных месторождений. Россия впервые за долгие годы вернулась на международную политическую арену, заявив о своем растущем влиянии и способности быть сильным и надежным партнером. Но конечно же центральным вопросом ближневосточной политики остается разрешение арабо-израильского конфликта. Стоит отметить столь важный факт, что за все это время ни один российский военный не убил ни араба ни израильтянина. в Этом заключается безусловное преимущество России перед США.

Россия продолжает поддерживать крепкие партнерские связи как с Израилем, так и с арабским миром. Россия является неотъемлемым посредником любых мирных переговоров и добилась безусловного доверия обеих сторон. За последние 14 лет имидж России значительно улучшился на мировой политической арене. А многочисленные экономические и культурные соглашения продвигают российские геополитические интересы. И хотя проблема арабо-израильского конфликта до сих пор не разрешена, можно безусловно считать, что Россия достигла свои цели, которые описывались выше, в том числе и в сфере геополитики.

Выводы

Ближний Восток в силу своего географического положения является регионом первостепенного значения. Такое положение делает его безусловно перспективным с точки зрения развития экономики и продвижения национальных интересов многих государств. Поэтому арабо-израильский конфликт, подрывающий стабильность в регионе, негативно сказывается на потенциале Ближнего Востока. Россия имеют долгую историю дипломатических отношений со странами Ближнего Востока. Тем не менее, из-за нестабильной внутриполитической ситуации развитию геополитической стратегии уделялось мало внимания в годы правления Б.Н.Ельцина. И лишь с приходом к власти В.В.Путина в стране появилась новая геополитическая доктрина, особое внимание в которой уделяется разрешению арабо-израильского конфликта в целях продвижения имиджа России на международной арене и развития экономических и культурных связей. Несмотря на то что конфликт все еще не разрешён, Россия достигла поставленных целей в области геополитики.

 

Скворцова Д.Д.

  

Источники

  1. Государство Израиль. Израиль и палестинская проблема — статья из Электронной еврейской энциклопедии
  2. Государство Израиль. Израиль и арабский мир — статья из Электронной еврейской энциклопедии
  3. «Арабо-израильский конфликт» (часть 1) // альманах «Кадайя Фикрийя» (Египет), № 6, апрель 1988—277 стр.  (ар.)
  4. «Арабо-израильский конфликт» (часть 2) // альманах «Кадайя Фикрийя» (Египет), ноябрь 1988—280 стр.  (ар.)
  5. Кузнецов Д. В. Арабо-израильский конфликт: История и современность. Очерк событий. Документы и материалы. — Благовещенск: Изд-во БГПУ, 2006. — 285 с.
  6. Кузнецов Д. В. Проблемы Ближнего Востока и общественное мнение. В 2-х частях. Часть I. Арабо-израильский конфликт. — Благовещенск, Изд-во БГПУ, 2009. — 362 с. Переиздание: Кузнецов Д. В. Проблемы Ближнего Востока в зеркале мирового общественного мнения. Книга 1. Арабо-израильский конфликт и общественное мнение. — LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing, 2010. — 412 с.
  7. Moshe Hirsch, Deborah Housen-Couriel, Ruth Lapidoth Whither Jerusalem?: proposals and positions concerning the future of Jerusalem. — Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 1995.
  8. Naomi Comay. Arabs speak frankly on the Arab-Israeli conflict: with original documents and comments by world leaders and writers. — Printing Miracles Limited, 2005.

 


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение