Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / The Armed Forces of the Russian Federation: yesterday, today and tomorrow / Articles
Underwater world: how a Soviet submarine circled the globe
Material posted: Publication date: 29-02-2020
On the night of February 1966 two Soviet nuclear-powered submarine K-116 and K-133 was released from the naval base of the Western Face in the Barents sea. They had 52 days to go under water, 21 thousand nautical miles, that is to get around under water the entire globe.

In a unique campaign involving serial nuclear submarines without any modifications.

Missile boat K-116 (project 675) under the command of captain II rank Vyacheslav Vinogradova joined the Navy in late 1965. It was intended to destroy ships of enemy missiles P-6, as well as for attacks on large onshore facilities strategic cruise missiles P-5M. The second nuclear submarine K-133 (project 627А) captain II rank of the Lion carpenter had torpedo armament. She was three years older submarine.

Before the Soviet submariners have been an ambitious task to overcome the anti-submarine secretly the borders of NATO and the United States in the Atlantic and the Pacific, and strengthen the Pacific fleet and two nuclear submarines. Therefore, directly supervised the operation commander of the 1 St submarine flotilla of the Northern fleet, rear Admiral Anatoly Sorokin. Its headquarters is located on K-116.

For the success of the command of the Navy paved route through lesser known areas of the World ocean. Although he considered three possible transition route. The first involves the transition around South America through the Drake passage, and the second around Africa through the Malacca and Singapore, and the third around Africa and Australia by the Singapore Strait. Admiral of the fleet Sergei Gorshkov chose the first option - through the Drake passage.

The submarine was moving under water and only occasionally rose to periscope depth to determine the location.

As recalled were on K-116 nuclear scientist and doctor of technical Sciences Anatoly Chekurov, the sub once surfaced at the entrance to the Drake passage. It was the most difficult section of the route is 1300 miles. At the tip of South America observed the treacherous currents and there are numerous icebergs, so the divers had to share navigation content.

Through the "graveyard of ships" - the Drake passage - subs "spent" tanker "Danube" and expeditionary vessel "Gavriil Sarychev". Seven days it took Soviet submarines to leave the boundary of the icebergs.

The connection between the submarines under water was maintained by using hydroacoustic equipment. Sometimes K-116 and K-133 at a certain time went to trick anti-submarine ships of the United States, and then met at the rendezvous point.

Successfully overcame the Soviet submariners and psychological testing. According to the RVIA member, historian Alexander Konovalov, to relieve irritability, fatigue and apathy were conducted shipboard feasts, celebrated the birthdays of members of the crew. By the way, under water 24 March 1966 celebrated the 45th anniversary of the commander of the detachment - rear Admiral Anatoly Sorokin.

Sailors To a-133 during the entire expedition were the handwritten journal "Chronicle of the campaign, or 25,000 miles under water", which contains poems, essays and drawings submariners. Now the log is stored in the Central naval Museum in St. Petersburg.

March 26, 1966, in 4 hours 26 minutes off the coast of Kamchatka submarine was met by Soviet destroyers. The transition took 52 days. After the transition K-116 and K-133 was enrolled in the division of Kamchatka submarine flotilla. The appearance of two new submarines in Krasheninnikov Bay was an unpleasant surprise to the US intelligence and NATO.

According to the results of an unprecedented campaign of six officers-submariners, including Admiral Sorokin and commanders of submarines, was awarded the title of Hero of the Soviet Union. The other crew members presented the awards and medals.


Source: https://rg.ru/2020/02/28/podvodnaia-krugosvetka-kak-sovetskie-podlodki-obognuli-zemnoj-shar.html

Tags: assessment , USSR


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Вооруженные Силы РФ: вчера, сегодня, завтра / Статьи
Подводная кругосветка: как советские подлодки обогнули земной шар
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 29-02-2020
В ночь на второе февраля 1966 года два советских подводных атомохода К-116 и К-133 вышли из военно-морской базы Западная Лица в Баренцевом море. Им предстояло за 52 дня пройти под водой 21 тысячу морских миль, то есть обойти под водой весь земной шар.

В уникальном походе участвовали серийные атомные подводные лодки без каких-либо доработок.

Ракетная лодка К-116 (проект 675) под командованием капитана II ранга Вячеслава Виноградова вошла в состав ВМФ в конце 1965 года. Она предназначалась для уничтожения кораблей и судов противника ракетами П-6, а также для ударов по крупным береговым объектам стратегическими крылатыми ракетами П-5М. Вторая атомная лодка К-133 (проект 627А) капитана II ранга Льва Столярова имела торпедное вооружение. Она была на три года старше подводного ракетоносца.

Перед советскими подводниками стояла амбициозная задача скрытно преодолеть противолодочные рубежи НАТО и США в Атлантике и Тихом океане, а также усилить Тихоокеанский флот двумя атомными подлодками. Поэтому непосредственно руководил операцией командующий 1-й подводной флотилией Северного флота, контр-адмирал Анатолий Сорокин. Его штаб разместился на К-116.

Для успеха командование ВМФ проложило маршрут через малоизученные районы Мирового океана. Хотя рассматривалось три возможных маршрута перехода. Первый подразумевал переход вокруг Южной Америки через пролив Дрейка, второй - вокруг Африки через Малакку и Сингапур, третий - вокруг Африки и Австралии мимо Сингапурского пролива. Адмирал флота Сергей Горшков остановил свой выбор на первом варианте - через пролив Дрейка.

Подлодки двигались под водой и только иногда поднимались на перископную глубину для определения местоположения.

Как вспоминал находившийся на К-116 ученый-ядерщик и доктор технический наук Анатолий Чечуров, субмарины только один раз всплыли на поверхность - у входа в пролив Дрейка. Это был самый трудный участок пути в 1 300 миль. У оконечности Южной Америки наблюдаются коварные течения и встречаются многочисленные айсберги, поэтому подводникам потребовалось обменяться навигационными материалами.

Через "кладбище кораблей" - пролив Дрейка - подлодки "провели" танкер "Дунай" и экспедиционное судно "Гавриил Сарычев". Семь дней потребовалось советским субмаринам, чтобы выйти за границу айсбергов.

Связь между подлодками под водой поддерживалась с помощью гидроакустической аппаратуры. Иногда К-116 и К-133 на определенное время расходились, чтобы обмануть противолодочные корабли США, а затем встречались в точке рандеву.

Успешно преодолели советские подводники и психологическое испытание. Как пишет член РВИО, историк Александр Коновалов, для снятия раздражительности, усталости и апатии проводились корабельные праздники, отмечались дни рождения членов экипажа. Кстати, под водой 24 марта 1966 года отпраздновали 45-летие командующего отрядом - контр-адмирала Анатолия Сорокина.

Моряки К-133 в течение всей экспедиции вели рукописный журнал "Летопись похода, или 25 000 миль под водой", где собраны стихи, очерки и рисунки подводников. Сейчас журнал хранится в Центральном военно-морском музее Санкт-Петербурга.

26 марта 1966 года, в 4 часа 26 минут, у берегов Камчатки подлодки были встречены советскими эсминцами. Переход занял 52 дня. После перехода К-116 и К-133 были зачислены в дивизию подлодок Камчатской военной флотилии. Появление двух новейших субмарин в бухте Крашенинникова стало неприятных сюрпризом для разведки США и стран НАТО.

По итогам беспримерного похода шестерым офицерам-подводникам, в том числе адмиралу Сорокину и командирам субмарин, было присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза. Других членов экипажей представили к орденам и медалям.


Источник: https://rg.ru/2020/02/28/podvodnaia-krugosvetka-kak-sovetskie-podlodki-obognuli-zemnoj-shar.html 

Теги: оценки , СССР


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение