Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Civil war in Syria: preliminary conclusions and lessons / Weekdays
Died three years defending the Deir ez-Zor General SAR
Material posted: Publication date: 18-10-2017
Syrian major General Issam Zahreddin, known by the nickname "lion of the Republican guard" were killed in the province of Deir ez-Zor, stepped on a mine, according to "al-Mayadin".

According to the channel, the General was killed in the mine explosion during the attack of the Syrian army.

"General Issam died today as a result of blasting on a mine near the island Saker," confirmed "RIA Novosti" a source in the Syrian headquarters for the operation.

One of the most visible representatives of the Druze community in Syria, Zahreddin began a military career as an officer in the special forces of the airborne troops of Syria. By the beginning of the country's civil war, he commanded the 104th brigade of the Republican guard, whose commander was previously the current President of Syria Bashar al-Assad.

In 2013, Zahreddin was aimed at protecting the attacked units of the "Islamic state" (IG, an organization banned in Russia) Deir-ez-Zor and was in the besieged city until the blockade in 2017.

In early September, President al-Assad congratulated the General with the lifting of the blockade. "You have proved by their resistance, that the responsibility towards future generations, and you are the best example for future generations", — said the Syrian President.

The General died a few days after the General staff of the Russian army announced that the attack Syrian forces near Deir ez-Zor develops successfully, however one of the most acute problems is the large number of left militants explosive devices.

"To assist the engineering units of the Syrian army in Deir-ez-Zor sent a detachment of the International anti-mine centre of the Armed forces of the Russian Federation. It consists of 171 military and 40 pieces of equipment, and ten specially trained mine-search dogs," — said the General staff.

On 24 September, the Russian defense Ministry reported the death as a result of mortar shelling of General Asamova, who led the group of Russian military advisors helping the Syrian troops in the operation against the militants of the "Islamic state" (IG, an organization banned in Russia) in the region of Deir-ez-Zor.

The source of RBC in the Ministry of defense, who knew Usupova, in conversation with the correspondent of RBC linked the death of General poor work of the Syrian intelligence.

"The Syrian military did not always fulfill their obligations: they are slow, not working properly, including through intelligence. We have many allies in quotation marks, which help the other side," — said the source of RBC.

Eugene Kalyuk


Source: http://www.rbc.ru/politics/18/10/2017/59e73b249a794759880d2828?from=main

Tags: Syria


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security
Возрастное ограничение

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Гражданская война в Сирии: предварительные выводы и уроки / Рабочие будни
Погиб три года защищавший Дейр-эз-Зор генерал САР
Материал разместил: АдминистраторДата публикации: 18-10-2017
Сирийский генерал-майор Иссам Захреддин, известный под прозвищем «лев Республиканской гвардии», погиб в провинции Дейр-эз-Зор, подорвавшись на мине, сообщает «Аль-Маядин».

По данным телеканала, генерал погиб в результате взрыва мины во время наступления сирийской армии.

«Генерал Иссам погиб сегодня в результате подрыва на мине в районе острова Сакер», — подтвердил «РИА Новости» источник в сирийском штабе операции.

Один из наиболее заметных представителей друзской общины Сирии, Захреддин начинал военную карьеру офицером сил специального назначения воздушно-десантных войск Сирии. К началу в стране гражданской войны он командовал 104-й бригадой Республиканской гвардии, командиром которой ранее был нынешний президент Сирии Башар Асад.

В 2013 году Захреддин был направлен на защиту атакованного отрядами «Исламского государства» (ИГ, организация запрещена в России) Дейр-эз-Зора и находился в осажденном городе вплоть до прорыва блокады в 2017 году.

В начале сентября президент Асад поздравил генерала со снятием блокады. «Вы доказали своей стойкостью, что ответственны перед будущими поколениями, и вы лучший пример для будущих поколений», — сказал тогда сирийский президент.

Генерал погиб через несколько дней после того, как Генштаб Российской армии сообщил, что наступление сирийских войск в районе Дейр-эз-Зора развивается успешно, однако одной из наиболее острых проблем является большое число оставленных боевиками взрывных устройств.

«Для оказания помощи инженерным подразделениям сирийской армии в район Дейр-эз-Зора направлен сводный отряд Международного противоминного центра Вооруженных сил Российской Федерации. В его состав входят 171 военнослужащий и 40 единиц техники, а также десять специально обученных минно-разыскных собак», — сообщал Генштаб.

24 сентября Минобороны России сообщило о гибели в результате минометного обстрела генерала Асапова, возглавлявшего группу российских военных советников, помогавшую сирийским войскам в проведении операции против боевиков «Исламского государства» (ИГ, организация запрещена на территории России) в районе Дейр-эз-Зора.

Источник РБК в Минобороны, близко знавший Асапова, в разговоре с корреспондентом РБК связал гибель генерала с плохой работой сирийской разведки.

«Сирийские военные не всегда выполняют свои обязательства: они нерасторопны, плохо работают, в том числе и по линии разведки. У нас много союзников в кавычках, которые помогают той стороне», — добавил источник РБК.

Евгений Калюков


Источник: http://www.rbc.ru/politics/18/10/2017/59e73b249a794759880d2828?from=main 

Теги: Сирия


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность
Возрастное ограничение