Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Iraq: Lessons and Conclusions / Analytics
Information war during the aggression by the US, UK and their allies against Iraq
Material posted: Grinyaev SergeyPublication date: 20-07-2011

In the book summarizes information on the preparation, organization and information warfare the United States, Britain and their allies in the aggression against Iraq. The book also considered and countermeasures taken by the armed forces of Iraq in the field of information. The collection is intended for persons engaged in studying the problems of information warfare and information warfare.

The armed aggression of the USA, UK and their allies against Iraq in March 2003 was the first large-scale military conflict is not only a new twenty-first century but a new Millennium.

The main feature, the "novelty" of the Iraq war, according to experts, is that directly in the combat action phase was like the cover, ensuring information action phase. It is information on effective actions and special operations and have concentrated the main efforts of the United States. They expected and, ultimately, obtained was the main effect and outcome of the company.

As the analysis of the situation, the building of Iraqi forces in the Baghdad area were given the opportunity to organize a long-term defense of the city. But this did not happen. Hundreds of units of heavy armored vehicles, dozens of aircraft, thousands of guns and mortars, the Iraqi army had abandoned on the battlefield.

The last war in Iraq is different, moreover, and the fact that it, unlike the wars in Iraq in 1991, Of Yugoslavia in 1999. and in Afghanistan in 2001, clearly there is a trend of increase in the proportion of fighting in the information sphere and, consequently, the declining share of the war. From war to war fighting in the information sphere is becoming more sophisticated, aggressive character. Forms and methods of information warfare are becoming more diverse, gradually information covering virtually all spheres of life not only enemies, but also allies, the entire world community.

The war in Iraq demonstrated not only the growing U.S. desire for world domination, but already well-established scheme for achieving this goal:

  • the choice of another victim (in a critical geopolitical points, spheres of influence and interests of Russia close to its borders);
  • its political, economic, financial and military isolation;
  • enhanced action and financial support in advance created a "fifth column";
  • decomposition, split, corrupting the political and military elite;
  • the operation of threatening and intimidating the population, government and military leaders at all levels of management with the destruction (destruction) of the critical information objects, control objects, culture, Economics and livelihoods, with the mandatory victims civilians;
  • holding directly of the military phase of the operation to take control of critically important objects, the establishment of the occupation regime based on the "fifth column";
  • the choice of the next victim, etc.

Although direct data about special operations against state, political and military leaders of Iraq there, however, the analysis of combat actions (or rather inaction) of the Iraqi armed forces suggests that the military-political leadership of the country at almost all levels had been bribed in advance, or completely neutralized in their actions. This is confirmed by the fact that during the hostilities in Iraq, the US has practically abandoned its traditional powerful fire impact on the enemy in the beginning of the operation, to achieve full and guaranteed military superiority. It is thought that the military-political leadership of the anti-Iraq coalition was confident in the other's superiority over the enemy information.

Sufficient knowledge on the US prior to the conflict also indicates a relatively low intensity air reconnaissance for the reconnaissance aircraft of the air force and the U.S. Navy made only a few dozen departures. More widely used unmanned aerial vehicles long duration flight.

In General in the previous military campaign in Iraq is clearly visible early and thorough training (at least, at a strategic, governmental level) a consistent set of aims, objectives and activities of information warfare not only in the campaign directly in Iraq, but in the framework of the global strategy of the US conquest of world domination and the retention of the "status quo" of the post-Cold war.

Analyzing the developments, one can conclude that the main objects of the U.S., which has proven to be a powerful informational influence were a particular state, political and military leaders of some of the world's States and leading international organizations. In processing, isolation they mostly succeeded.

The above features of the last war in Iraq necessitate careful study and analysis of the experience of information warfare in the course of its preparation and conduct.

Tags: war , USA , security


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Ирак: уроки и выводы / Аналитика
Информационная война в ходе агрессии США, Великобритании и их союзников против Ирака
Материал разместил: Гриняев Сергей НиколаевичДата публикации: 20-07-2011

В сборнике обобщена информация по подготовке, организации и ведению информационной войны США, Великобританией и их союзниками в ходе агрессии против Ирака. В книге также рассмотрены и контрмеры, предпринятые вооруженными силами Ирака в информационной сфере. Сборник предназначен для лиц, занятых изучением проблемы информационных войн и информационного противоборства.

Вооруженная агрессия США, Великобритании и их союзников против  Ирака в марте 2003 года стала первым крупномасштабным военным конфликтом не только нового XXI века, но и нового тысячелетия.

Основная особенность, «новизна» войны в Ираке, по мнению экспертов, заключается в том, что в ней непосредственно боевая фаза действия являлась как бы прикрытием, обес­печением информационной фазы действий. Именно на результативных информационных дейст­виях и специальных операциях и были сосредоточены основные усилия США. Именно от них и ожидался и, в конечном счете, был получен главный эффект и конечный результат компании.

Как показывает анализ ситуации, оперативное построение иракский войск в районе Багдада давало возможность организовать долговременную оборону города. Но этого не произошло. Сотни единиц тяжелой бронетехники, десятки самолетов, тысячи орудий и минометов иракской армии были брошены на поле боя.

Последнюю войну в Ираке отличает, кроме того, и то, что в ней, в отличие от войн в Ираке в 1991г., Югославии в 1999г. и в Афганистане в 2001г., четче просматривается тенденция нарастания доли борьбы в ин­формационной сфере и, соответственно, снижение доли непосредственно военных действий. При этом от войны к войне борьба в информационной сфере приобретает всё более изо­щренный, агрессивный характер. Формы, способы и методы информационной борьбы становятся более многообразными, постепенно охватывая практически все информационные сферы жизнедеятельности не только противников, но и союзников, всего мирового сообщества.

Война в Ираке наглядно проде­монстрировала не только нарастающее стремление США к мировому господству, но и уже вполне сложившуюся схему достижения этой цели:

  • выбор очередной жертвы (в критических геополитических точках, в сферах влияния и интересов России, вблизи от ее границ);
  • её политическая, экономическая, финансовая и военная изоляция;
  • активизация действий и финансовая поддержка заблаговременно созданной «пятой колонны»;
  • разложение, раскол, подкуп политической и военной элиты;
  • проведение операции устрашения и запугивания населения, государствен­ных и военных руководителей всех уровней управления с разрушением (унич­тожением) критически важных информационных объектов, объектов управле­ния, культуры, экономики и жизнедеятельности, с обязательными жертвами мирного населения;
  • проведение непосредственно военной фазы операции по взятию под кон­троль критически важных для США объектов, установление оккупационного режима с опорой на «пятую колонну»;
  • выбор очередной жертвы и т.д.

Хотя прямых данных о проведении специальных операций против государственных, по­литических и военных руководителей Ирака нет, однако анализ хода боевых действий (точнее бездействия) иракских ВС позволяет предположить, что во­енно-политическое руководство страны практически на всех уровнях было заблаговре­менно подкуплено, или полностью нейтрализовано в своих действиях. Под­тверждением этому является и то, что во время боевых действий в Ираке США практически отказались от традиционного для себя мощного огневого воздей­ствия на противника в начале операции, достижения полного и гарантированного военного пре­восходства. Следует полагать, что военно-политическое руководство антииракской коалиции было уверено в другом полном превосходстве над противником - информаци­онном.

На достаточную осведомленность США до начала конфликта указывает также срав­нительно низкая интенсивность ведения воздушной разведки - в целях разведки самолеты ВВС и ВМС США совершили всего несколько десятков вылетов. Более широко использовались беспилотные летательные аппараты большой продолжитель­ности полета.

В целом же в прошедшей военной кампании в Ираке четко просмат­ривается заблаговременная и тщательная подготовка (во всяком случае, на стратегическом, государственном уровне) комплекса согласованных по целям, задачам и времени мероприятий информационной борьбы не только в рамках кампании непосредственно в Ираке, но и в рамках глобальной стратегии США по завоеванию мирового господства и удержанию «статус-кво», сложившегося после окончания Холодной войны.

Анализируя развитие событий, можно сделать вывод, что основными объектами США, на которые оказывалось мощное информационное воздействие, были конкретные государственные, политиче­ские и военные руководители ряда государств мира, и ведущих международных организаций. В их обработке, изоля­ции они в основном добились успеха.

Вышеназванные особенности последней войны в Ираке обуславливают не­обходимость тщательного изучения и анализа опыта информационной борьбы в ходе её подготовки и ведения.

Скачать файлы:

766.pdf (7873 Кбайт)


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение