Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Civil war in Syria: preliminary conclusions and lessons / Articles
Who is fighting in Syria?
Material posted: Valetskiy OlegPublication date: 28-09-2016

Not so long ago on the newspaper's website gazetasi there is a piece called "the Russians strike, and Assad's soldiers in battle don't go". In it the author, Michael Hadareni, there is a question: why in a year the enemy in Syria is not defeated (somehow, in the course of the two Chechen companies, such issues do not arise)? Will try to answer...

First you need to understand that the Sunni Arabs, and that 70% of Syria's population, are in significant weight (especially in rural areas) under the influence of ideas of Salafism that has spread in society since the beginning of the "Arab spring". But for Russia this is a serious problem and to solve it we haven't, so to give advice here, we obviously can't.

Further, the army of Turkey and Saudi Arabia directly involved in the armed conflict in Syria, the quantity and quality of arms, each superior to the Syrian Arab army. Those rebels they support are also in some parts of the front the superiority of the CAA.

Comparing the war in Syria with the second campaign in Chechnya, where the Russian army had total numerical superiority over the enemy, it is worth noting that such a level of saturation of enemy ATGM, MANPADS, howitzers, tanks and mortars had not met even the Soviet Army in Afghanistan, nor the Russian army in Chechnya and Georgia, and because it is unclear on what basis the Syrian army declared unable to fight, if we do not have your own positive examples.

It is strange to blame the CAA that you have opened the Syrian-Turkish border in the region of Idlib, where there is a Turkish army, our, more recently, ally. The Syrians need to take an assault on Istanbul?

It is unclear from the material taken from the data that the CAA was purposefully retired Russian officers and moved those who were trained in the West, Turkey and Saudi Arabia. How, from a secret service data? From OBS ("one woman said")? And what for then the United States with Saudi Arabia and with Turkey hosted the 2011 uprising against Assad and SAA? Why, if her command was already their people? Why SAA went over to the side of the rebels (although in the USSR-Russia is known because a similar example - 12 June 1991).

Also an amazing passage that honest officers are fleeing the CAA in opposition to, and in the CAA remain dishonest.

Since the split here lately is not under the honest - dishonest. and Alawi, or Christian, Druze, or secular-educated and well-mannered Sunni) - a supporter of radical or less radical Salafism, then naturally readers might have the impression that it was following the commandments of Saudi imams is the way to honest life.

It is unclear why such confidence that the emergence of the detachments of Kadyrov sharply change the situation? What is this confidence based? That "the Czechs are all afraid", but not the fact that they will be afraid of in Syria.

Regarding the passage, "...the corps commanders — the richest people in the Syrian army.... The Central apparatus of the armed forces on this process no effect. Army for these reasons, stripped and barefoot. Syrian youth from military service, flees abroad. Assistance to families of fallen and wounded soldiers is minimal or not provided at all. They was a disaster...", here too not all is clear. After the high-profile scams in the army of Russia Serdyukov times, you would be ashamed of such writing, especially that in Russia the payoff from service in the armed forces have long put on stream, and the Russian "Golden youth" can meet soon in the Seychelles, Spain and in Nice rather than in the army.

It is also unclear where the data about the extremely low morale in the army of Syria. How she is fighting against ISIS? The author himself writes that "...there remained Russian at least...", so who is fighting with the Islamic state, against which the Iraqi army cannot fight without the help of Iran army and the air support of the US and NATO? Is it possible to ask the author where exactly happened and when, that would be the Syrian branch ran from a bearded gunman?

Clear examples of someone's cowardice can always be found, but, in my opinion, such examples can be found in the actions of the Russian and Soviet armies - everywhere there are examples of bravery and cowardice.

It is strange that the author did not see the fire, the Syrian artillery from concealed positions - it seems that even such examples show on TV in those hotels Latakia and Damascus, where the post of Russian journalists, the remote just to take in hand is necessary.

It is unclear what exactly claim to Ali Aslan? The fact that he was in command in 1967 as a platoon against a cute heart other of our journalists of Israel? As anything concrete about him, except that he was a platoon commander in 1967, not written. Written, however, so they say, wars are not won, but the author did not write, and how they are won?

Strange claims that, say, access to the President of Syria is limited - it seems to be the practice of all belligerent countries, and in General, except that of the President of Uruguay to meet in the street, but apparently not the President of any country, and especially of the Russian Federation.

Yes, indeed, that the four intelligence agencies is a lot, but shouldn't be counted as special services in the Russian Federation? And, by the way, in America there are more of them.

The situation of Christians is of course difficult, because of the environment in which they reside, but not so hopeless, because in the mass they support Assad. Yes, they need help, as Russia has done for centuries, but nothing prevents Russia to do it yourself, because the government of Bashar al-Assad just Christians and patronized.

By the way, the Turkomans is not a Turkmen, but the descendants of the Caucasians who had fled during the Caucasian war by Russian troops and Russian power in Turkey and which Port is put for the sake of strengthening its authority in the Arab lands. It is doubtful that they wanted to fight for Assad, especially since their districts in the Northern province of Latakia cleaned after the murder of Peshkov and pilot because in the mass they are in refugee camps in Turkey.

It is clear that the eulogies of the army of Syria makes no sense to write, but it must be compared with the actual experience of recent armed conflicts, not with what for decades had been convinced by experts in the myth of the "invincible and legendary Soviet Army" and spawned this myth the rules of war.

Oleg Valetsky

Tags: assessment , Russia , war , Syria


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Гражданская война в Сирии: предварительные выводы и уроки / Статьи
Кто же воюет в Сирии?
Материал разместил: Валецкий ОлегДата публикации: 28-09-2016

Не так давно на сайте издания Газета.ru появился материал под названием «Россияне наносят удары, а солдаты Асада в бой не идут». В ней у автора, Михаила Ходаренка, возникли вопросы: почему за год враг в Сирии не побежден (почему-то в ходе двух чеченских компаний таких вопросов не возникало)? Попытаемся ответить…

Для начала надо понимать, что арабы-сунниты, а это 70% населения Сирии, находятся в значительной своей массе (особенно в сельской местности) под влиянием идей салафизма, распространившихся в обществе с началом "арабской весны". Но вот и для России это является серьезной проблемой и решить ее нам пока не удается, так что советы давать тут мы явно не можем.

Далее, армии Турции и Саудовской Аравии, непосредственно участвующие в вооруженном конфликте в Сирии, количеством и качеством вооружений каждая превосходят Сирийскую Арабскую армию. Те повстанцы, которых они поддерживают, также имеют на отдельных участках фронта превосходство над САА.

Сравнивая войну в Сирии со второй компанией в Чечне, где армия РФ имела полное численное превосходство над противником, стоит отметить и то, что такого уровня насыщенности противника ПТРК, ПЗРК, гаубицами, танками и минометами не встречалось ни Советской Армии в Афганистане, ни российской армии в Чечне и Грузии, и потому непонятно, на каком основании сирийская армия объявляется неспособной воевать, если уж нет собственных положительных примеров.

Странно упрекать САА в том, что открыта сирийско-турецкая граница в районе Идлиба, когда там действует армия Турции, нашего, с недавних пор, союзника. Сирийцам надо что - идти штурмом на Стамбул?

Из материала неясно откуда взяты данные, что из САА целенаправленно увольнялись русскоговорящие офицеры и продвигались те, кто проходил обучение на Западе, в Турции и Саудовской Аравии. Откуда, из какой тайной службы данные? Из ОБС («одна баба сказала»)? И чего ради тогда США с Саудовской Аравией и с Турцией организовали восстание  2011 года против Асада и его САА? Зачем, если в ее командовании были уже их люди? Почему САА не перешла на сторону восставших (хотя в СССР-России известен ведь подобный пример - 12 июня 1991 года).

Также удивителен пассаж о том, что честные офицеры бегут из САА в оппозицию, а в САА остаются бесчестные.

Так как раскол тут в последнее время идет не по линии честный- бесчестный. а по линии алавит (или христианин, друз или светски образованный и воспитанный суннит) - сторонник радикального или менее радикального салафизма, то закономерно у читателя возникнет впечатление что именно следование заповедям саудовских имамов и есть путь к честной жизни.

Непонятно откуда такая уверенность, что появление отрядов Р.Кадырова резко переменит ситуацию? На чем основана такая уверенность? На том, что "чехов все боятся", но не факт, что их будут бояться в Сирии.

Что качается пассажа  "…командиры корпусов — самые богатые люди в сирийской армии…. Центральный аппарат вооруженных сил на этот процесс никакого влияния не оказывает. Армия по этим причинам раздета и разута. Сирийская молодежь от призыва на военную службу убегает за границу. Помощь семьям погибших и раненых военнослужащих оказывается минимальная или не оказывается вовсе. Они откровенно бедствуют...", тоже тут не все ясно. После громких афер в армии России времен Сердюкова, можно было бы постесняться такое писать, тем более, что в РФ откуп от службы в ВС давно поставлен на поток, а российскую «золотую молодежь» скорее можно встретить на Сейшелах, в Испании и в Нице нежели в армии.

Непонятно также, откуда данные о крайне низком боевом духе в армии Сирии. Как же она тогда воюет против ИГИЛ? Сам же автор пишет что "…русских там осталось по минимуму…", так кто же воюет с Исламским государством, против которого армия Ирака не может сражаться без помощи армии Ирана и воздушной поддержки США и НАТО? Можно ли узнать у автора, где точно происходило и когда, что бы сирийское подразделение разбегалось от бородатого боевика?

Понятно, примеров чьей-то трусости всегда можно найти, но, по-моему, таких примеров можно найти и в действиях российской и советской армии - везде есть примеры храбрости и трусости.

Странно, что автор не видел огонь сирийской артиллерии с закрытых позиций - вроде бы даже такие примеры по телевизору показывают в тех отелях Латакии и Дамаска, где размещают российских журналистов, просто пульт в руки взять надо.

Непонятно, в чем конкретно претензии к Али Аслану? То, что он командовал в 1967 году взводом против милого сердцу иных наших журналистов Израиля? Так как ничего конкретного о нем, кроме того, что он был командиром взвода в 1967 году, не написано. Написано, правда, что так, мол, войны не выигрываются, но автор не написал, а как они выигрываются?

Непонятны претензии, что, мол, доступ к президенту Сирии ограничен - это вроде бы практика всех воюющих стран, да и вообще, разве что президента Уругвая можно встретить на улице, но явно не президента иной страны, а тем более Российской Федерации.

Да, действительно, что четыре спецслужбы - это много, но не стоит ли пересчитать, сколько спецслужб в РФ? А, кстати, в Америке их еще больше.

Положение христиан конечно сложное, из-за самой среды, в которой они находятся, но отнюдь не настолько безнадежное, ибо в своей массе они поддерживают Асада. Да, им надо помочь, как делала Россия веками, но никто не мешает России это делать самостоятельно, ибо правительство Башара Асада как раз христианам и покровительствует.

Кстати туркоманы это не туркмены, а потомки кавказцев, бежавших в ходе Кавказской войны, от русских войск и русской власти в Турцию, и которых Порта поселила ради упрочнения своей власти на арабских землях. Сомнительно, чтобы они захотели воевать за Асада, тем более, что их районы на севере провинции Латакия зачищены после убийства ими пилота Пешкова и потому в своей массе они находятся в лагерях беженцев в Турции.

Совершенно ясно, что панегирики армии Сирии писать смысла нет, но ее надо сравнивать с реальным опытом последних вооруженных конфликтов, а не с тем, во что десятками лет убеждались специалисты - в миф о «непобедимой и легендарной Советской Армии» и в порожденные этим мифом правила ведения войны.

Олег Валецкий


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение