Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Equipment and armament: yesterday, today and prospect / Articles
The future of non-lethal weapons
Material posted: -Publication date: 23-11-2004

Recent times in the environment of military experts discusses the idea of an impending second wave of the revolution in military Affairs, which will be the widespread introduction of non-lethal instruments of war.

It is noted that in recent years has been seriously transformed perceptions of the most significant threats to national security in the 21st century. Among them distinguish: terrorism, internal ethnic conflicts, organized crime, etc., i.e., threat, responses to which traditional means of armed struggle will not bring the desired result. When this military action will increasingly move into the city limits, where the enemy is mixed with civilians and don't give the opportunity to use powerful weapons. However, and the Iraqi campaign is confirmed, an increasing importance is global public opinion. Armed conflict is increasingly turning into a theatrical performance broadcast to a global audience in order to gain public opinion. In these circumstances, the importance of reducing the level of civilian casualties will be of paramount importance.

So, if the strategic document "JointVision 2020" noted that the revolution in military Affairs will be made due to "reliance on information", the second wave of the revolution in military Affairs will be based on nelehalnoy means of warfare – in the new situation of firepower loses its primary importance.

However, according to experts, the development of non-lethal instruments of war poses a series of new problems. So, at the moment already obtained significant scientific results, worked out technical issues for the design of different models of non-lethal weapons, but its mass use in the military is complicated by their unwillingness to such radical changes. The existing organizational structure of troops, approaches to the tactics of warfare and decision making on the battlefield today do not allow a wide use of non-lethal weapons.

In addition, according to experts, the widespread use of non-lethal weapons will significantly affect the decision-making process of the Supreme military-political leadership. So, if today, concern for excessive losses among the civilian population and military forces can stop the leadership from making decisions to use the armed forces, implementation of non-lethal combat such a threshold would be seriously downgraded. This, in particular, the experts touted as one of the greatest achievements, as it will allow quickly to carry out operations without fear of invasion of the excessive sacrifices, which in some cases will prevent the emerging crises.

In General, it should be noted that non-lethal means of combat today is one of the first places among the most promising means of arms. However, their fundamentally dierent nature, raises serious transform existing approaches to the conduct of hostilities, which significantly limits the rate of use of such funds to the troops.

Tags: USA , threat


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Техника и вооружение: вчера, день сегодняшний и перспектива / Статьи
Будущее нелетального оружия
Материал разместил: -Дата публикации: 23-11-2004

Последнее время все чаще в среде военных экспертов обсуждается идея о надвигающейся второй волне революции в военном деле, основой которой станет широкое внедрение нелетальных средств вооруженной борьбы.

Отмечается, что в последние годы серьезно трансформировались представления о наиболее значимых угрозах национальной безопасности в 21 веке. Среди таковых выделяют: терроризм, внутренние этнические конфликты, организованную преступность и др., т.е. угрозы, противодействие которым традиционными средствами вооруженной борьбы не принесет желаемого результата. При этом военные действия будут все больше перемещаться в городскую черту, где противник смешается с мирным населением и не даст возможности использовать мощное вооружение. Вместе с тем, и иракская кампания это подтвердила, все возрастающее значение имеет мировое общественное мнение. Вооруженное противостояние все больше превращается в театрализованное представление, транслируемое на мировую аудиторию в целях завоевания общественного мнения. В этих условиях значимость снижения уровня потерь среди мирного населения будет иметь первостепенное значение.

Так, если в стратегическом документе «JointVision 2020» отмечалось, что революция в военном деле будет совершена благодаря «опоре на информацию», то вторая волна революции в военном деле будет основываться именно на нелетальности средств вооруженной борьбы – в новых условиях обстановки огневая мощь утрачивает свое первостепенное значение.

Вместе с тем, как отмечают эксперты, развитие нелетальных средств вооруженной борьбы ставит и ряд новых проблемных вопросов. Так, на сегодняшний момент уже получены серьезные научные результаты, отработаны технические вопросы по созданию различных образцов нелетального оружия, но его массовое использование в войсках затруднено их неготовностью к столь кардинальным переменам. Существующая организационно-штатная структура войск, подходы к тактике ведения боевых действий и принятия решений на поле боя сегодня не позволяют широко использовать нелетальное оружие.

Кроме того, по мнению экспертов, широкое использование нелетального оружия существенно повлияет на процесс принятия решения высшим военно-политическим руководством. Так, если сегодня опасение за чрезмерные потери среди мирного населения и вооруженных сил может останавливать руководство от принятия решений по применению вооруженных сил, то с внедрением средств нелетальной борьбы такой порог будет серьезно понижен. Это, в частности, экспертами преподносится как одно из наибольших достижений, так как позволит быстро осуществлять операции вторжения не опасаясь за чрезмерные жертвы, что в ряде случаев позволит предотвращать зарождающиеся кризисы.

В целом следует отметить, что средства нелетальной борьбы сегодня занимают одно из первых мест среди наиболее перспективных средств вооружения. Однако их принципиально иная природа заставляет серьезно трансформировать существующие подходы к ведению военных действий, что существенно ограничивает темпы использования таких средств в войсках.

Сергей Гриняев

Теги: США , угроза


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность