Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Equipment and armament: yesterday, today and prospect / Articles
Rapere: the drone that hunts other drones
Material posted: Publication date: 19-01-2015

"Guardian bird" Sheckley is becoming less fantastic work (except, of course, what a "Sentinel bird" UAV can quickly analyze the situation and to prevent crimes even before the implementation of the criminal plan). Whatever it was, and the number of "birds", i.e. the drones, now growing exponentially.

The quadrocopters are used by scientists, journalists and gadget lovers. In some cases, the illegal use of drones for monitoring people or even objects such as nuclear power plants. And such cases are becoming more frequent. In order to avoid the misuse of drones, a technology startup Rapere proposes to use... drones.

Rapere is a quadrocopter, the main purpose of which is to discover, to approach and shoot down the purpose. In a start-up works, several specialists, who for several years engaged in the development of unmanned aerial vehicles. This command has created Rapere, which preys on "bad drone", but only in laboratory conditions.

In the field Rapere not yet tested, but the principle of operation of the device is quite understandable. The aircraft is equipped with 12 low-resolution cameras with 90 fps, which are used to detect other UAVs (in this case we are talking about the quadrocopter). When a target is detected Rapere flies to another UAV from above the victim. When the speed of the devices are synchronized, Rapere throws a piece of rope, which is wound on the propellers of the victim, and another one falls.

According to the developers, Rapere quite able to distinguish one from other flying objects (e.g., birds). The time Rapere is not very long (only 2 minutes), because the navigation computer, the system of detection and targeting requires quite a lot of energy.

Of course, such a project has known problems, one of which is the legality and legitimacy of the use. If Rapere itself — a legal device, here its use is illegal, it is already damage someone else's property. The second problem is the price. Rapere will cost much more than the usual Amateur drone, so that the range of buyers is also limited.

However, if the project is to develop, in a short time we will be able to see the war drones, in the literal sense of the word.


Source: http://geektimes.ru/post/244380/


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Техника и вооружение: вчера, день сегодняшний и перспектива / Статьи
Rapere: дрон, который охотится на других дронов
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 19-01-2015

«Страж птица» Шекли становится все менее фантастическим произведением (за исключением, конечно, того, что в «Страж птице» БПЛА могут буквально на лету анализировать ситуацию и предотвращать преступления еще до реализации преступного замысла). Как бы там ни было, а количество «птиц», то есть дронов, сейчас растет в геометрической прогрессии.

Квадрокоптеры используются учеными, журналистами, любителями гаджетов. В некоторых случаях дронов используют для нелегального наблюдения за людьми или даже такими объектами, как АЭС. И такие случаи учащаются. Для того, чтобы избежать неправомерного использования дронов, технологический стартап Rapere предлагает использовать… дроны.

Rapere — это квадрокоптер, основное предназначение которого — обнаружить, сблизиться и сбить цель. В стартапе работает сразу несколько специалистов, которые уже несколько лет заняты в разработке беспилотных летательных аппаратов. Эта команда и создала Rapere, который охотится на «нехороших дронов», правда, пока только в лабораторных условиях.

В полевых условиях Rapere пока не тестировался, но принцип действия устройства вполне понятен. Летательный аппарат оснащен 12 камерами низкого разрешения с 90 fps, которые используются для обнаружения других БПЛА (в данном случае речь идет о квадрокоптерах). При обнаружении цели Rapere подлетает к другому БПЛА, находясь при этом выше жертвы. Когда скорости устройств синхронизируются, Rapere сбрасывает кусок веревки, который наматывается на пропеллеры жертвы, и другой квадрокоптер падает.

По словам разработчиков, Rapere вполне способен отличить квадрокоптер от других летающих объектов (например, птиц). Время работы Rapere не очень длительное (всего 2 минуты), поскольку навигационный компьютер, система обнаружения и «наведения» требует довольно много энергии.

Конечно, у такого проекта есть известные проблемы, одна из которых — легальность и правомерность использования. Если Rapere сам по себе — легальный девайс, то вот его использование — неправомерно, это уже порча чужого имущества. Вторая проблема — это цена. Rapere будет стоить гораздо больше, чем обычный любительский дрон, так что круг покупателей также ограничен.

Тем не менее, если проект будет развиваться, в скором времени мы сможем увидеть войну дронов, в буквальном смысле слова.


Источник: http://geektimes.ru/post/244380/


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение