Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / The tragedy of Yugoslavia: Lessons and Conclusions / Articles
The March of Russian paratroopers: looking through the years
Material posted: -Publication date: 11-06-2013

Already 14 years have passed since that memorable date, as a result of rapid forced March in the night from 11 to 12 June 1999, having overcome more than 600 km of Russian paratroopers entered the city of Pristina in the long-suffering province of Kosovo, ahead of NATO columns. The goal was accomplished – the control of the airport "Slatina" is selected, the air and the harbour was ready to receive the Board with the personnel and weapons from Russia.

It was, indeed, a momentous move. And not only for Serbs, longing for Russian support, but also for the citizens of Russia once again felt ourselves as citizens of a great country, with to be reckoned.

Frames (broadcasts, however, CNN) Chronicles the March of Russian paratroopers, crowds of cheering Serbs, the flowers, the smiles on their faces – all this is briefly recalled winning Chronicles of war – the Second world war, in which we were allies with most of the current members of NATO against a common enemy.

But a brilliant step then was left without political support. By March, the Russian battalion after two days left without water and food, hoping to obtain supplies by air. But then entered in the case of small satellites (Bulgaria and Hungary) who refused to allow our aircraft through its airspace. Perhaps then it was possible to put pressure on the Bulgarians and Hungarians, but it soon became apparent that lightning throw is just good advertising campaign, with the aim of further political bargaining.

And bargaining is partly managed. The Russian contingent has been area of responsibility, however, within already "sliced" pie Kosovo, which was divided between NATO countries.

Today, 14 years later from that memorable day in different ways to look at what happened: somebody would think this is a great international rush, someone bravado, but the fact that this event would shake all NATO generals, that's for sure. And it is no coincidence that NATO had ignored the orders of his commander-in-chief Wesley Clark: "...to suppress Russian paratroopers to seize the airport..." - who knows this Russian bear? And suddenly start to growl and snarl?

Today the world is again in flames two years ago is not going down the civil war in Syria. The long-suffering Syrian people looking forward to Russia. And largely due to the efforts of our country the situation is still the stable instability, which allows you to keep Syria as a state, not allowing it to slip into the category of another shelter terrorists, as has happened with Afghanistan, Iraq and Libya.

Today, once again on the agenda the participation of Russian peacekeepers in breeding the warring parties. This time in Syria, in the Golan heights.

I want to believe that if such a decision is made, our soldiers will fulfill the order as Bravo-recklessly, as it was in Kosovo. And let the world once again will hear about our Marines! No need to bait the bear...


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Трагедия Югославии: уроки и выводы / Статьи
Марш российских десантников: взгляд сквозь годы
Материал разместил: -Дата публикации: 11-06-2013

Уже прошло 14 лет с той памятной даты, когда в результате стремительного марш-броска в ночь с 11 на 12 июня 1999 года преодолев более 600 км пути российские десантники вошли в город Приштина в многострадальном крае Косово, опередив натовские колонны. Цель была выполнена – контроль над аэродромом  «Слатина» установлен, и воздушная гавань была готова принимать борта с личным составом и вооружением из России.

Это был, действительно, знаковый ход. И не только для сербов, истосковавшихся по русской поддержке, но и для самих граждан России, вновь почувствовавших себя гражданами великой страны, с которой нельзя не считаться.

Кадры (передававшиеся, правда, CNN) хроники марша русских десантников, толпы ликующих сербов, цветы, улыбки на лицах – все это ненадолго напомнило победные хроники другой войны – Второй мировой, в которой мы были союзниками с большинством нынешних членов НАТО против общего врага.

Но блестящий шаг тогда остался без политической поддержки. Совершив марш, российский батальон уже через двое суток остался без воды и еды, рассчитывая получать снабжение по воздуху. Но тут вступили в дело мелкие сателлиты (Болгария и Венгрия), которые отказались пропустить наши самолеты через свое воздушное пространство. Наверное, тогда можно было надавить и на болгар, и на венгров, но уже стало ясно, что молниеносный бросок – лишь хорошая рекламная акция, целью которой являлся дальнейший политический торг.

И торг отчасти удался. Российский контингент получил зону ответственности, правда, в рамках уже «нарезанного» пирога Косово, который был поделен между странами НАТО.

Сегодня, спусти 14 лет с того памятного дня можно по-разному смотреть на произошедшее: кто-то посчитает это великорусским интернациональным порывом, кто-то бравадой, но то, что это событие заставило встряхнуться всех натовских генералов – это абсолютно точно. И неслучайно натовцами был проигнорирован приказ своего главкома Уэсли Кларка: «…подавить русских десантников и овладеть аэродромом…» - кто его знает, этого русского медведя? А вдруг начнет рычать и огрызаться?

Сегодня мир снова в огне – уже два года не стихает гражданская война в Сирии. Многострадальный сирийский народ с надеждой смотрит на Россию. И во многом именно стараниями нашей страны ситуация пока сохраняет ту стабильную нестабильность, которая позволяет сохранить Сирию как государство, не дав ей скатиться в разряд очередного пристанища террористов, как это уже случилось с Афганистаном, Ираком и Ливией.

Сегодня вновь на повестке дня участие русских миротворцев в разведении воюющих сторон. На этот раз – в Сирии, на Голанских высотах.

Хочется верить, что если такое решение будет принято, то наши солдаты выполнят приказ столь же браво-безрассудно, как это было в Косово. И пусть мир в очередной раз услышит о наших десантниках! Не надо травить медведя…

 

 

Сергей Гриняев


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение