Center for Strategic Assessment and forecasts

Autonomous non-profit organization

Home / Defence and security / Civil war in Syria: preliminary conclusions and lessons / Articles
The rebels are waiting for instructions from Moscow
Material posted: Publication date: 25-07-2017
In Syria declared readiness of more than 10 thousand moderate rebels in the provinces of Idlib, HOMS and Hama to negotiate with Russia to combat "dzhebhat an-Nusra". In the Council of representatives of the Arab tribes, which acts as a mediator between the opposition and the government, said that about two weeks ago in Ankara there has arrived group of commanders from among the moderate opposition, who are ready to meet with the Russian Ambassador and military attaché, as soon as they get permission from Moscow.

In the Syrian armed opposition has declared its readiness to negotiate with Russia for a joint struggle against, not the group "Dzhebhat EN-Nusra". This was reported by RIA "Novosti" with reference to the head of the National Council for peace and reconciliation in Syria, Sheikh Saleh Naimi.

As he said, negotiations to agree more than ten thousand rebels in the provinces of Idlib, Hama and HOMS. They are ready to fight terrorists provided "direct support from Russia," said Naimi.

"If we talk about the number [of fighters], thousands of them. I've provided a list of 6700 people, now the number exceeds 10 thousand. It's in the Crease and Talibani (province of HOMS), Hama and Idlib. Under our guidance they [the rebels] have created the political coordination Committee", — said the Agency interlocutor.

According to him, about two weeks ago in Ankara there has arrived group of the commanders of the moderate armed opposition. They expressed their willingness to meet with the Ambassador of Russia in Turkey and military attache, once they receive a permit from the Russian side.

"I'll tell you, and you may not believe: that side [the armed opposition] want reconciliation and want to finish with the war, and of these more than 90%. They want to return to civilian life and to receive Amnesty. But they are afraid and do not trust. Our task is to create a team that will sow in them a sense of confidence," said Naimi.

The national Council for peace and reconciliation in Syria insists that the meeting between the armed opposition and the Russian party in Ankara to be held as soon as possible, said Naimi. "I will give instructions to those commanders to raise flags and they are ready to participate in the liberation of Deir ez-Zor. The issue is very serious and not urgent", — he said.

It clarifies the RIA "Novosti", the national Council for peace and reconciliation is a non — governmental structure, which includes representatives of the Arab tribes, and which acts as a mediator between the Syrian government and leaders of armed rebels in the discussion of the issues of reconciliation, the exchange of prisoners and delivery of humanitarian aid in controlled by the militants areas.

However, the head of the research Department of middle East conflicts of the Institute of innovative development and the expert of the Russian international Affairs Council (RIAC) Anton Mardas in conversation with "Газетой.Ru" he said that he did not know the body and its head.

However, as said Mardas, discussion of negotiations with Russia among representatives of the armed opposition is now really going for, but that unity in this issue — 10 thousand willing to negotiate the rebels claimed Naimi, speech does not go yet.

"It is clear that this refers to the notorious division of the opposition into moderate and radical. It was possible long ago, but the current process is different from what the Russian defense Ministry was called for in 2016, because the division of groups is possible only in the absence of a common enemy. Roughly speaking, "Ahrar al-sham" itself may be disconnected from the "An-Nusra", if they all United front would be held operation and no bombs fell," — said the orientalist.

As he noted, it is mainly about Idlib, which remains the only province in Syria, fully under rebel control. The militants "An-Nusra" in the region control about 80 local councils from 156, explained Mardas.

"Al-Nusra" is opposed to "Ahrar al-sham" is one of the leading insurgent factions in Syria, and also the most numerous: it includes more than 20 thousand fighters. Unlike the banned in Russia "Islamic state" and "Dzhebhat EN-Nusra", "Ahrar al-sham" is almost never included foreign fighters, led by the faction also only Syrians.

The fundamental difference between the grouping of the IG is that it does not seek to build a global Caliphate: Jihad in the ideology of a group is limited only to the territory of Syria.

Fighters of "Ahrar al-sham" denied any connection with the banned in Russia "al-Qaeda", but they had previously acknowledged that cooperate with the "An-Nusra" in the fight against the regime of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad and ISIS. Now "al-Nusra" as a group does not actually exist: at the beginning of this year on the basis of the Alliance was created "Hayat Tahrir al-sham" (HTS), which in addition it included several opposition factions.

"All of these groups are included in the "Ahrar al-sham", in fact, secular, they are for democracy in the country, they allow the holding of elections, and "An-Nusra" and insists on the continuation of the struggle, the overthrow of the Assad regime, the establishment of Sharia," explained the Mardas.

According to him, earlier fighters of "Ahrar al-sham had" worked with "An-Nusra" against Assad, because they had no aircraft and a sufficient number of forces to fight the Syrian regime.

"It also plays a role in the factor of Russian military support — said the expert. — When negotiations started on a cease-fire, the disengagement of the opposition immediately emerged. "Ahrar al-sham" began to fight "An-Nusra" in Idlib. The process is more or less outlined. The defense Ministry made "Ahrar al-sham" in the list of the moderate opposition. This also contributed to the processes in the Alliance "Ahrar al-sham". Now this is one of the major factions, which "protects" the Free Syrian army (FSA) in Idlib and other places.

There were elections to the Shura Council: it was composed of the people, gravitating to the CAA. Since then, the "Ahrar al-sham" began to pursue a policy of rapprochement with the SSA.

Thus, there is a formation of the United front of the opposition, which would be really opposed the "EN-Nusra" and had joined the factions," — concluded the source "Газеты.Ru".

Amalia Satari


Source: https://www.gazeta.ru/army/2017/07/17/10791920.shtml

Tags: Russia , Syria


RELATED MATERIALS: Defence and security

Центр стратегических оценок и прогнозов

Автономная некоммерческая организация

Главная / Оборона и безопасность / Гражданская война в Сирии: предварительные выводы и уроки / Статьи
Повстанцы ждут команды из Москвы
Материал разместил: AдминистраторДата публикации: 25-07-2017
В Сирии заявили о готовности более 10 тысяч умеренных повстанцев в провинциях Идлиб, Хомс и Хама к переговорам с Россией для борьбы с «Джебхат ан-Нусрой». В совете представителей арабских племен, который выступает посредником между оппозицией и правительством, рассказали, что около двух недель назад в Анкару прибыла группа командиров из числа умеренной оппозиции, которые готовы встретиться с российскими послом и военным атташе, как только те получат на это разрешение из Москвы.

В сирийской вооруженной оппозиции заявили о готовности к переговорам с Россией для совместной борьбы против запрещенной в России группировки «Джебхат ан-Нусра». Об этом сообщило РИА «Новости» со ссылкой на главу Национального совета по вопросам мира и примирения в Сирии шейха Салеха Наими.

Как он уточнил, на переговоры согласны более десяти тысяч повстанцев в провинциях Идлиб, Хама и Хомс. Они готовы бороться с террористами при условии «прямой поддержки от России», уточнил Наими.

«Если говорить о количестве [боевиков], то их тысячи. Я представлял список 6700 человек, сейчас численность превышает 10 тысяч. Это в Растане и Тальбиси (провинция Хомс), Хаме и Идлибе. Под нашим руководством они [боевики] создали координационный политический комитет», — рассказал собеседник агентства.

По его словам, около двух недель назад в Анкару прибыла группа командиров умеренной вооруженной оппозиции. Они выразили готовность встретиться с послом России в Турции и военным атташе, как только те получат на это разрешение от российской стороны.

«Я вам скажу, а вы можете не верить: та сторона [вооруженная оппозиция] хочет примирения и хочет закончить с войной, и таких больше 90%. Они хотят вернуться к мирной жизни и получить амнистию. Но они боятся и не доверяют. Наша задача — создать команду, которая посеет в них чувство доверия», — заявил Наими.

Национальный совет по вопросам мира и примирения в Сирии настаивает на том, что встреча между вооруженной оппозицией и российской стороной в Анкаре должна состояться как можно скорее, подчеркнул Наими. «Я дам указания этим командирам поднять флаги, и они готовы участвовать в освобождении Дейр-эз-Зора. Вопрос очень серьезный и не терпит отлагательств», — сказал он.

Как уточняет РИА «Новости», Национальный совет по вопросам мира и примирения — это негосударственная структура, в которую входят представители арабских племен и которая выступает в качестве посредника между правительством Сирии и главарями вооруженных повстанцев в обсуждении вопросов примирения, обмена пленными и доставки гуманитарной помощи в контролируемые боевиками районы.

Вместе с тем начальник отдела исследований ближневосточных конфликтов Института инновационного развития и эксперт Российского совета по международным делам (РСМД) Антон Мардасов в разговоре с «Газетой.Ru» заявил, что ему не знаком такой орган и его руководитель.

При этом, как отметил Мардасов, обсуждение переговоров с Россией среди представителей вооруженной оппозиции сейчас действительно идет, но о таком единстве в этом вопросе — 10 тысяч согласных на переговоры повстанцев, заявленных Наими, — речи пока не идет.

«Понятное дело, что здесь имеется в виду пресловутое размежевание оппозиции на умеренную и радикальную. Оно было возможно давно, но нынешний процесс отличается от того, к чему российское Минобороны призывало еще в 2016 году, тем, что размежевание групп возможно только при отсутствии единого врага. Грубо говоря, «Ахрар аш-Шам» сам, может быть, отсоединился бы от «Ан-Нусры», если бы на них всех единым фронтом не проводились бы операции и не падали бомбы», — считает востоковед.

Как он отметил, речь идет преимущественно об Идлибе, который остается единственной провинцией в Сирии, полностью контролируемой повстанцами. Боевики «Ан-Нусры» в этом регионе контролируют около 80 местных советов из 156, пояснил Мардасов.

«Ан-Нусре» противостоит «Ахрар аш-Шам» — одна из ведущих повстанческих фракций в Сирии, а также самая многочисленная: в ее состав входят более 20 тысяч боевиков. В отличие от запрещенных в России «Исламского государства» и «Джебхат ан-Нусры», в «Ахрар аш-Шам» практически не входят иностранные боевики, руководят фракцией также исключительно сирийцы.

Принципиальное отличие группировки от ИГ заключается в том, что она не стремится построить глобальный халифат: джихад в идеологии группировки ограничивается только территорией Сирии.

Боевики «Ахрар аш-Шам» отрицают связь с запрещенной в России «Аль-Каидой», но ранее они признавали, что сотрудничают с «Ан-Нусрой» в борьбе против режима президента Сирии Башара Асада и ИГ. Сейчас «Ан-Нусры» как группировки фактически не существует: в начале этого года на ее базе был создан альянс «Хайят Тахрир аш-Шам» (HTS), в который помимо нее вошли еще несколько оппозиционных фракций.

«Все эти группировки, которые входят в «Ахрар аш-Шам», по сути дела, светские, они за демократию в стране, они допускают проведение выборов, а «Ан-Нусра» настаивает на продолжении борьбы, свержении Асада, установлении шариата», — объяснил Мардасов.

По его мнению, раньше боевики из «Ахрар аш-Шам» сотрудничали с «Ан-Нусрой» против Асада, потому что не имели своей авиации и достаточного количества сил для борьбы с сирийским режимом.

«Здесь также играет свою роль фактор российской военной поддержки, — отметил эксперт. — Когда начались переговоры о прекращении огня, процесс размежевания оппозиции сразу же наметился. «Ахрар аш-Шам» начал бороться с «Ан-Нусрой» в Идлибе. Процесс более-менее наметился. Минобороны внесло «Ахрар аш-Шам» в список умеренной оппозиции. Этому также способствовали процессы в самом альянсе «Ахрар аш-Шам». Сейчас это одна из основных фракций, которая «крышует» Свободную сирийскую армию (ССА) в Идлибе и других местах.

Там были проведены выборы в совет шуры: в него вошли люди, тяготеющие к САА. С тех пор «Ахрар аш-Шам» стал проводить политику по сближению с ССА.

Таким образом, идет формирование единого фронта оппозиции, которая бы действительно выступила против «Ан-Нусры» и примкнувших к ней фракций», — заключил собеседник «Газеты.Ru».

Амалия Затари


Источник: https://www.gazeta.ru/army/2017/07/17/10791920.shtml 

Теги: Россия , Сирия


МАТЕРИАЛЫ ПО ТЕМЕ: Оборона и безопасность